Tobacco Products sold with statutorily prescribed notice language
Section 569.14(1), Florida Statutes, requires all persons holding a retail tobacco products dealer permit to post a clear and conspicuous sign in each place of business where tobacco products are sold with statutorily prescribed notice language to consumers. The Division has produced a sample sign that fits these criteria for simple download and posting by all retail tobacco products dealers.
Tobacco Products, nicotine products, or nicotine dispensing devices
Section 569.14(2), Florida Statutes, requires all persons holding a retail tobacco products dealer permit to post a clear and conspicuous sign in each place of business where tobacco products, nicotine products, or nicotine dispensing devices are sold with statutorily prescribed notice language to consumers. For locations where nicotine products or nicotine dispensing devices are also sold with tobacco, the Division has produced a sample sign that fits the statutory criteria for simple download and posting by all retail tobacco products dealers.
Tobacco Products instructional material calendar format
Section 569.14(4), Florida Statutes, requires all persons holding a retail tobacco products dealer permit to provide instructional material in a calendar format to assist employees in determining whether a person is of legal age to purchase tobacco products. The informational material must be located at the checkout counter or another point of sale and be visible to any employee facilitating such sales. Florida law requires the informational material to substantially contain the following language:
IF YOU WERE NOT BORN BEFORE THIS DATE
(insert date and applicable year)
YOU CANNOT BUY TOBACCO PRODUCTS
NOTE: Upon approval by the division, dealers may use card readers, scanners, or other electronic or automated systems that can verify whether a person is of legal age to purchase tobacco products.
Florida law prohibits the sale or service of alcoholic beverages to a person under 21 years of age.
Florida law prohibits the sale or service of alcoholic beverages to a person under 21 years of age. While signage relating to this prohibition is not required to be posted in a licensed premises, Florida law encourages posting of signs on the vendor’s premises informing customers of the vendor’s policy against serving alcoholic beverages to underaged persons and informing customers that the purchase of alcoholic beverages by an underage person or the illegal use of or trafficking in controlled substances will result in ejection from the premises and prosecution. The posting of these signs is a qualification standard for seeking the mitigation afforded through the Florida Responsible Vendor Act outlined in sections 561.701 – 561.706, Florida Statutes. For locations where alcoholic beverage products are sold, the Division has produced a sample sign for simple download and posting at the premises of alcoholic beverage licenses.
Please see Quick Links below for the link to Publications.
Below is a link to the list of Manufacturers and Importers approved to sell cigarettes in the State of Florida. Please verify that your manufacturer and/or importer is on the list, by license number, as some may have multiple licenses. Also verify that the brand you want to purchase has been certified by clicking on the manufacturer or importers name.
Responsible vendor training is a program offered to servers at bars and restaurants. Instruction is provided by private vendors who present course materials and encourage good management policy formation. Vendors learn the laws and policies regarding serving underage patrons and serving intoxicated patrons. The effects of the training include fewer underage sales of alcohol, fewer DUI fatalities in states where training is offered, and more successful compliance with state statutes on the part of servers, who are more professional and knowledgeable when serving alcohol to patrons. Vendors who successfully complete training and maintain compliance may receive a reduction in their liability insurance premiums. The Florida Statutes that pertain to Responsible Vendor Training are Sections 561.701, 561.702, 561.703, 561.705, and 561.706, Florida Statutes. Division personnel use a Responsible Vendor Qualifications Checklist for determining the degree to which a licensed vendor has met the qualifications described in Section 561.705, Florida Statutes. (Note: MS Word is required to view and print the checklist)
The Division has recently updated summary references intended for information only related to the types of licenses and permits issued by the Division and the general laws and special acts applicable to certain special licenses for hotels, motels, condominiums, and food service establishments. To access the most recently updated reference chart of types of licenses and permits, click here. To access the most recently updated reference chart for general laws and special acts for special licenses, click here.
All requests for publications, documents, forms, applications for licenses, permits and other similar certifications can be obtained by contacting the Customer Contact Center.
Sterling Whisenhunt, Acting Director
Division of Alcoholic Beverages & Tobacco
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0791