On June 30, 2020, Governor Ron DeSantis signed “The Occupational Freedom and Opportunity Act” (HB 1193) which eliminates unnecessary regulations and reduces barriers to entry for certain professions. Effective January 1, 2021, the prelicensure hours required for barber license has been lowered to 900 hours. For more information, click here.
Governor DeSantis lifts Emergency Restrictions on Barbershops and Cosmetology Salons
Governor DeSantis issued Executive Order 20-244 on September 25, 2020, effectively putting Florida on Phase 3 of the COVID recovery effort and removing previous restrictions for barbershops and cosmetology salons; including appointment requirements, a ban on group appointments, and restrictions for waiting areas. Standard safety and sanitation requirements pursuant to statute and rule are still in effect. Barbershops and cosmetology salons should contact their local governments to determine if any mask requirements that meet the requirements of Executive Order 20-244 are in effect.
On June 30, 2020, Governor Ron DeSantis signed “The Occupational Freedom and Opportunity Act” (HB 1193) which eliminates unnecessary regulations and reduces barriers to entry for certain professions. Effective July 1, 2020, endorsement applicants who hold a current and active license to practice barbering in another state will not be required to take the Florida Barber exam or meet Florida’s educational requirements.
Executive Order 20-120: Expanding Phase 1: Safe. Smart. Step-by-Step. Plan for Florida’s Recovery
Executive Order 20-120 extends Executive Order 20-112 with the modification of including Palm Beach County in the phase one recovery plan. The Order also authorizes persons in Florida to provide or obtain barber and cosmetology services in licensed establishments that adopt appropriate social distancing and precautionary measures as outlined by the Department of Business and Professional Regulation. For details related to required and recommended precautionary measures pursuant to this Order, please see the Additional Information for Barbershops and Cosmetology Salons and the FAQs for Executive Order 20-120.
The pre-licensure hours required for restricted barber license has been lowered to 600 hours, effective January 1, 2020.
61G3-16.006 – RESTRICTED BARBER LICENSE
On October 13, 2019, the Florida Barbers’ Board voted on and approved the decrease of the restricted barber educational hours to, at a minimum, 600 hours of training. All restricted barber courses which are taught for the purpose of qualifying an individual for restricted barber license to practice restricted barbering shall be specified as below:
|1. Florida Laws and Rules||75 Hours|
|2. Safety, Sanitation and Sterilization||325 Hours|
|3. Hair Structure, Cutting and Cleansing||150 Hours|
|a. Taper Cuts|
|II. Shear over comb|
|III. Clipper over comb|
|b. Style Cuts (to include blow drying)|
|4. Shaving, Beard and Mustache Trimming||50 Hours|
61G3-16.006(1)(c), F.A.C. states “Any school authorized to provide a restricted barbering course with a minimum of 1200 hours as of January 1, 2020, may continue to provide a restricted barber course with a minimum of 1200 hours through December 31, 2020. This paragraph (c) shall become null and void and be of no effect on January 1, 2021.”
The approved change to the restricted barber educational hours will become effective January 1, 2020.
Paperless Licensing, effective 07/08/2019
The Department of Business and Professional Regulation is excited to announce an advancement in how we license barbers in the State of Florida.
The Department has implemented an innovative way to expedite the licensing process for barbers and barbershops. The Department will no longer be mailing licenses upon issuance, as licensees can now print their licenses by logging into their secure online account with the Department. This will allow new licensees to enter the work force at least 7 to 10 business days early, whereas, in the past, they would have to wait for the license to arrive in the mail. In addition to new licenses, this process will allow licensees to renew online and print the license at their convenience, as well as print duplicate licenses as needed without paying a fee.
On April 7, 2019, the Florida Barbers’ Board voted to decrease the restricted barber educational hours to 500. The Board will host a meeting in Celebration on Monday, May 6, 2019, beginning at 9 a.m., to discuss the curriculum make-up of the 500 educational hours. This is a public meeting. Any interested parties are invited to attend and participate. The meeting location is Bohemian Hotel Celebration, 700 Bloom Street, Celebration, Florida, 34747, phone number – 407.566.6000.
The Department of Business and Professional Regulation and the Barbers’ Board recently approved a permanent reduction in all renewal fees. Barbershops will see a 30 percent reduction in fees beginning with the renewal period ending November 30, 2016. Barbers and restricted barbers will see a 30 percent reduction in fees beginning with the renewal period ending July 31, 2018.
The Barbers’ Board recently updated the barbershop licensure application. Please read the instructions to ensure that you have completed the application correctly. The mailing address is where the license will be mailed and where correspondence from the Department will be mailed. The business location address is the actual address of the barbershop.
Verify your license to another state quickly and easily by using DBPR’s Online Services.
- Logon to your existing account or create a new account at www.myfloridalicense.com.
- Select “Request License Certification” from the License Menu.
- Complete the online application and pay the $25 fee by credit card or electronic check.
A copy of your license record will be created and emailed directly to the State Board selected during the transaction.
Note: License certifications can only be sent to other State Boards using this method.
A printable law book is now available, on the Statutes and Rules page.
All requests for publications, documents, forms, applications for licenses, permits and other similar certifications can be obtained by contacting the Customer Contact Center.
Division of Professions
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0791