Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) specific to Architects

What are the functions of the Board of Architecture and Interior Design?

The Board of Architecture and Interior Design regulates architects, interior designers, threshold inspectors, architecture businesses and interior design businesses.

What are the statutes and rules that govern Architecture and Interior Design?

Chapter 481, Part I, of the Florida Statutes and Rule 61G1, of the Florida Administrative Code.

Where can I obtain the laws and rules of the Board?

The laws and rules may be obtained on the Board’s Statutes and Rules page. If you need further assistance, you may call the Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395.

When and where is the next board meeting?

The dates and locations are available through the board office or online.  You may check the board’s Board Meeting Information page for exact dates and locations.

Where can I obtain a copy of the board meeting agenda or past minutes?

Agendas for upcoming meetings and minutes from past meetings are available on the Board Meeting Information page.

How do I apply to become a board member?

You can find information on the Board Information page.

How can I obtain assistance on completing my application?

If you have any questions or need assistance completing your application, please contact the department’s Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395.

Where do I mail my application?

Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Central Intake Unit, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783.

What are the fees for Architecture applications?

Application fees are non-refundable. • Architecture Initial Licensure by Examination (NCARB direct registration) – $60.00 • NCARB Endorsement – $90.00 • State Endorsement – $200.00 • Direct Endorsement – $200.00 • Threshold Building Inspector – $100.00 • Certificate of Authorization – $100.00 • Reactivation for Individual – $150.00 • Business Name Change – $25.00 • Architecture Continuing Education Handbook and Forms: o Licensees Seeking Individual Credit – $25.00 o Established Providers – $25.00 o Non-Established Providers – $50.00 ($25.00 Provider and $25.00 per course) NOTE:  If a course is being submitted in conjunction with a board audit, there is no charge.

Can I change my address online?

Yes.  Visit our website at www.MyFloridaLicense.com > Online Services.  You can also change your telephone number and email address here.

Your website provides for "main", "mailing", and "location" addresses. What are the differences?

Three types of addresses have been established to support your needs: main, license mailing, and license location. Main Address – This address is the primary address on file. License Mailing Address – This is the address where the mail associated with a particular license will be sent (if different from the main or license location addresses). License Location Address – This is the address where the place of business is physically located. An example of the use of different addresses: If Jane Doe is a contractor that works for ACME Builders, she may have 3 different addresses listed in her profile. Her main address would be the address of ACME Builders’ corporate headquarters. Her license mailing may be her home so she doesn’t have to visit the office to pick up her mail. Finally, her license location would be the address of the ACME Builders’ local office where she works.  If Jane Doe worked independently, she might have only one address on file (Main Address) as her office is the same place she wishes to receive her mail.

Can I change all license addresses online?

The main address and license mailing address can be changed online for all license types.  License location addresses can also be changed online, except for Barbershops, Cosmetology Salons, Veterinary Establishments, and Talent Agencies.  The location for these license types is tied to the license, so a location change will require submission of a new application.

How can I change my address if I do not have a computer?

You may submit the change in writing by mail or by fax to: Department of Business and Professional Regulation Central Intake Unit 2601 Blair Stone Road Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783 Fax: 850.488.8040

What is the minimum education required for architect licensure?

Florida requires a professional bachelor’s or master’s degree in architecture accredited by the National Architecture Accrediting Board (NAAB).  NAAB is the accrediting board for all architecture schools in the United States as well as some Canadian schools.  You can contact NAAB at www.NAAB.org or 202.783.2007.

Where do I register my experience?

You must enroll in the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) Architectural Experience Program (AXP).  NCARB completes an assessment of your experience.  You may contact NCARB at www.NCARB.org or call 202.783.6500 to enroll in AXP.

What examination is required for Florida architect licensure?

You must take and pass the Architectural Registration Examination (ARE).  For test dates and locations visit the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards’ (NCARB) web site at www.NCARB.org or contact them at 202.783.6500.

What application do I submit for a Florida license once I have taken and passed the Architectural Registration Exam (ARE) and completed my Architectural Experience Program (AXP) through the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB)?

All candidates that were approved for examination by the Florida Board, prior to July 1, 2012, that are currently testing and completing the NCARB AXP do not need to complete another application to gain licensure.

  • All examination candidates must maintain an NCARB file with NCARB (National Council of Architectural Registration Boards). Examination information as well as scheduling an exam is processed through the MyExamination tool on the NCARB website at www.NCARB.org. You can access your examination grades immediately and update your address directly through NCARB.
  • Upon completion of the NCARB Architectural Experience Program (AXP) you will request or authorize NCARB to transmit or post your “Green Cover” Council Record to the Florida Board.
  • Upon receipt of all passing exam grades, your application will be processed administratively at the board office.
  • Upon licensure, the department will process Form 155 and submit to NCARB to complete your certification with NCARB. There is no processing fee for examination candidates. However, future requests for processing Form 155 there is $25 fee.

Direct Registration through NCARB Examination candidates no longer apply to the Florida Board of Architecture and Interior Design to be admitted to the Architectural Registration Examination (ARE). Examination candidates that meet Florida licensure requirements will apply directly to NCARB to begin taking the ARE. To sit for the examination, you must have:

  • Establish an NCARB Council Record and be actively participating in NCARB AXP or have completed NCARB AXP.

Contact NCARB at www.NCARB.org or 202.783.6500 to begin a Council Record for examination and NCARB AXP. NCARB will notify the examination administrator (Prometric) that you are eligible to sit for the examination. Prometric will notify you about the procedures for scheduling the examination. You will pay the examination fees directly to Prometric. They will send your examination score reports directly to you and NCARB. NCARB will continue to evaluate and record your training for NCARB AXP. Upon successful completion of all sections of the ARE and NCARB AXP:

  • You will request or authorize NCARB to transmit or post your Council Record to the Florida Board.
  • NCARB will notify the Florida board that you are eligible for registration and electronically transmit or post your NCARB Council Record to the Florida Board.
  • You must complete and submit the Florida Board Initial Licensure by Examination (NCARB Direct Registration) application to the Florida Board. Visit the board’s web page > Apply For A License.

Foreign education applicants must have an education evaluation performed by NCARB. NCARB and NAAB will determine if the education is equivalent to the NAAB degree. If the foreign education is equivalent, NCARB will notify the board in writing. If the foreign education is not equivalent, the applicant may be required to complete additional education.

Can I take the examination in another state and still be considered a Florida candidate?

Yes.  You can take the examination at any Prometric location through the United States. Visit NCARB’s website at www.NCARB.org to obtain additional information on exam locations.

Does Florida have reciprocity with other states?

No, Florida does not offer reciprocity.  Florida offers licensure by endorsement.

What are the requirements to receive a license by endorsement?

There are three methods to apply for licensure by endorsement. You can apply by the National Council of Architecture Registration Boards (NCARB) endorsement, state endorsement or direct endorsement. 1.  NCARB ENDORSEMENT: You must complete and submit the architecture NCARB endorsement application. Requirements:

  • Proof of passing the Architect Registration Examination (ARE) or predecessor examination. Florida does not accept examinations with exempted portions by means of education and/or experience OR the alternate path to the examination requirements through NCARB guidelines. Florida does not accept the Examination for Architects in Canada (ExAC).
  • Have a valid license to practice architecture issued by another state or jurisdiction of the United States.
  • Have a valid certificate issued by NCARB and request that NCARB electronically post or transmit your “Blue Cover” Council Record to the Florida Board. The NCARB certification must contain proof of passing the Architectural Registration Examination (ARE) or predecessor examination. Florida does not recognize any NCARB Mutual Recognition Agreements.
  • Complete the application and submit the non-refundable fee of $90.00.

You can locate the NCARB endorsement application on the Board’s main page, Apply For A License. 2.  STATE ENDORSEMENT: You must complete and submit the architecture state endorsement application. Requirements:

  • A minimum five-year Professional Bachelor’s or Master’s degree in Architecture accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB). Visit NAAB.org for a current list of accredited programs or the NAAB Historical list. If you do not have a NAAB accredited degree, you will be required to provide your endorsing state’s statutes for an equivalency evaluation to determine licensure eligibility.
  • Proof of passing the Architect Registration Examination (ARE) or a predecessor examination (exempted portions by means of education and/or experience are not acceptable).
  • Completion of the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) Architectural Experience Program (AXP), state internship or experience program equivalent to Florida’s requirements or complete DBPR AID-4004 Practical Experience Form (IDP Equivalency) certifying two (2) years of licensed practice as an architect.
  • Have a valid license to practice architecture issued by another state or jurisdiction of the United States.
  • Complete the application and submit the non-refundable fee of $200.00.

You can locate the state endorsement application on the Board’s main page, Apply For A License. 3.  DIRECT ENDORSEMENT: You must complete and submit the architecture direct endorsement application. Requirements:

  • A minimum five-year Professional Bachelor’s or Master’s degree in Architecture accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB). Visit NAAB.org for a current list of accredited programs or the NAAB Historical list. If you do not have a NAAB accredited degree, you will be required to provide your endorsing state’s statutes for an equivalency evaluation to determine licensure eligibility.
  • Proof of passing the Architect Registration Examination (ARE) or a predecessor examination (exempted portions by means of education and/or experience are not acceptable).
  • Completion of the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) Architectural Experience Program (AXP).
  • Complete the application and submit the non-refundable fee of $200.00.

Direct endorsement is often used for applicants that were once licensed in the state of Florida whose license is now null and void. You must complete the direct endorsement application to regain Florida licensure. You can locate the direct endorsement application on the Board’s main page, Apply For A License.

Can I become licensed if I did not complete the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards Architectural Experience Program (AXP)?

Yes.  If you are licensed in another state and practiced architecture for at least two (2) years from your initial licensure, you must complete the experience verification form available in the endorsement application titled, Practical Experience Form (AXP Equivalency). If you are not licensed in another state but completed an internship or experience program administered in the examination state, you must submit documentation of the internship or experience program completion and the state statutes outlining the experience program for Florida to evaluate for equivalency. You can locate the AID-4004 Practical Experience Form (AXP Equivalency) form on the Board’s main page, Apply For A License.

I am an architect from a foreign country. What do I need to do in order to become licensed in Florida?

Florida does not recognize licensure outside of the country; therefore, you must apply as if you did not have a license.  First you would need to have your foreign education evaluated to see if it is the equivalent of at least a Bachelor of Architecture degree in the United States. You must contact the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) to have your education equivalency performed and experience evaluated in accordance to the NCARB Architectural Experience Program (AXP). You may contact NCARB at 202.783.6500 or at www.NCARB.org. Upon completion of the NCARB education evaluation, experience, and examination complete the department’s examination application for licensure by examination (direct registration). You may also qualify for licensure through the NCARB endorsement application if you have passed the Architectural Registration Examination (ARE), hold NCARB certification, and are licensed in another state of the United States. Additional foreign licensure information You can locate the examination and endorsement applications on the Board’s main page, Apply For A License.

I do not have any education; however I do have 30+ years of architectural experience. Can I be licensed on experience alone? Does Florida offer licensure via grandfathering or grandparenting?

No.  You must meet all of the educational, experience and examination requirements as set forth by the examination or endorsement applications. An option is to contact the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) and complete the Alternatives for Certification of an Architect Registered in a U.S. Jurisdiction formerly known as Broadly Experience Architect (BEA) program.  You can contact them at www.NCARB.org or 202.783.6500.

I obtained my National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) certification through the Alternatives for Certification of an Architect Registered in a U.S. Jurisdiction formerly known as the Broadly Experience Architect (BEA) provision. Can I obtain Florida licensure?

Yes.  Complete and submit the NCARB Endorsement application.  You can locate the application on the Board’s main page, Apply For A License.

Does Florida accept any Mutual Recognition Agreements signed by the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB)?

No. Florida does not accept or recognize any Mutual Recognition Agreements signed by NCARB. NCARB applicants must meet the following requirements for licensure in Florida: 1. Passage of the prescribed licensure examination (Architectural Registration Examination – ARE). Florida does not accept examinations with exempted portions by means of education and/or experience OR the alternate path to the examination requirements through the NCARB guidelines/handbook; and 2. Hold a valid certificate issued by the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB); and 3. Hold a valid license to practice architecture issued by another state or jurisdiction of the United States.

If I was once licensed in Florida and my license is now null and void, can I have it reinstated?

Yes.  There is an application that allows an individual to apply for reinstatement of a null and void license based on illness or economic hardship.  The applicant must provide documentation of the hardship and a minimum of 24 hours of continuing education. If you do not qualify for reinstatement of the null and void license and you are not licensed in another U.S. jurisdiction or NCARB certified, then you must apply by direct endorsement. You can locate the application to reinstate null and void license based on illness or undue hardship or the application for endorsement on the Board’s main page, Apply For A License.

When would I need a license for a business?

If you offer architectural services in a name other than your full legal name as a sole proprietor, you are required to apply for a certificate of authorization also known as a business license.  Examples include a corporation, limited liability company, partnership, professional association, professional corporation or fictitious name. Please note that you can practice under your full legal name (Example – John Doe Architecture Services) as a sole practitioner without a certificate of authorization.  If you practice in anything other than your full legal name (Example John’s Architecture Services) as a sole proprietor, you are required to obtain a certificate of authorization also known as a business license. You can locate the architecture certificate of authorization application on the Board’s main page, Apply For A License.

What is a certificate of authorization?

A certificate of authorization also known as a business license allows a business to offer architectural services to the public through the business entity.

What are the requirements for a certificate of authorization?

A company that is a corporation, partnership, limited liability corporation, or fictitious name, is required to have a Florida licensed architect that is a principal officer of the business qualify the business to obtain a certificate of authorization.  The qualifier must be a principal officer of the company as registered with the Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations and listed in the Articles of Incorporation.  Examples of officers include president, vice-president, secretary, treasurer, or director. Managing members, who provide a detailed list of duties, are acceptable for limited liability companies.  Each office and branch office is required to have a Florida licensed architect in responsible supervisory control. Please note, if you operate your business with your legal name and are a sole proprietor, you are not required to obtain a certificate of authorization.  Otherwise, all fictitious name registrations require a certificate of authorization. You can locate the architecture certificate of authorization application on the Board’s main page, Apply For A License.

Do I need a separate certificate of authorization for a marketing office or branch office?

No.  You do not need a separate certificate of authorization for a marketing office or branch office.  Marketing offices are strictly for marketing and are not for meeting with clients to discuss architectural drawings, plans, etc. and therefore, do not require a Florida licensed architect be on the premises.  However, you must have a full time Florida licensed architect in supervisory control for all branch offices.

I am a licensed Florida Architect. I live in another state and would like to perform architectural services for the company I am employed by. Can I offer to perform architectural services for the company with my personal license?

No, in order for you to offer services for your out-of-state company in the State of Florida, the company must obtain the appropriate business license, which is a certificate of authorization.  You are only permitted to offer services under your personal license in your legal name. You can locate the architecture certificate of authorization application on the Board’s main page, Apply For A License.

How do I obtain a certificate of authorization in Florida for a Florida business or an out of state business?

First you contact the Department of State, Division of Corporations at 850.488.9000 or www.sunbiz.org and register to transact business in the state of Florida.  Next you complete and submit the certificate of authorization application with the Department of Business and Professional Regulation. You can locate the certificate of authorization application at www.MyFloridaLicense.com.

If I am a sole proprietor, do I need a certificate of authorization?

No, you can do business with your architect license, but only in your legal licensed name as a sole proprietor.  An example would be “John Brown, Architect”.  If you offer services in any name other than your legal name that would be considered a fictitious name and would require a certificate of authorization.  An example of that would be “Jones Design and Architectural Concepts”.

I am not incorporated but I do business in another name. Do I need any additional licensure?

Yes, you need to obtain a certificate of authorization for a fictitious name.  You can locate the architecture certificate of authorization application on the Board’s main page, Apply For A License.

My company is a limited liability company and we do not have officers. How do we apply for licensure?

You apply by the same guidelines as a corporation.  You must have one of the managing members as your qualifier and he or she must be listed in the Articles of Incorporation or organization as a managing member, including a detailed list of duties.

If my name is in the title of the company (for example Smith, Jones and Doe), would I need to be licensed in the State of Florida?

If the business name contains more than one name, then at least one individual name must be a Florida licensed architect.

I have a partnership; do all the partners need a Florida license?

No, only one of the partners is required to be licensed in Florida as an architect.

My company is currently licensed in Florida and we just changed our name. How do we change the name in your records, and is there a fee?

You must complete a business name change application and the fee is $25.00. You can locate the business name change application online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com.

My company has changed from a partnership to a corporation; do we submit a name change application?

Yes, as long as the change is documented with the Department of State, Division of Corporations and a new company/business was not created.  You can locate the architecture business maintenance application online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com. If the partnership was closed or placed inactive and a new company (corporation) was created, then a new certificate of authorization application must be completed.

The individual whose name appears in our company name is deceased or retired. Can we obtain a business license in our existing name?

Yes, as long as the individual was once licensed and you are able to provide proof of that license as well as their current status as either deceased or retired, you can still get the business license in the existing name of the company.

Can I qualify more than one company?

Yes, however, you cannot be the responsible supervisor in control of more than one office unless both businesses are located at the same physical address.

I qualify an architectural business and we have numerous branch offices that provide architectural services. Do I need a licensed architect in each of those branch offices?

Yes.  If you offer architectural services in that branch, other than marketing only, then you must have a full time Florida licensed architect in the branch office with supervisory control.

My qualifier left and we have a new one. How do we update the department’s records?

You must submit that information, in writing, to the department, including the departure date of your previous qualifier and the effective date and licensure information for the new qualifier.  A company has 30 days to submit changes to the Board of Architecture and Interior Design, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, FL 32399-0751. You can locate the architecture business maintenance application online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com. Reminder: the new qualifier must be a principal officer of the firm as noted in the Articles of Incorporation and filed with the Department of State.

If I am a licensed architect, do I need to take the test to become licensed as an interior designer?

No.  An architect can perform the services of an interior designer within the scope of his or her architect license. You can obtain dual licensure.  The only requirement is to have an active Florida Architect license and complete the dual licensure application. You can locate the application online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com. The additional license is not required because a licensed architect or architectural business can practice interior design and use the title interior designer.

I want to design a house. Do I need to be licensed?

No, you can design a house without having an architecture license.  You can locate the exemption information online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com > Businesses & Professions > Architect and Interior Design > Statutes and Rules > Chapter 481.229, Part I, Florida Statutes. Please note that some local jurisdictions may require residential plans to be signed and sealed by a Florida licensed architect for building code requirements.

If I have a licensed architecture firm, can I obtain a license to do interior design without having a licensed designer work for the firm?

Yes.  You can obtain a dual business license simply because you have an architecture business license.  You will not need an interior designer, because an architect can qualify an interior design business.

What are the requirements to obtain the dual business license and what are the fees?

There is no fee for the application, and the only requirement is to have an active architecture business license.  You can locate the application at www.MyFloridaLicense.com.

When is my license up for renewal?

You need to renew your individual and business licenses by February 28 of every odd- numbered year.

I did not receive a renewal notice do I mail a check to the department?

If you did not receive a renewal notice, please check your address of record.  Renewal notices are mailed to the last known address.  It is your responsibility to renew whether you received the renewal notice or not. You must send a check made payable to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR), 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0783, along with a copy of your license indicating if you would prefer to renew your license as either active or inactive.  You may also renew online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com or call the Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395.

My individual and/or business license is delinquent. What would be the fee to renew?

The fee to renew your license through February 28, 2019, would be $150.00 ($125.00 for the renewal fee plus a $25.00 late fee). The fees may vary during licensure renewal.

My license is inactive. I would like to return to active status, what do I do?

You must complete the reactivation application, pay the application fee of $150, as well as submit proof of completing 24 hours of continuing education including 2 hours of the Florida Building Code advanced courses. You can locate the reactivation application online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com.

When I renew, do I need to send proof of my continuing education?

No.  Maintain proof of continuing education for your records in case you are audited. Architecture and Interior Design continuing education course providers are exempt from reporting attendance rosters.  However, course providers who have department-assigned provider and course numbers have the option to report your continuing education credit hours.  If reported, such hours will be posted to your license and will be reflected on the department’s online services at www.MyFloridaLicense.com. Courses that are automatically accepted for continuing education credits but not specifically assigned a course number by the department (e.g., AIA, IDCEC, etc.) cannot be reported or manually entered into the department’s computer system. Please be advised that your online account will only reflect the hours voluntarily reported by course providers and may not be an actual reflection of the hours you have completed.  This will not affect your ability to renew your license.  In accordance with the continuing education handbook, you are required to maintain course completion certificates for three years.  If you are selected for audit you will be required to produce course completion certificates to verify attendance. If you are an out-of-state registrant, you will also be required to submit a copy of the resident state statutes and rules as they pertain to your continuing education.  Effective March 2005, you must also obtain two hours of Florida advanced building code course hours as a part of your continuing education for renewal for February 28, 2007, and subsequent renewals.

I have retired and stopped paying the renewal fees. May I call myself an architect?

Yes.  If you were once licensed in Florida you may call yourself an “architect, retired”.  However, you may not render any architectural services.

My license is null and void. Can I reactivate or reinstate my license?

Once a license is placed in null and void status, the only thing that you can do is reapply to the department for licensure by endorsement.  Completing a reactivation or renewal application will not regain licensure. If you qualify you may apply for reinstatement based on a hardship. You can locate the application for reinstatement of null and void license due to illness or economic hardship at www.MyFloridaLicense.com.

Are there any exceptions to null and void status?

You can apply to the board for reinstatement of a null and void license based upon illness or economic hardship.  You can locate the application to reinstate a null and void license at www.MyFloridaLicense.com.

How many continuing education hours (CEH) do I need to renew my license?

Each registered architect must complete 24 CEHs of educational instruction or training of study approved by the board or department prior to licensure renewal. The licensee must acquire the necessary hours the reporting cycle just ending prior to licensure renewal. Thus, when an architect renews February 28, odd numbered year, he/she will attest to completing 24 hours for the previous two calendar years, for a total of 24 CEHs upon renewal. Example: Architect renews on February 28, 2013. He/she must attest to completing HSW CEHs in the 2011 -2012 (Jan – Dec). Refer to the Architecture Continuing Education Handbook available on the board’s web page. Of the 24 CEHs, 22 hours must be completed in the health, safety and welfare category and 2 hours must be completed in the Florida Building Code advanced category. Florida Building Code advanced course information is available at www.MyFloridaLicense.com > Businesses & Professions > Find A CE Course > in the drop down menu populate Board with Board of Architecture and Interior Design and “requirement” with advanced. An approved provider and course list is available online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com > Businesses & Professions > Architects and Interior Design > scroll down to the List of Continuing Education provider and courses. You can contact the providers to obtain course dates and location information.

Does the board accept other providers/course or other board’s continuing education not listed on the web site?

Yes, the board automatically accepts the following providers and board’s approved courses: American Institute of Architects (AIA) Continuing Education System (CES) at www.aiafla.org, National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) at www.ncarb.org, Interior Design Continuing Education Council (IDCEC) Core Member List at www.idcec.org, the Construction Industry Licensing Board and the Florida Building Officials and Inspectors Board.  You can download a copy of the architecture continuing education handbook at www.MyFloridaLicense.com.

If my license is on an inactive status, am I required to complete continuing education?

No. When you return your license to an active status you will be required to complete 24 hours of continuing education including 2 hours of the Florida Building Code advanced courses. You can locate the reactivation application online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com.

Are licensees required to maintain their continuing education completion certificates?

Licensees should maintain their proof of attendance or completion certificates received at a continuing education course in the event they are audited.

Can I carry over excess continuing education hours to the next renewal?

No. You must obtain the required continuing education during the reporting cycle just ending prior to licensure renewal.

How do I become a continuing education provider and what are the requirements to offer continuing education courses?

Visit www.MyFloridaLicense.com. This document is also known as the continuing education handbook.  Complete and submit the application for board review and approval.

I want to file a complaint against an architect or interior designer that is licensed or unlicensed. What do I do?

The Board of Architecture and Interior Design has contracted with the law firm of Smith, Thompson, Shaw, Minacci & Colón, P.A. to perform the investigative and prosecutorial functions of the board. To file a complaint, please contact: Smith, Thompson, Shaw, Minacci & Colón, P.A. 3520 Thomasville Road, 4th Floor Tallahassee, Florida 32309 www.stslaw.com/practice-areas/board-of-architecture/file-complaint

How do I obtain my seal as an architect?

You can obtain your seal from an office supply company.  The seal dimensions and description information are available on the Statutes and Rules page > Chapter 61G1-16, Florida Administrative Code, Seals and Plans.

Will Florida accept a rubber stamp seal or electronic signed and sealed submittals?

Yes. Seal information is available on the Statutes and Rules page > Statutes and Rules > Chapter 61G1-16, Florida Administrative Code. You should contact the local city, county, or municipality to verify what secured electronic plans submittal program (format) they accept for permitting purposes. Changes affecting procedures for the use of an architect and interior designer’s signature and seal

Where should my license number be displayed?

Each licensed architect or architecture business is required to display their license number in all advertisements.  Advertisements include newspapers, telephone directory, business cards, magazines, billboards, proposals, internet ads, contracts and job site signs.

How can I obtain a list of all the licensed architects in the State of Florida?

You can obtain this information online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com > Instant Public Records > Architecture and Interior Design > Architecture and Interior Design Files.

Does this profession offer walls certificates?

Yes.  Wall certificates are issued four to six weeks after the license is issued.  The first wall certificate is free; any additional or duplicate certificates are $25.00 each and must be requested in writing.  Requests should be directed to: Florida Board of Architecture and Interior Design 2601 Blair Stone Road Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0751

How do I request that my license history including date of licensure, examination grades, disciplinary history, etc be sent to NCARB or another state?

You make the request in writing and provide the NCARB or other state’s form for completion.  If you do not have a form then make the request in writing, provide a forwarding address for our office to know where to mail the verification, and list what information is required on the verification (exam grades, initial date of licensure, etc.).  There is a $25.00 fee for verifications.  Verifications take approximately two to three weeks to complete. Mail your request to: Board of Architecture and Interior Design 2601 Blair Stone Road Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0751 Make check payable to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR)

I am an architect and have been hired to replace a prior architect of record or a deceased architect of record. How do I proceed in taking over the work of another architect, also known as a successor architect?

Procedures for a successor architect adopting as his own the work of another architect can be located in Rule 61G1-18.002, Florida Administrative Code. The rule outlines the requirements for notifying the prior architect and the professional and legal requirements for the plans or documents.

Does Chapter 481, Part I, of the Florida Statutes or Rule 61G1, of the Florida Administrative Code address record retention of architectural plans?

No. Records retention is not addressed.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) specific to Interior Designers

What are the functions of the Board of Architecture and Interior Design?

The Board of Architecture and Interior Design regulates architects, interior designers, threshold inspectors, architecture businesses and interior design businesses.

What are the statutes and rules that govern Architecture and Interior Design?

Chapter 481, Part I, of the Florida Statutes and Rule 61G1 of the Florida Administrative Code.

Where can I obtain the laws and rules of the Board?

The laws and rules may be obtained on the Board’s Statutes and Rules page. If you need further assistance, you may call the Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395.

When and where is the next board meeting?

The dates and locations are available through the board office or online.  You may check the board’s Board Meeting Information page for exact dates and locations.

Where can I obtain a copy of the board meeting agenda or past minutes?

Agendas for upcoming meetings and minutes from past meetings are available on the Board Meeting Information page.

How do I apply to become a board member?

You can find information on the Board Information page.

How can I obtain assistance on completing my application?

If you have any questions or need assistance completing your application, please contact the department’s Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395.

Where do I mail my application?

Department of Business and Professional Regulation Central Intake Unit 2601 Blair Stone Road Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783

What are the fees for Interior Design applications?

Application fees are non-refundable. • Interior Design Examination – $30.00 • Interior Design Endorsement – $30.00 • Certificate of Authorization – $100.00 • Reactivation for Individual – $150.00 • Business Name Change – $25.00 • Interior Design Continuing Education Handbook and Forms: o Licensees Seeking Individual Credit – $25.00 o Established Providers – $25.00 o Non-Established Providers – $50.00 ($25.00 Provider and $25.00 per course) NOTE: If a course is being submitted in conjunction with a board audit, there is no charge.

Can I change my address online?

Yes.  Visit our website at www.MyFloridaLicense.com > Online Services.  You can also change your telephone number and email address here.

Your website provides for "main", "mailing", and "location" addresses. What are the differences?

Three types of addresses have been established to support your needs: main, license mailing, and license location. Main Address – This address is the primary address on file. License Mailing Address – This is the address where the mail associated with a particular license will be sent (if different from the main or license location addresses). License Location Address – This is the address where the place of business is physically located. An example of the use of different addresses: If Jane Doe is a contractor that works for ACME Builders, she may have 3 different addresses listed in her profile. Her main address would be the address of ACME Builders’ corporate headquarters. Her license mailing may be her home so she doesn’t have to visit the office to pick up her mail. Finally, her License Location would be the address of the ACME Builders’ local office where she works. If Jane Doe worked independently, she might have only one address on file (Main Address) as her office is the same place she wishes to receive her mail.

Can I change all license addresses online?

The main address and license mailing address can be changed online for all license types. License location addresses can also be changed online, except for Barbershops, Cosmetology Salons, Veterinary Establishments, and Talent Agencies. The location for these license types is tied to the license, so a location change will require submission of a new application.

How can I change my address if I do not have a computer?

You may request the change by calling the Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395 or submit it in writing or by fax to: Department of Business and Professional Regulation Central Intake Unit – License Maintenance 2601 Blair Stone Road Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783 Fax: 850.488.8040

What examination is required for Florida interior design licensure?

You must take and pass the National Council of Interior Design Qualifications (NCIDQ) examination. The NCIDQ examination is offered in April and October. For test dates and locations visit the NCIDQ web site at www.NCIDQ.org or contact them at 202.721.0220.

What application do I submit to be approved to take the NCIDQ examination and receive a Florida interior design license?

You must complete and submit the interior design examination application. You must meet the minimum education and experience requirements. Education and experience are combined to meet a minimum six years to be eligible for examination and licensure. Education and professional experience requirements are defined in Rule 61G1-22, Florida Administrative Code.

EducationExperienceTotal
Graduate from an interior design program of 5 years or moreCompletion of 1 year or 1760 hours of diversified experience under the direction of a licensed interior designer or architect6 years
Graduate from an interior design program of 4 years or moreCompletion of 2 years or 3520 hours of diversified experience under the direction of a licensed interior designer or architect6 years
Completion of at least 3 years in an interior design curriculumCompletion of 3 years or 5280 hours of diversified experience under the direction of a licensed interior designer or architect6 years
Graduate from an interior design program of 2 years or moreCompletion of 4 years or 7040 hours of diversified experience under the direction of a licensed interior designer or architect6 years

Education The statute requires that an applicant graduate from an accredited Council for Interior Design Accreditation (CIDA) program or board approved program in interior design. CIDA accredits four year interior design degree programs. CIDA was formally known as the Foundation for Interior Design Education Requirements (FIDER) and previously approved two year degree programs in interior design. If you have a two year FIDER accredited degree in interior design the board will accept that degree. Applicants that do not graduate from an accredited Council for Interior Design Accreditation (CIDA) program may apply to the board for licensure but may not meet the educational requirements as set forth in Florida Statutes and Rules. You must provide a copy of the course curriculum for board evaluation. Course curriculum is required for degrees conferred in any discipline other than interior design including foreign graduates; examples include architecture, fine arts, fashion design, industrial architecture, etc. Please note: an architecture degree is not automatically accepted as proof of interior design education. Experience verification Candidates unable to verify experience gained under direct supervision in an employer/employee setting, may satisfy the requirement by substantiating a direct working relationship with either an architect or registered interior designer on former projects or ventures. Such affiliation must be corroborated by the licensed architect or interior designer who will be required to identify the total number of hours evolving from such affiliation as well as elaborate on the type of work performed by the candidate. Applicants cannot self certify their experience. If you cannot obtain experience verification by the employer/employee or by affiliation with a licensed architect or interior designer, the last option is to file a request for a waiver or variance from Rule 61G1-22.002, Florida Administrative Code. The information on filing a waiver or variance from the rule is located in Chapter 28-104, Florida Administrative Code.

I have taken and passed the NCIDQ examination what application do I submit?

You must complete and submit the interior design endorsement application. Please refer to the Licensure Information Section.

What are the requirements for Florida Interior Design Licensure?
  1. There are three components to licensure which are proof of passing the National Council of Interior Designer Qualifications (NCIDQ) examination, education, and experience. Education and experience verification are combined to meet a minimum of six years to be eligible for licensure.Education and professional experience requirements are defined in Rule 61G1-22, Florida Administrative Code.
EducationExperienceTotal
Graduate from an interior design program of 5 years or moreCompletion of 1 year or 1760 hours of diversified experience under the direction of a licensed interior designer or architect6 years
Graduate from an interior design program of 4 years or moreCompletion of 2 years or 3520 hours of diversified experience under the direction of a licensed interior designer or architect6 years
Completion of at least 3 years in an interior design curriculumCompletion of 3 years or 5280 hours of diversified experience under the direction of a licensed interior designer or architect6 years
Graduate from an interior design program of 2 years or moreCompletion of 4 years or 7040 hours of diversified experience under the direction of a licensed interior designer or architect6 years

Education The statute requires that an applicant graduate from an accredit Council for Interior Design Accreditation (CIDA) program or board approved program in interior design. CIDA accredits four year interior design degree programs. CIDA was formally known as the Foundation for Interior Design Education Requirements. Applicants that do not graduate from an accredited Council for Interior Design Accreditation (CIDA) program may apply to the board for licensure but may not meet the educational requirements as set forth in Florida Statutes and Rules. You must provide a copy of the course curriculum for board evaluation. Course curriculum is required for degrees conferred in any discipline other than interior design including foreign graduates; examples include architecture, fine arts, fashion design, industrial architecture, etc. Please note: an architecture degree is not automatically accepted as proof of interior design education. Experience verification Candidates unable to verify experience gained under direct supervision in an employer/employee setting, may satisfy the requirement by substantiating a direct working relationship with either an architect or registered interior designer on former projects or ventures. Such affiliation must be corroborated by the licensed architect or interior designer who will be required to identify the total number of hours evolving from such affiliation as well as elaborate on the type of work performed by the candidate. Applicants cannot self certify their experience. If you cannot obtain experience verification by the employer/employee or by affiliation with a licensed architect or interior designer, the last option is to file a request for a waiver or variance from Rule 61G1-22.002, Florida Administrative Code. The information on filing a waiver or variance from the rule is located in Chapter 28-104, Florida Administrative Code.

I have taken and passed the National Council of Interior Designer Qualifications (NCIDQ) examination. What application do I complete to obtain a Florida license?

You complete and submit the interior design endorsement application. You must meet Florida’s minimum education, experience, and examination requirements. There is no exception or exemption to the minimum requirements. Meeting NCIDQ’s requirements does not automatically make you eligible for Florida licensure. You cannot exempt the education requirements with experience. As of April 30, 1998, Florida no longer offers grandfathering/grandparenting licensure based solely on experience.

I am licensed in another state. What application do I complete to obtain a Florida license?

You complete and submit the interior design endorsement application. You must meet Florida’s minimum education, experience, and examination requirements. There is no exception or exemption to the minimum requirements. You cannot exempt the education requirements with experience. As of April 30, 1998, Florida no longer offers grandfathering/grandparenting licensure based solely on experience.

Does being certified by a national or recognized interior design organization, affiliation, or association make me eligible for interior design licensure in Florida?

No. Taking and passing the NCIDQ does not automatically make you eligible for licensure in Florida. You must meet Florida’s minimum education, experience, and examination requirements. ASID, IDAF, IIDA, etc., are affiliations and associations. Being certified by these associations or affiliations does not automatically make you eligible for licensure in Florida. You must complete and submit the endorsement application and meet the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements.

I have an interior design license. Can I operate a business?

Yes, but only in your full individual name and if you are a sole proprietor. In order to practice in any name other than your full individual name, you need to apply for an interior design certificate of authorization to operate a business and you must obtain board approval prior to offering services through a business entity. You may obtain the application on the Board’s main page, Apply For A License. Please note if you operate your business with your legal name and are a sole proprietor, you are not required to obtain a certificate of authorization.

When would I need a license for a business?

If you do business in any name other than your legal name, you are required to apply for a certificate of authorization. Examples include a corporation, limited liability company, partnership, professional association, professional corporation, or fictitious name. Please note that you can practice under your legal name as a sole practitioner without a certificate of authorization. An example would be Susie Smith Designs or Susie Smith, Interior Designer. First register your business through the Department of State, Division of Corporations by contacting them at 850.488.9000 or at www.sunbiz.org. Then complete and submit the interior design certificate of authorization application, available on the Board’s main page, Apply For A License.

What are the requirements for a certificate of authorization?

A company that is a corporation, partnership, limited liability corporation, limited partnership, or fictitious name is required to have a Florida licensed architect or interior designer qualify the business and to obtain a certificate of authorization. The qualifier must be a principal officer of the business as defined and registered with the Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations at www.sunbiz.org or any other officer who has management responsibilities in the business entity, as documented by the charter, by-laws, or in the Articles of Incorporation. Each office and branch office is required to have a licensed architect or interior designer in responsible supervisory control. You may obtain the interior design certificate of authorization application on the Board’s main page, Apply For A License.

I am a licensed Florida interior designer. I live in another state and would like to perform interior design services for the company I am employed by. Can I offer to perform interior design services for the company with my personal license?

No, in order for you to offer services for your out-of-state company in the State of Florida, the company would need to obtain the certificate of authorization and you would have to apply to be the company’s qualifier. You are only permitted to offer services in your legal name. You may obtain the interior design certificate of authorization application on the Board’s main page, Apply For A License.

How do I obtain a certificate of authorization in Florida for a Florida company or an out of state company?

First you would contact the Department of State, Division of Corporations at 850.488.9000 or www.sunbiz.org and register to transact business in the State of Florida. Next you need to submit an application for a certificate of authorization with the Department of Business and Professional Regulation. You may obtain the interior design certificate of authorization application on the Board’s main page, Apply For A License.

If I am a sole proprietor, do I need a certificate of authorization?

No, you can do business with your interior design license, but only in your legal licensed name. An example would be John Brown Interiors. If you offer services in any name other than your name that would be a fictitious name and would require a certificate of authorization. An example of that would be Jones Design and Concepts. However, if your company is registered as an S-Corp as a corporation, partnership, limited liability company, limited partnership, or fictitious name through the Department of State, Division of Corporations you are required to obtain a certificate of authorization.

I am not incorporated but I do business in another name, do I need any additional licensure?

Yes, you need to obtain a certificate of authorization for a fictitious name. You may obtain the interior design certificate of authorization application on the Board’s main page, Apply For A License.

My company is a limited liability company and we do not have officers. How do we apply for licensure?

You would apply by the same guidelines as a corporation. You need to have one of the managing members as your qualifier, and he or she must be listed in the Articles of Incorporation or organization as a managing member, including a detailed list of duties.

If my name is in the title of the company, would I need to be licensed in the State of Florida to offer services through the company?

Yes, if the company is a corporation, partnership, limited liability company or partnership.

I have a partnership; do all the partners need a Florida license?

No, only one of the partners is required to be licensed in Florida as an architect or interior designer and all personnel.

My company is currently licensed in Florida and we just changed our name. How do we change the name in your records, and is there a fee?

You must complete a business name change application. The fee is $25.00. You must be approved by the board prior to operating under the new business name. You may obtain the business name change application on the Board’s main page, Renew & Manage My License.

My company has changed from a partnership to a corporation; do we submit a name change application?

Yes. As long as the change is documented with the Department of State, Division of Corporations and a new company/business was not created. You can locate the interior design business maintenance application on the Board’s main page, Renew & Manage My License. If the partnership was closed or placed inactive and a new company (corporation) was created, then a new certificate of authorization must be completed.

My qualifier left and we have a new one, what do we need to do?

You can update the qualifier information by completing and submitting the Business License Maintenance Form # DBPR AR-ID 2 available on the department website at www.MyFloridaLicense.com.  You can also submit that information in writing to the department, including the departure date of your previous qualifier and the effective date and licensure information for the new qualifier. A company has 30 days to submit changes to the Board of Architecture and Interior Design, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, FL 32399-0751. Reminder: the new qualifier must be a principal officer of the firm as noted in the Articles of Incorporation and filed with the Department of State, Division of Corporations.

If I have a licensed architecture firm, can I obtain a license to offer interior design without having a licensed interior designer work for the firm?

Yes, you can obtain a dual business license simply because you have an architecture business license. You will not need an interior designer to qualify because an architect can qualify an interior design business. Licensed architects and architectural businesses are allowed to offer interior design services without obtaining the additional interior design license.

What are the requirements to obtain the dual business license and what are the fees?

A dual business license is an interior design license or interior design certificate of authorization (business license) issued based on a current architect or architecture certificate of authorization. There is no fee for the application, and the only requirement is to have an active architecture business license. You may obtain the application on the Board’s main page, Apply For A License.

Our company name contains an individual who is deceased or retired. Can we still obtain a business license in that name?

Yes, as long as the individual was once licensed and you have proof of that license, you can still get the business license in the existing name of the company.

My individual and/or business license is delinquent. What would be the fee to renew?

The fee to renew your license would be $150.00 ($125.00 for the renewal fee plus a $25.00 late fee). The fees may vary during licensure renewal.

I did not receive my renewal notice do I mail a check to the department?

If you did not receive a renewal notice, please check your address of record. Renewal notices are mailed to the last known address. It is your responsibility to renew whether you received the renewal notice or not. You must send a check made payable to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR), 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0751, along with a copy of your license indicating if you would prefer to renew your license as either active or inactive. You may also renew online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com or call the Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395.

My license is inactive. I would like to return to active status, what do I do?

You need to complete the reactivation application, pay the application fee of $150, as well as submit proof of completion of the required 20 hours of continuing education. You may obtain the reactivation application on the Board’s main page, Apply For A License. The fees may vary during licensure renewal or if your license is delinquent.

My license is null and void. Can I reactivate or reinstate my license?

Once a license is placed in null and void status, the only thing that you can do is reapply to the department for licensure and meet current requirements. If you qualify you may apply for reinstatement based on a hardship. You can obtain a copy of the reinstatement application due to hardship on the Board’s main page, Apply For A License. Completing a reactivation or renewal application will not regain licensure for a null and void license.

When I renew, do I need to send proof of my continuing education?

No. Maintain proof of continuing education for your records in case you are audited. Architecture and Interior Design continuing education course providers are exempt from reporting attendance rosters. However, course providers who have department-assigned provider and course numbers have the option to report your continuing education credit hours. If reported, such hours will be posted to your license and will be reflected on the department’s online services at www.MyFloridaLicense.com. Courses that are automatically accepted for continuing education credits but not specifically assigned a course number by the department (e.g., AIA, IDCEC, etc.) cannot be reported or manually entered into the department’s computer system. Please be advised that your online account will only reflect the hours voluntarily reported by course providers and may not be an actual reflection of the hours you have completed. This will not affect your ability to renew your license. In accordance with the continuing education handbook, you are required to maintain course completion certificates for three years. If you are selected for audit you will be required to produce course completion certificates to verify attendance. If you are an out-of-state registrant, you will also be required to submit a copy of the resident state statutes and rules as they pertain to your continuing education. Effective March 2005, you must also obtain two hours of advanced building code course hours as a part of your continuing education for renewal for February 28, 2007, and subsequent renewals.

May I carry over excess continuing education hours to the next biennium?

No. You must obtain the required continuing education during the biennium licensure period.

I have retired and stopped paying the renewal fees. May I call myself an interior designer?

Yes. If you were once licensed in Florida you may call yourself an “interior designer, retired”. However, you may not render any interior design services.

How many continuing education credit hours do I need to renew my license?

Licensees are required to obtain 20 hours of continuing education every two years. If you were initially licensed less than 24 months prior to your first renewal, no continuing education is required. If you have been licensed more than 24 months, 20 hours of continuing education are required of which 14 hours are required in health, safety, and welfare related course work, two hours in Florida Building Code advanced course work, and four hours in either health, safety, and welfare or optional credit. The renewal date for all licensees is February 28 of odd years.

What type of continuing education hours do I need?

Licensees are required to complete either all 20 hours in health, safety or welfare, or a minimum of 16 hours of health, safety or welfare and four hours of optional credits. Of the 16 hours, two hours must be completed in the advanced Florida Building Code. This will be required in order to renew your license by February 28, 2011, and subsequent renewals. This course is counted toward either the required 20 hours of health, safety, and welfare credit or the optional credits. Florida Building Code advanced course information is available on the Board’s main page, Renew & Manage My License.

Does the board accept other providers/course or other board’s continuing education not listed on the web site?

Yes, the board automatically accepts the following providers and board’s approved courses: American Institute of Architects (AIA) Continuing Education System (CES) at www.aiafla.org, National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) at www.ncarb.org, Interior Design Continuing Education Council (IDCEC) Core Member List at www.idcec.org, the Construction Industry Licensing Board and the Florida Building Officials and Inspectors Board.  You can download a copy of the interior design continuing education handbook on the Board’s main page.

Does the board give extensions or have exemptions from continuing education requirements?

No, the board does not give extensions for completing continuing education requirements. The board does however have exemptions for continuing education. You are not required to maintain continuing education if your license is in an inactive status. However, you will be required to provide evidence of completion of continuing education in order to reactivate the license. Personal hardships limited to illness, death within your immediate family or acts of God, will be considered on an individual basis provided that appropriate evidence substantiating the hardship is submitted. You must file a rule waiver or variance in accordance with Chapter 28-104, Florida Administrative Code, to be considered for exemption or extension.

If my license is on an inactive status, am I required to complete continuing education?

No. When you return your license to an active status you will be required to complete 20 hours of continuing education.

Are licensees required to maintain their continuing education completion certificates?

Yes, licensees should maintain their proof of attendance or completion certificates received at a continuing education course in the event they are audited.

Where can I obtain a list of board-approved providers and courses that offer continuing education for interior designers?

A list can be obtained on the Board’s main page, Renew & Manage My License.

How do I become a continuing education provider and what are the requirements to offer continuing education courses?

Visit the Board’s main page, Apply For A License. This document is also known as the continuing education handbook. Complete and submit the application for board review and approval.

I want to file a complaint against an architect or interior designer that is licensed or unlicensed, what do I do?

The Board of Architecture and Interior Design has contracted with the law firm of Smith, Thompson, Shaw, Minacci & Colón, P.A. to perform the investigative and prosecutorial functions of the board. To file a complaint, please contact: Smith, Thompson, Shaw, Minacci & Colón, P.A. 3520 Thomasville Road, 4th Floor Tallahassee, Florida 32309 www.stslaw.com/practice-areas/board-of-architecture/file-complaint

Will Florida accept a rubber stamp seal or electronic signed and sealed submittals?

Yes. Seal information is available on the Statutes and Rules page > Chapter 61G1-16, Florida Administrative Code. You should contact the local city, county, or municipality to verify what secured electronic plans submittal program (format) they accept for permitting purposes. Changes affecting procedures for the use of an architect and interior designer’s signature and seal

How do I obtain my seal as an interior designer?

You can obtain your seal from an office supply company.  The seal dimensions and description information are available online on the Statutes and Rules page > Chapter 61G1-16, Florida Administrative Code, Seals and Plans.

Will Florida accept a rubber stamp seal?

Yes. Seal information is available online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com > Our Businesses & Professions > Architecture and Interior Design > Statutes and Rules > Chapter 61G1-16, Florida Administrative Code, Seals and Plans.

How do I obtain my seal for interior design?

You may obtain your seal from an office supply company. The seal dimensions and description information are available online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com > Our Businesses & Professions > Architecture and Interior Design > Statutes and Rules > Chapter 61G1-16, Florida Administrative Code, Seals and Plans.

Where should my license number be displayed?

Each licensed interior designer or interior design business is required to display their license number in all advertising. Advertising includes newspapers, telephone directory, business cards, stationary, magazines, billboards, proposals, internet ads, contracts and job site signs.

Do I need a license to be an Interior Designer?

Not for residential interior design services. You must be licensed as a registered interior designer to practice commercial interior design. You should contact the local city or county municipality to determine if an occupational license is required.

If I am not licensed can I call myself an interior designer?

Yes. The title “interior designer” is not a protected title and can be used by anyone providing residential interior design services. Commercial services require licensure by the board.

If I am licensed in another state and my friends want me to decorate their house, would I need to obtain an interior designer’s license in your state?

No, you can do residential work as an interior designer and the only license you may need is an occupational license from the local city or county.

Does this profession offer wall certificates?

Yes. They are issued four to six weeks after the license is issued. The first one is free; any additional or duplicate certificates are $25.00 each and must be requested in writing. Requests should be directed to: Florida Board of Architecture and Interior Design 2601 Blair Stone Road Tallahassee, FL 32399-0751

How do I request that my license history including date of licensure, examination grades, disciplinary history, etc be sent to NCIDQ or another state?

You make the request in writing and provide the NCIDQ or other state’s form for completion.  If you do not have a form then make the request in writing, provide a forwarding address for our office to know where to mail the verification, and list what information is required on the verification (exam grades, initial date of licensure, etc.).  There is a $25.00 fee for verifications.  Verifications take approximately two to three weeks to complete. Mail your request to: Board of Architecture and Interior Design 2601 Blair Stone Road Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0751 Make check payable to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR)

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) specific to Threshold Building Inspectors

What are the functions of the Board of Architecture and Interior Design?

The Board of Architecture and Interior Design regulates architects, interior designers, threshold inspectors, architecture businesses and interior design businesses.

What are the statutes and rules that govern Architecture and Interior Design?

Chapter 481, Part I, Florida Statutes and Rule 61G1 of the Florida Administrative Code.

When and where is the next board meeting?

The dates and locations are available through the board office or online.  You may check the board’s Board Meeting Information page for exact dates and locations.

Where can I obtain a copy of the board meeting agenda or past minutes?

Agendas for upcoming meetings and minutes from past meetings are available on the Board Meeting Information page.

What are the requirements to become a threshold building inspector?

You must hold an active architect license in good standing with the Florida Board of Architecture and Interior Design, verify that you have three years of structural experience, and demonstrate minimum qualification criteria with education and experience.

How can I get an application to become a threshold building inspector?

The application is available on the Board’s website, Apply For A License, or you may contact the department’s Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395 between the hours of 8:00 am – 6:00 pm, Monday – Friday.

Why would I need to have the title threshold building inspector added to my architecture license?

This addition will permit you to perform structural field inspections on threshold buildings.

What is considered a threshold building?

Any building greater than three stories or 50 feet in height or an occupancy classification that exceeds 5,000 square feet is considered a threshold building.

What is added to a current architect’s license to show that he/she is licensed as a threshold inspector?

The specialty of “threshold building inspector”.

How can I find out if a person is licensed as a threshold building inspector?

You may contact the Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395 between the hours of 8:00 am – 6:00 pm, Monday – Friday or visit the department online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com.

What is the cost to apply for a threshold building inspector license?

The application fee is $100.00 and is non-refundable.

How can I obtain assistance on completing my application?

If you have any questions or need assistance completing your application, please contact the department’s Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395 between the hours of 8:00 am – 6:00 pm, Monday – Friday.

Where do I mail my application?

Department of Business and Professional Regulation Central Intake Unit 2601 Blair Stone Road Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0783

Whom do I contact to file a complaint against an architect who is permitted to practice threshold building inspections, or to file a complaint against an unlicensed threshold building inspector?

The Board of Architecture and Interior Design has contracted with the law firm of Smith, Thompson, Shaw, Minacci & Colón, P.A. to perform the investigative and prosecutorial functions of the board. To file a complaint, please contact: Smith, Thompson, Shaw, Minacci & Colón, P.A. 3520 Thomasville Road, 4th Floor Tallahassee, Florida 32309 www.stslaw.com/practice-areas/board-of-architecture/file-complaint

For more option, please check the website on your computer/laptop or ipad/tablet

Need Help?

All requests for publications, documents, forms, applications for licenses, permits and other similar certifications can be obtained by contacting the Customer Contact Center.

Krista Woodard, Executive Director

Division of Professions
Board of Architecture and Interior Design
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0791

Telephone: 850.487.1395
Facsimile: 850.488.8040