Barbers - FAQs

What are the functions of the Florida Barbers’ Board?

The Florida Barbers’ Board regulates barbers, restricted barbers, barber assistants and barbershops.

What are the statutes and rules that govern Barbers?

Chapter 476 of the Florida Statutes and Rule 61G3 of the Florida Administrative Code are the rules and laws that govern the barber profession.

Where can I obtain the laws and rules of the Board?

The laws and rules may be obtained on the Board’s website, Statutes and Rules. If you need further assistance, you may call the Customer Contact Center at 1.850.487.1395.

When and where is the next board meeting?

The dates and locations are available on the main page, Board Meeting Information.

Where can I obtain a copy of the board meeting agenda or past minutes?

Agendas and minutes are available on the main page, Board Meeting Information.

How do I become a licensed barber in Florida?

To become a licensed barber in the State of Florida you must attend a Florida barbering school and successfully complete a minimum of 1,200 hours of barber training. Upon completion of the educational hours, a completed examination application should be submitted to the Department for processing, along with the applicable fees. Once the examination application has been approved, you will be contacted by the Department’s examination vendor, Pearson VUE, to schedule a date and time for the written examination. The website for Pearson VUE is www.pearsonvue.com. Forms are available on the main page, Apply For A License.

Can I work if I passed my first licensing exam but haven’t received my license?

Yes. If a Florida barbering student passes his or her first licensing exam, the student may work in a licensed barbershop:

  • under the supervision of a licensed barber who is physically present when the student is working; and
  • so long as the student posts his or her exam results and a recent photo at their station.
Can I still work if I fail the examination?

If a Florida barbering student fails the exam, he or she may not work until:

  • he or she applies to the Department for reexamination;
  • he or she provides the shop or salon owner with a copy of his or her reexam application and the exam authorization letter from the testing vendor; and
  • he or she posts exam results and a recent photo at their station.

In order to continue working, a barbering student has 180 days from the date of his or her first exam to complete the exam. Should the student fail the exam a second time, the student cannot work until he or she successfully passes the exam and receives a barber license from the Department.

What does “under the supervision” of a licensed barber signify?

The term “under the supervision” of a licensed barber signifies that the supervising individual holds a current and active Florida barber’s license and is physically present at all times when the applicant is performing barbering services. However, the supervised work practice exception does not apply to an individual who has applied by endorsement from another state or country. Endorsement applicants must have their Florida barbers’ license prior to practice.

I have a license in another state and/or country. How do I obtain a Florida license?

You must complete an endorsement application which is available on the main page, Apply For A License.

What does endorsement mean in terms of my license?

Endorsement means that you are eligible for licensure without any additional schooling or examination.

I live in another state and hold a current and active barber license. Am I required to take the Florida barber exam or meet the educational requirement if I want to endorse my license to Florida?

If you hold a current and active license to practice barbering in another state, you will not be required to take the Florida Barber exam or meet the educational requirements to endorse your license to Florida.

Barbers who are unable to endorse their licenses in Florida may be eligible for examination as a barber or restricted barber in Florida if they have held their barber license for at least one year.

Apprentice licensees are not eligible for endorsement.

What are the qualifications for an endorsement application?

Applicants for endorsement must:

  • Complete a minimum of 1,200 hours of schooling in a program similar to, comparable to, or more stringent than what is required of Florida students;
  • Demonstrate that he or she has satisfactorily completed a written examination comparable to or more stringent than the examination administered by the Department;
  • Demonstrate that he or she possesses a current, active license in another state or country; and
  • Apply and pay the required application fee.

If you have a current and active license in another state or country that is based upon the completion of less than 1,200 school hours, you can attend (in or outside of Florida) any barbering school to obtain the additional educational hours to qualify for endorsement.

Apprentice licensees are not eligible for endorsement. All out of country barber endorsement applications must include an education evaluation that was conducted by a credential evaluation service which is a member of the National Association of Credential Evaluation Services (NACES). A complete listing of NACES members is located on the Board web page. If the NACES evaluation is not included with the out of country endorsement application, it will be considered deficient.

I currently hold a barber license in another country or from one of the US Territories. What are the qualifications for an endorsement application?

You may be eligible for licensure by Endorsement in Florida if:

  • You possess a current and active license to practice barbering in another country or US Territory;
  • Provide an education evaluation conducted by a credential service which is a member of National Association of Credential Evaluation Services (NACES);
  • Have passed a written examination for licensure that is comparable to or more stringent than the exam required in Florida;
  • Demonstrate completion of at least 1200 barbering hours covering the subjects of safety, sanitation, and sterilization, hair structure and chemistry, hair cutting, shampooing, chemical services and shaving services or an apprenticeship program of at least 1200 hour, or a combination thereof; and
  • Apply and pay the required application fee

If you have a current and active license in another country or US Territory that is based on the completion of less than 1200 school hours, you can attend (in or outside of Florida) any barbering school to obtain the additional educational hours to qualify for endorsement.

Barbers who are unable to endorse their licenses in Florida may be eligible for examination as a barber or restricted barber in Florida if they have held their barber license for at least one year.

Apprentice licensees are not eligible for endorsement.

How many educational hours are required to qualify for the restricted barber license?

As of January 1, 2020, restricted barber applicants are required to successfully complete a minimum of 600 educational hours of training.

What are the specifications of the restricted barber educational courses that must be taught to qualify an individual for a restricted barber license?

All restricted barber courses which are taught for the purpose of qualifying an individual for restricted barber license to practice restricted barbering shall be specified as below:

1. Florida Laws and Rules 75 Hours
2. Safety, Sanitation and Sterilization 325 Hours
3. Hair Structure, Cutting and Cleansing 150 Hours
a. Taper Cuts
I. Freehand
II. Shear over comb
III. Clipper over comb
b. Style Cuts (to include blow drying)
c. Shampooing
4. Shaving, Beard and Mustache Trimming 50 Hours

For information on the specifications of the restricted barber educational course, click here.

If I am already enrolled in a restricted barber course which requires 1200 educational hours, can I apply for the restricted barber license if I have completed at least 600 hours of educational training?

You must contact your enrolled school of barbering for certification of hours prior to applying for the restricted barber license. The school has to certify that you have met the new requirements prior to applying for the restricted barber license.

I have completed at least 600 educational hours of training in a restricted barber course, but my school will not certify my hours, who should I contact?

You must contact your enrolled school of barbering for certification of educational training hours in order to meet the new requirements.

To file a complaint against a Florida authorized barber school, you may contact the Department of Education at 1.850.245.0509 (public), 1.850.245.0502 (private), or 1.888.224.6684 (toll free) or online at www.fldoe.org. You may also contact the Commission for Independent Education at 1.850.245.3200 or online at www.fldoe.org/cie for a list of independent schools, colleges and universities. Barbering schools are not regulated by the Barbers’ Board.

Can authorized barbering schools continue to offer restricted barbering courses with a minimum of 1200 educational hours?

Any school authorized to provide a restricted barbering course with a minimum of 1200 hours as of January 1, 2020, may continue to provide a restricted barbering course with a minimum of 1200 hours through December 31, 2020.

How do I make a personal name change on my license?

Requests for a name change should be directed to DBPR, Central Intake Unit, License Maintenance, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, Florida, 32399-0783. A name change must be submitted in writing along with a copy of the legal document granting the name change.

How can I find a list of barber schools in the State of Florida?

You may contact the Department of Education at 1.850.245.0509 (public), 1.850.245.0502 (private), or 1.888.224.6684 (toll free) or online at www.fldoe.org. You may contact the Commission for Independent Education at 1.850.245.3200 or online at www.fldoe.org/cie for a list of independent schools, colleges and universities.

How do I open a barbering school?

You may contact the Department of Education at 1.850.245.0509 (public), 1.850.245.0502 (private), or 1.888.224.6684 (toll free) or online at www.fldoe.org. You may contact the Commission for Independent Education at 1.850.245.3200 or online at www.fldoe.org/cie for a list of independent schools, colleges and universities. Barbering schools are not regulated by the barbers’ board.

How do I become a school instructor/teacher?

Barbering schools certify school instructors/teachers. You can search by county or institution online at www.fldoe.org/cie, on the left-hand side choose “School/College”. Instructors/teachers are not regulated by the Florida Barbers’ Board.

How can I obtain a barbershop license?

You must complete the barbershop application and pay the required application fee. After your barbershop license is issued, within approximately 90 days, an inspector will visit your shop unannounced for the initial inspection. You can open your barbershop when you receive the barbershop license. You do not need to wait to open until you are inspected.

How do I open a mobile barbershop?

In Florida, there is no license for a mobile barber shop.

I am moving to another state. How do I obtain a license certification?

You can verify your license to another state instantly by using DBPR’s Online Services. Create an online account or logon to your existing account at www.myfloridalicense.com. Select “Request License Certification” from the License Menu. Complete the online application and pay the $25 fee by credit card or electronic check. A copy of your license record will be created and emailed directly to the State Board selected during the transaction. Note: License certifications can only be sent to other State Boards using this method.

If you need to send certification of your license to multiple states you will repeat the instructions above and pay the required $25 application fee for each request.

You may mail your request for license certification to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Florida Barbers’ Board, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, Florida, 32399-0790. Your request should include your name, license number, which State Board you would like the certification to be mailed, and your payment of $25. Note: If you mail your request, please allow up to three weeks for processing

I mailed $25 and a request for license certification and was told by the Department it was mailed more than 30 days ago. I have yet to receive the requested document. What do I do?

Requests for a duplicate license certification must be submitted in writing. Please fax your request to 1.850-617.4456 or mail to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Florida Barbers’ Board, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, Florida, 32399-0790. We will research your request within seven business days. Note: License certifications are sent to other State Board’s and will not be mailed directly to the license holder.

My barbershop has moved. How do I make this change on my license?

A barbershop license is not a transferable document. If the location, ownership, or business name of the barbershop changes, you must submit a new barbershop application, pay the required application fee and surrender the old barbershop license.

Can I change my address online?

Yes. Visit our website at www.MyFloridaLicense.com > Online Services. You can also change your telephone number and email address here.

Your website provides for "main", "mailing", and "location" addresses. What are the differences?

Three types of addresses have been established to support your needs: main, license mailing, and license location. Main Address – This address is the primary address on file. License Mailing Address – This is the address where the mail associated with a particular license will be sent (if different from the main or license location addresses). License Location Address – This is the address where the place of business is physically located. An example of the use of different addresses: If Jane Doe is a contractor that works for ACME Builders, she may have 3 different addresses listed in her profile. Her main address would be the address of ACME Builders’ corporate headquarters. Her license mailing may be her home so she doesn’t have to visit the office to pick up her mail. Finally, her License Location would be the address of the ACME Builders’ local office where she works. If Jane Doe worked independently, she might have only one address on file (Main Address) as her office is the same place she wishes to receive her mail.

Can I change all license addresses online?

The main address and license mailing address can be changed online for all license types. License location addresses can also be changed online, except for Barbershops, Cosmetology Salons, Veterinary Establishments, and Talent Agencies. The location for these license types is tied to the license, so a location change will require submission of a new application.

How can I change my address if I do not have a computer?

You may submit the change in writing to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Central Intake Unit – License Maintenance, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783 or fax to 1.850.921.0038.

I have a criminal history. Will this keep me from getting a barber license?

Criminal history is reviewed on a case-by-case situation. Your application may require Board review. Your application cannot be pre-approved.

I received a notice of a hearing at the Board meeting. Do I have to appear?

No. Attendance is not required, however; it is in your best interest to attend.

I submitted a request for refund but have yet to receive a refund. What do I do?

Please allow up to three weeks for processing. For additional information, please contact the Bureau of Finance and Accounting Office at 1.850.487.2100.

I received notification that I could call and schedule my barber exam with Pearson VUE, but they say my information is not in their system. What do I do?

You should speak with someone in the Bureau of Education and Testing, Candidate Services.

My application was denied by the Board. What do I do now?

You will receive a Notice of Intent to Deny within 30 days of the meeting. The notice will provide details of why the application was denied and what steps you can take to request a hearing.

How can I obtain assistance on completing my application?

If you have questions or need assistance completing your application, please contact the Department’s Customer Contact Center at 1.850.487.1395.

Where do I mail the application?

Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Central Intake Unit, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783.

I need to speak to someone about the deficiency letter I received about my application?

Please contact the Department’s Customer Contact Center at 1.850.487.1395. If they are unable to assist you with your application questions, they will forward your request to the Central Intake Unit.

How do I renew my license?

Barbers and Restricted Barbers licenses expire July 31st every EVEN year.

Before midnight EST on the expiration date, you must have completed the continuing education requirements and submission of the renewal fee of $70.

DBPR will send an email notification that the renewal period is open, at which time you can renew your license(s). This e-mail notification will sent be 90 days prior to the license expiration  to the e-mail address on record. We encourage you to keep your information up-to-date and renew online. DBPR online services offer a quick and easy way to renew your license, find license requirements, apply for a license and update a license.

You may also return the renewal notice along with a check made payable to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0783. Please note that the license renewal will not be processed until your continuing education hours have been completed.

My Florida license is null and void. Can the license be reinstated?

A null and void license can be reinstated; however, you must complete a reinstate null and void application, pay the required application fee and provide an explanation of illness or economic hardship that prevented the renewal of your license.

How do I change the status on my license from active to inactive?

Please submit a written request to change the status of your license from active to inactive along with a $10 processing fee.

What are the continuing education requirements to renew my license?

You must complete a board-approved HIV/AIDS continuing education course as a condition of your license renewal. All continuing education HIV/AIDS courses must be completed from a Florida Barbers’ Board approved continuing education provider.

How may I obtain a list of board-approved continuing education providers and courses?

A list of board-approved HIV/AIDS continuing education providers and courses is available on the main page, CE Requirements.

I have a complaint about a barber or barbershop. Whom do I contact?

Contact the Department’s Customer Contact Center at 1.850.487.1395 or file a complaint online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com > File a Complaint.

I have a complaint about an unlicensed barber or barbershop. Whom do I contact?

Contact the Department’s toll-free unlicensed activity complaint line at 1.866.532.1440 or file a complaint online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com > File a Complaint.

I recently visited a barbershop that allowed smoking. Whom should I contact to lodge a complaint?

Please contact the Florida Department of Health at 1.800.337.3742 for assistance.

I need to speak to someone about an inspector that recently visited my shop?

You should speak with someone in the Division of Regulation, Bureau of Investigative Services

I need to speak to someone about a recent inspection of my shop?

You should speak with someone in the Division of Regulation, Bureau of Investigative Services.

I need to get a copy of the most recent inspection of my shop?

You should speak with someone in the Division of Regulation, Bureau of Investigative Services.

I need to speak directly to the inspector that recently came to my shop?

You should speak with someone in the Division of Regulation, Bureau of Investigative Services.

My license is suspended for failure to pay child support, but I paid my child support and my license should not be suspended?

Please contact the Department of Revenue at 1.800.622.5437. The suspension will be removed when we receive written notification from the Department of Revenue. For additional information, please contact the Division of Regulation.

I was issued a citation, but I cannot pay the entire citation at this time. Can I make a payment arrangement?

No. Payment plans for citations are not authorized. Please contact the Division of Regulation if you have further questions about citations.

I want to talk to someone about a citation that was recently issued against me or my shop?

You should speak with someone in the Division of Regulation, Bureau of Investigative Services.

I was told there was a case against me, and I do not know anything about it. What do I do now?

Please contact the Department’s Customer Contact Center at 1.850.487.1395 for instructions on how to request a copy of the disciplinary case or contact the General Counsel’s Office at 1.850.488.0062.

My license is suspended and I don’t know why?

Please contact the Department’s Customer Contact Center at 1.850.487.1395 for instructions on how to request a copy of the disciplinary case that resulted in the suspension of your license.

I paid my fine but my license is still suspended?

Please contact the Florida Barbers’ Board Office.

I need to speak to someone about a Final Order I received?

Please contact the Florida Barbers’ Board Office.

How do I pay my fine after it has been referred to a collection agency?

Once the case has been referred to either Municipal Services Bureau (MSB) or United Collections Bureau (UCB), you may no longer pay your fine directly to the Barbers’ Board. All inquiries and payments MUST be paid through the collection agency. Please contact MSB at 800.568.7004 or UCB at 866.209.0622. The collection agency will notify the Department that your fine has been paid. For additional information, please contact the Bureau of Finance and Accounting at 850.487.2100.

I need to speak to someone about a case that was referred to a collection agency?

Please contact Municipal Services Bureau at 800.568.7004 or United Collections Bureau at 866.209.0622. For additional information, please contact the Bureau of Finance and Accounting at 850.487.2100.

Can a barber work in a cosmetology salon or a cosmetologist work in a barbershop?

A licensed barber is allowed to work in a cosmetology salon as long as a licensed cosmetologist is also employed. A licensed cosmetologist is allowed to work in a barbershop as long as a licensed barber is also employed.

Can a cosmetology salon and a barbershop share the same office space and/or work out of the same location?

No. Only one business license can be issued per location.

I want to cut hair in a nursing home. What do I need to do?

There is a provision in the laws and rules allowing licensed barbers to perform barbering services on individuals residing in a nursing home and exempting these barbers from having to offer their services in the otherwise required licensed barbershops. The arrangements for barbers to offer their services in a nursing home must be made through a licensed barbershop and the information as to the name of the client and the address at which the services are to be performed shall be recorded in the appointment book which must remain at the barbershop and be made available upon request to any Department inspector.

What is the difference between a cosmetologist and a barber?

They can both perform hair and facial services. However, only a barber can shave the face and only a cosmetologist can wax and do nails.

I have a cosmetology license. Is there a shortened path for becoming a barber?

You should attend a Florida school for evaluation of your cosmetology hours. The school is able to assess what you need to meet the barber requirements, and they are required to sign off on your application for licensure.

Can I have an animal in my barbershop?

No. Animals are not permitted inside a barbershop, with the exception of closed aquariums or service animals.

My state only required 1,000 hours, but I have worked as a barber for 30 years. Am I eligible for licensure by endorsement?

No. Florida laws do not allow us to consider experience. If your license is active and has been active for at least one year, you are eligible to sit for the exam.

What services can a restricted barber perform?

As a restricted barber you are authorized to perform haircuts and styles, including the application of hair tonics and hair spray. A restricted barber is allowed to perform full facial shaves; mustache and beard trimming; shampooing, conditioning and blow drying hair; and scalp treatments and facials. A restricted barber is not allowed to apply any other chemical preparations or solutions to the hair.

Am I allowed to perform manicure/nail services with my barber’s license?

No. Barbers are not allowed to perform these services. However, the service of cutting, trimming, polishing or cleansing the natural fingernail can be performed by a licensed barber who was licensed prior to October 1, 1985.

I received a letter that I have a bad check on file with the Department. What do I do now?

You need to contact the Department’s Customer Contact Center at 1.850.487.1395 or the Bureau of Finance and Accounting Office at 1.850.487.2100.

I paid the bad check I had on file with the Department and would like my application processed. What do I do now?

You need to contact the Department’s Customer Contact Center at 1.850.487.1395, and they will notify the processing department that the bad check has been paid.

Can a barbershop serve complimentary alcoholic drinks?

Please contact the Division of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco.

I received a self-inspection notice for my shop. What do I need to do?

Please refer to the Division of Regulation’s FAQ’s on self-inspections for guidance.

Need Help?

All requests for publications, documents, forms, applications for licenses, permits and other similar certifications can be obtained by contacting the Customer Contact Center.

Division of Professions
Barbers' Board
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0791

Telephone: 850.487.1395
Facsimile: 850.488.8040