Auctioneer Recovery Fund Surcharge
The Board of Auctioneers is assessing a Recovery Fund surcharge in the amount of $117.48 for the 2019-2020 renewal cycle, pursuant to Section 468.393, Florida Statutes. This statutory surcharge will be in addition to the renewal fee and must be paid as a condition of renewal.
Paperless Licensing, effective 08/02/2019
The Department of Business and Professional Regulation is excited to announce an advancement in how we license auctioneers, auctioneer apprentices and auction businesses in the State of Florida.
The Department has implemented an innovative way to expedite the licensing process for auctioneers, auctioneer apprentices and auction businesses. The Department will no longer be mailing licenses upon issuance, as licensees can now print their licenses by logging into their secure online account with the Department. This will allow new licensees to enter the work force at least 7 to 10 business days early, whereas, in the past, they would have to wait for the license to arrive in the mail. In addition to new licenses, this process will allow licensees to renew online and print the license at their convenience, as well as print duplicate licenses as needed without paying a fee.
The auction business application will require one owner be listed under the Contact Information section. This owner will be the responsible owner for the auction business license issued by the Department of Business and Professional Regulation. This owner will be responsible for the Department license and any correspondence made regarding complaint inquiries. Your company can still be set up with multiple owners; however, only one owner will be responsible for the auction business license for any Department of Business and Professional Regulation inquiries.
Florida law may require a licensed auctioneer or auction business to obtain additional licensure from the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (HSMV) to auction automobiles. Please visit the HSMV website at http://www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/dealer.html for additional information.
Recent changes to Florida Law may require some licensed auctioneers and auction business to obtain a Second Hand Dealer registration through the Florida Department of Revenue (DOR). Please visit the DOR website at http://dor.myflorida.com/dor/taxes/secondhand_dealers_recyclers.html for additional information.
A printable law book is now available, on the Statutes and Rules page.
All requests for publications, documents, forms, applications for licenses, permits and other similar certifications can be obtained by contacting the Customer Contact Center.
Division of Professions
Board of Auctioneers
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0791