Boxing Commission - FAQs

What are the functions of the Florida State Boxing Commission?

The functions of the Florida State Boxing Commission are to license and regulate professional boxing, kickboxing and mixed martial arts and amateur sanction organizations within the State of Florida.

What are the statutes and rules that govern professional boxing, kickboxing and mixed martial arts?

Chapter 548, Florida Statutes and Rule 61K-1, Florida Administrative Code.

What are the licensure requirements to become a professional boxing, kickboxing and mixed martial arts participant?

No person shall act as a professional fighter (participant) in any boxing, kickboxing or mixed martial arts event without having first obtained a participant license. To obtain a license, a participant must:

  • Submit an application for licensure along with an application fee of $25.00
  • Be 18 years or older
  • Not have been convicted of a crime of moral turpitude within the past 10 years.
  • Prior to participating in a match, each pro debut participant must complete a pro debut form and provide proof of at least five amateur fights.
What are the medical requirements for a professional boxing, kickboxing and mixed participant?
  • A participant must pass a pre-match physical
  • Negative hepatitis B surface antigen test performed within the last year
  • Negative hepatitis C antibody test performed within the last year
  • Negative HIV test performed within the last year
  • Dilated eye examination performed within the last year (performed by an Ophthalmologist or Optometrist)
  • Female fighters are required to provide a negative pregnancy test performed within the last 30 days.
  • In addition to the above, participants over 40 are required to provide a normal EKG performed within the last year, a normal MRI of the brain performed within the last year, a physical exam and a letter from the physician stating that the participant is physically fit to compete.
Can I obtain a boxing, kickboxing and mixed martial arts license at the weigh-in?

You may obtain a license at the weigh-in as long as you provide the required documents and meet the medical requirements.

How can I get an Association of Boxing Commissions (ABC) boxer’s federal identification card if I live in Florida?

You must complete the ABC Boxer’s Federal Identification Card application located on the Commission’s webpage. Mail the completed application along with proof of residency in Florida and a federal issued ID picture to the Florida Boxing Commission, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee FL 32399. There is no charge for first time applicants. Lost Federal ID’s will result in a $15.00 replacement fee.

Can I get an ABC boxer’s federal identification card if I live in another state?

To be issued a Federal identification card in Florida, you must be a Florida-resident or a foreign-based participant who will be participating in Florida.

How can I get an ABC national mixed martial arts federal identification card if I live in Florida?

You must complete the ABC National Mixed Martial Arts Federal Identification Card application located on the Commission’s webpage. Mail the completed application along with two passport type photos and a copy of one form of identification to the Florida Boxing Commission, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee FL 32399. Accepted forms of identification will include, but not limited to drivers’ license, passport or state/province issued identification. There is a charge of $25.00 for applicants. Renewals or lost Federal identification cards will result in a $25.00 fee.

How do I obtain a promoter license from the Florida State Boxing Commission?

No person shall act as a promoter without having first obtained a promoter license. To obtain a license, a promoter must submit an application along with an application fee of $250.00. Prior to being issued a license, a promoter must deposit with the Commission a surety bond, cash, or certified check in the amount of $15,000. If you plan on becoming licensed under your business name, an application is required for each officer of the corporation, member of the limited liability company or partner of the partnership. The application fee of $250.00 will cover the officer(s) license application. A separate application and fee must be submitted for each sport.

How do I schedule a professional boxing, kickboxing and mixed martial arts event?

In order to promote a live event, a licensed promoter will need to submit an Application for Live Event Permit. The application can be found on the Commission’s webpage. The permit fee for a professional match is $1,800 per event. When submitting the Application for Live Event Permit, the promoter must identify a Florida-licensed matchmaker for the proposed event. Permit applications are subject to review and approval by the Commission. You must submit the permit application to the Commission at Florida State Boxing Commission, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee FL 32399.

Who schedules the weigh-in for a professional boxing, kickboxing and mixed martial arts event?

The event promoter is responsible for scheduling the weigh-in. The promoter shall identify the time and place of the weigh-in on the application for Live Event Permit.

What are the promoter’s responsibilities during the weigh-in for a professional boxing, kickboxing and mixed martial arts event?

The promoter must provide and schedule the following:

  • Attendance by all participants (including seconds, trainers, etc.)
  • A quiet, clean and separated area for the purpose of pre-bout medical examinations by the ringside physicians. Each physician should be afforded a table with two chairs for their examination purposes.
  • A table with good lighting for the Commission staff to perform administrative tasks.
  • Adequate seating and tables for participants and their trainers/seconds.
  • The promoter is responsible for providing evidence of insurance coverage to the Commission no later than the date of the weigh-in.
    • Minimum of $20,000 per participant for medical, surgical and hospital care for injuries sustained while engaged in a match.
    • Minimum of $20,000 per participant for life insurance covering death caused by injuries received while engaged in a match.
    • Any deductible associated with the policy is the responsibility of the promoter.
  • Executed copies of the Letters of Agreement between Promoter and Participant for each fighter. Maximum weight provisions must match for each pairing of opponents on the contracts/agreement.
  • The appropriate number of “all access” credentials clearly indicating “Florida State Boxing Commission” or “Commission.”
  • For boxing or kickboxing events; fighters come prepared with their ABC boxer’s federal identification cards and another form of government-issued picture identification.
  • For mixed martial arts events; fighters come prepared with their national mixed martial arts identification cards and another form of government-issued picture identification.
What is the deadline for submitting medical records and proposed fight card for a professional boxing, kickboxing and mixed martial arts event?

Matchmakers must submit a proposed bout sheet at least ten days in advance of the date of the proposed event. In addition, Matchmakers must submit the participants’ official records. For boxing participants, the fighter records must be obtained from Fight Fax, Inc. For MMA and Kickboxing participants, the fighter records must be obtained from MMA.TV. All matchmakers for mixed martial arts or kickboxing event must post the proposed bout sheet to MMA.TV.

What emergency equipment and personnel are required for a professional boxing, kickboxing and mixed martial arts event?

Ring seating configurations should account for the requirement to have an unobstructed, clear path to the ring for emergency purposes. This path should be wide enough to allow paramedics access to the ring with an ambulance stretcher and any necessary medical equipment. The following emergency medical equipment and personnel must be in place at all times during the event:

  • Medical attendants will be placed by the Executive Director or Assistant Executive Director and will report to him or her before the start of the event.
  • An ambulance with two qualified attendants (EMT or Paramedics);
  • A portable resuscitator with all additional equipment necessary for its operation;
  • Portable oxygen supply (to be kept at the Commission table/ringside and one in each dressing room, total of three required).
  • A clean stretcher and clean blanket (to be located along with the ambulance attendants, at a location determined by the Commission).

No match shall begin or continue unless such personnel and equipment are on the premises in a state of readiness. Arrangements should be made to allow the ambulance to park as close to the building as possible with easy access to the main floor/ring. The service entrance is ideal for ambulance parking. Emergency transport must be permanently on-site during the event. The Commission will not allow emergency transportation to be on-call. If the ambulance needs to leave for another call, the event will be stopped until such time another ambulance is on-site.

What are the food and beverage requirements for a professional boxing, kickboxing and mixed martial arts event?

All food and beverages must be dispensed in paper or plastic plates or cups. Only plastic utensils may be used. Cans, glass bottles or plates and metal utensils are prohibited. Box seating or membership areas that are not a part of the main floor or stadium seating are exempt from this as long as precautions are taken to restrict the glass or metal objects in the prohibited areas. These requirements are true whether the concessions are handled directly by the promoter, the venue or subcontracted to a separate vendor. Upon failure to meet these requirements, the Commission will look to the licensed promoter for compliance.

What are the ring layout and other miscellaneous requirements for a professional boxing, kickboxing and mixed martial arts event?
  • Commission table should always be opposite the primary television camera, if the event is televised.
  • There should be three sets of stairs for access to the ring (one set in each blue and red corner and another set in a neutral corner).
  • Electrical power (110-V) should be provided on two sides of the ring, these include at the position of the timekeeper and the official Commission table at ringside.
  • Person(s) capable of making emergency repairs and adjustments to the ring, lights and other necessary fixtures must be available at all times during the progress of an event.
  • A public address system with a microphone available for use at ringside.
  • Three chairs for each participant’s corner (four chairs are allowed for a title fight).
  • Three stools (counter/bar height) for judges at ringside with an unobstructed view.
  • Spit bucket and three clean towels for each participant’s corner.
  • Complete set of numbered round cards; size must be legible from all parts of the arena.
Who assigns and schedules officials for a professional boxing, kickboxing and mixed martial arts event?

The Commission will assign and schedule the referees, judges, and ringside physicians (officials). It is the responsibility of the promoter to pay the fees and associated travel expenses for the officials. If a hotel room, air travel or a car rental is required for an official, the Commission will notify the promoter to make reservations. A typical- event has two referees, four judges and two ringside physicians. The standard fees associated with non-title fights are $150 per referee, $125 per judge, and $600 per ringside physician. The fees for title fights and televised fights are $300 per referee, $250 per judge, and $600 per ringside physician.

How do I advertise a professional boxing, kickboxing and mixed martial arts event?

Bouts may be advertised once approved by the Commission. Any bouts not yet approved may be advertised as a certain fighter being featured on the fight card. For example, if John Smith is approved to fight John Doe, then Smith vs. Doe can be advertised. However, assume the same fight is not yet approved by the Commission. In this case, “featuring John Doe” may be advertised. Should tickets be purchased while relying on erroneous advertising, the consumer is entitled to a refund under Florida law. If you have questions about bout approval contact the Commission.

Can a promoter be licensed by the Florida State Boxing Commission as a manager?

No manager will be licensed as a promoter and shall not act as a promoter. A manager may be licensed as a promoter if the licenses are held in different sports, and participants under contract to the manager are not also being promoted by the same licensee within the same sport.

How do I become licensed by the Florida State Boxing Commission as a referee, judge or ringside physician?

No person shall act as a referee, judge or ringside physician without having first obtained a license. You are required to submit an application along with a non-refundable application fee (see below for a list of fees).

Applicants for a referee license are issued a temporary certificate and must officiate at the discretion of the Executive Director or Assistant Executive Director for observation purposes. In addition, referees must submit results of a well body physical from a physician, stating that you are able to perform the duties of a professional referee.

Applicants for a judge license are issued a temporary certificate and are required to unofficially score for observation purposes. For boxing and kickboxing, applicants must score a minimum of 350 rounds and unofficially score for a minimum of 18 months. For mixed martial arts, applicants must unofficially score for a time determined by the Executive Director or the Assistant Executive Director but in no event more than 100 rounds and 18 months.

 

How often do I reapply to the Florida State Boxing Commission for my license?

All licenses expire each year on December 31st. You are required to submit a new application, any required documents and fee to the Commission office.

How can I get a list of all of the participants licensed by the Florida State Boxing Commission?

You may contact the Commission at 850.488.8500 or e-mail us with your request. The e-mail address is Florida.Boxing@myfloridalicense.com.

Is there a penalty for being late to the weigh-in at a professional boxing, kickboxing and mixed martial arts event?

The Commission representative may issue a citation to any fighter arriving more than one-half hour late to a weigh-in.

When do I file a management contract with the Florida State Boxing Commission?

All manager/participant contracts shall be filed with the Commission within ten (10) days of execution and no less than seven (7) days prior to a scheduled event.

Can I cancel my surety bond or request a refund of my security with the Florida State Boxing Commission?

A promoter may not cancel a surety bond while the promoter has an active license. In addition, the surety bond may not be canceled before 90 calendar days have elapsed since the promoter’s most recent event. The surety company must provide the Commission with at least a 60-day notice prior to cancellation.

In addition to the above restrictions, security deposited with the Commission in lieu of the surety bond will not be returned to the promoter until a period of one year has elapsed since it was deposited.

How do I become an amateur sanctioning organization approved by the Florida State Boxing Commission?
  • Complete an “Application for Approval: Amateur Sanctioning Organization”
  • Submit the application with related documentation which includes handbook of rules and standards of your organization.
  • Complete applications will be presented to the Florida State Boxing Commission for approval or denial.

Need Help?

All requests for publications, documents, forms, applications for licenses, permits and other similar certifications can be obtained by contacting the Commission.

Patrick Cunningham, Executive Director
Timothy L. Shipman, Assistant Executive Director

Florida State Boxing Commission
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1016

Media Inquiries: 850.922.8981
Telephone: 850.488.8500
Facsimile: 850.922.2249