What are the functions of the Building Code Administrators and Inspectors Board?
The Building Code Administrators and Inspectors Board regulates the practice of building code administration and inspections.
What are the statutes and rules that govern the Building Code Administrators and Inspectors Board?
Chapter 468, Part XII, of the Florida Statutes, and Rule 61G19, of the Florida Administrative Code
Where can I obtain the laws and rules of the Board?
The laws and rules may be obtained on the Board’s website, Statutes and Rules. If you need further assistance, you may call the Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395.
When and where is the next board meeting?
The dates and locations are available on the main page, Board Meeting Information.
Where can I obtain a copy of the board meeting agenda or past meeting minutes?
Agendas and minutes are available on the main page, Board Meeting Information.
What are the requirements to become an inspector or plans examiner?
In order to take the examination for an inspector or plans examiner license, you must be at least 18 years of age and be of good moral character. You must also comply with one of the eligibility requirements here.
What are the requirements to become a building code administrator?
In order to take the examination for a Building Code Administrator’s license, you must be at least 18 years of age and be of good moral character. You must also comply with one of the following eligibility requirements:
In order to qualify as a building code administrator, you must:
- prove a minimum of ten (10) years of experience as an architect, engineer, plans examiner, building code inspector, registered or certified contractor, or construction superintendent, with at least five (5) years of such experience in a supervisory capacity; or
- demonstrate a combination of post-secondary education in the field of construction or related field, no more than five (5) years being applied, and experience as an architect, engineer, plans examiner, building code inspector, registered or certified contractor, or construction superintendent which totals ten (10) years, with at least five (5) years of such total being experience in supervisory positions. The applicant must also have completed board-approved training consisting of at least twenty (20) hours, but not more than thirty (30) hours, of instruction in state laws, rules, and ethics relating to the professional standards of practice, duties and responsibilities of a certificate holder.
If you are licensed by the Building Code Administrators and Inspectors Board, you have maintained an active license, continuous employment and continuing education, you will not be required to take the Florida Principles and Practice examination again in order to receive a license or add an additional category of licensure.
If you are applying for Certification by Endorsement by holding a valid building administrator, inspector, plans examiner, or the equivalent, certification issued by another state or territory of the United States for at least 10 years before the date of application; and has successfully passed an applicable examination administered by the International Code Council. Such application must be made either when the license in another state or territory is active or within 2 years after such license was last active.
What is a Standard Inspector?
A Standard Inspector is an individual who holds a standard inspector’s license in the respective category (building, mechanical, coastal construction, plumbing, electrical and residential). It is the responsibility of the inspector to conduct inspections of construction, alterations, repair, remodeling or demolition of structures and the installation of building systems, when permits are required to ensure compliance with the Florida Building Code and public safety. The inspector must perform his or her task and/or duties under the direction of a Building Code Administrator or Building Official.
What is a Standard Plans Examiner?
A Standard Plans Examiner is a person qualified to determine that plans submitted for purposes of obtaining building and other permits comply with the applicable building, plumbing, mechanical, and electrical, gas, fire prevention, energy, accessibility and other construction codes.
What is a Building Code Administrator?
The term “Building Code Administrator” or “Building Official” refers to any of those employees of municipal or county governments with building construction regulation responsibilities who are charged with responsibility for direct regulatory administration or supervision of plan review, enforcement, or inspection of building construction, erection, repair, addition, remodeling, demolition, or alteration projects that require permitting indicating compliance with building, plumbing, mechanical, electrical, gas, fire prevention, energy, accessibility, and other construction codes as required by state law or municipal or county ordinance.
Are there different levels of inspectors?
Do I need to complete a separate application for each license category, and must I complete and verify my work experience in each category requested?
Yes, you must submit a completed application form indicating the category in which certification is sought. You must submit attestations for each separate period of work experience, which have been prepared and signed by an Architect, Engineer, Contractor, Fire Marshal, or Building Code Administrator who has knowledge of your duties and responsibilities during the period indicated in the attestation.
If you are seeking your first standard license by possessing two years of experience in the field of construction, building code inspection, plan review, fire plans review of new building as a firesafety inspector by completing a board-approved cross-training program, attestations of work experience are not required to be submitted with your application to the Department.
Can I submit a copy of a previous application?
Yes, you may submit a copy of a previous application providing that it is the current version of the application form. The current version of the application is available on the main page, Apply For A License. In addition, experience and employment information must be updated on the application.
When are the examinations administered?
Pearson VUE is the vendor that administers the Principles and Practice examination. They have multiple test centers in Florida. A list of Pearson VUE test centers is located on the main page, Apply For A License.
For technical exams, ICC has two testing methods – computer-based testing through Pearson VUE or remote location testing through PRONTO. Once approved to take a technical exam, you will receive notification from ICC on how to schedule your exam.
Do I have to take the Florida Principles and Practice examination again if it has been over two (2) years since I passed this examination?
No, you are only required to take and pass the Florida Principles and Practice examination one time. However, you must maintain a current, active license; keep your continuing education current; and have been continuously employed in one licensure category.
Are preparatory courses or study aids available for the technical examination and the Florida Principles and Practice examination?
Yes, the International Code Council (ICC) offers preparatory courses for the technical examinations. You may contact the ICC at www.iccsafe.org or 1.888.422.7233. Study aids for the Florida Principles and Practice examination are available through the Building Officials Association of Florida (BOAF). You may contact BOAF at www.boaf.net or 407.804.1001.
Can I take the Florida Principles and Practice examination prior to being approved by the board?
No, you must be approved by the Board to take the Florida Principles and Practice examination.
Do I need to complete a separate Florida Principles and Practice examination for each category I apply for?
Is the Florida Principles and Practice examination the only examination required?
No, applicants are required to pass a technical examination for the respective professional category in which they are applying for licensure.
How can I obtain a copy of the Candidate Information Booklet (CIB)?
The CIB is a reference manual for the Florida Principles and Practice examination and is mailed by the testing vendor to those examination applicants who are approved by the Board and scheduled for the Florida Principles and Practice examination. The CIB is also available on the main page, Apply For A License.
If I am a licensed Florida engineer, am I exempt from licensure under the Building Code Administrators and Inspectors Board?
No, unless the work you are performing is incidental to your job as an Engineer
I have just failed the examination. Where should I send my re-examination form?
City and county employees who have failed the technical examination may reschedule their re-examination directly with the International Code Council (ICC) at 888-422-7233 and press 0 or via fax at 205.599.9871
City and county employees who have failed the Florida Principles and Practice examination may reschedule their re-examination directly with the Department’s testing vendor, Pearson VUE at 888-204-6230 or e-mail at www.pearsonvue.com.
Persons who are not city or county employees must send their re-examination form (BCAIB – 8) and a check or money order in the amount of $6.25 payable to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Central Intake Unit, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, Florida, 32399-0783. The form is also available on the main page, Apply For A License.
Can I change my address online?
Yes. Visit our website at www.MyFloridaLicense.com > Online Services. You can also change your telephone number and email address here.
Your website provides for "main", "mailing", and "location" addresses. What are the differences?
Three types of addresses have been established to support your needs: main, license mailing, and license location.
Main Address – This address is the primary address on file.
License Mailing Address – This is the address where the mail associated with a particular license will be sent (if different from the main or license location addresses).
License Location Address – This is the address where the place of business is physically located. An example of the use of different addresses: If Jane Doe is a contractor that works for ACME Builders, she may have 3 different addresses listed in her profile. Her main address would be the address of ACME Builders’ corporate headquarters. Her license mailing may be her home so she doesn’t have to visit the office to pick up her mail. Finally, her License Location would be the address of the ACME Builders’ local office where she works. If Jane Doe worked independently, she might have only one address on file (Main Address) as her office is the same place she wishes to receive her mail.
How can I change my address if I do not have a computer?
You may submit the change in writing or by fax to:
Department of Business and Professional Regulation
Central Intake Unit – License Maintenance
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783
Can I change all license addresses online?
The main address and license mailing address can be changed online for all license types. License location addresses can also be changed online, except for Barbershops, Cosmetology Salons, Veterinary Establishments, and Talent Agencies. The location for these license types is tied to the license, so a location change will require submission of a new application.
How do I request a certification of my license?
You can verify your license to another state by using DBPR’s Online Services. Create an online account or logon to your existing account at www.myfloridalicense.com. Select “Request License Certification” from the License Menu. Complete the online application and pay the $25 fee by credit card or electronic check. A copy of your license record will be created and mailed by U.S. mail directly to the address you provide during the transaction. Please allow 10 business days for the other state to receive the document. You will also receive an email copy of the certification for your records.
If you need to send certification of your license to multiple states you will repeat the instructions above and pay the required $25 application fee for each request.
What is a provisional license?
A provisional certificate or license is a certification that is issued to employees once they have made application to the Department and been approved by the Board. Individuals applying for a provisional building code administrator license must be newly hired or promoted to the position. This same requirement is no longer necessary for those individuals applying for a provisional inspector or plans examiner license. Individuals enrolled in a board-approved internship certification program may apply for a provisional license.
Can a provisional license be renewed?
Only if approved by the Board.
How long is a Provisional Certificate valid?
As of July 1, 2020, all provisional certificates issued by the Building Code Administrators and Inspectors Board are valid for two (2) years.
If the provisional license expires, can the person continue to work if he/she has applied for the standard license?
No, once the license expires, the individual must stop working until they are issued a standard license.
Is there anything similar to working under the direct supervision of a licensed person in the case of an expired provisional license?
No, they would have to obtain the standard license in order to work.
May I work prior to licensure if I have applied for a provisional license?
If you are working as a plans examiner or inspector with an agency of government, you may work for up to 120 days following the submission of your completed application for a provisional license. You must work under the direct supervision of a certified Building Code Administrator who holds a standard license. You may not work as a Provisional Building Code Administrator pending approval of your application.
May I transfer from one jurisdiction to another with a provisional license?
What are the voluntary certification categories?
The voluntary certification categories are Residential Pool Inspector, Commercial Pool Inspector, Roofing Inspector, Modular Inspector, Modular Plans Examiner, and Residential Plans Examiner.
How do I obtain information regarding these categories?
The requirements for each category are defined in Rule 61G19-6.016, Florida Administrative Code, as each one has different requirements. You may access the rule on the main page, Statutes and Rules.
How do I apply for the license?
You must submit an application to the Department. The application is available on the main page, Apply For A License.
Do I have to hold a standard certification in order to apply for the voluntary license?
No, unless there is a specific requirement in the rule.
Who can enter an internship certification program?
Any municipality, county, governmental jurisdiction or private provider or firms of private providers which has a board-approved internship certification program may employ an individual in a full-time capacity as an intern. The individual must be under the direct supervision of a certified building official.
What is the length of an internship certification program?
The employing municipality, county, governmental jurisdiction or private provider or firms of private providers determines the length of the internship certification program for each individual, from one to four years. The employing agency may consider related vocational degrees or college degrees, as well as verifiable work experience, when determining the length of the internship certification program, but the program may not be less than one year or greater than four years.
When am I required to take the exams?
The technical examination must be passed prior to entering an internship certification program and the Principles and Practice examination must be completed prior to completion of the program.
Can I obtain a provisional license while enrolled in an internship certification program?
Yes, individuals may seek a provisional license upon entry into an internship certification program. The form to apply for the provisional license is DBPR BCAIB 3.
At what point should I apply for a standard license while enrolled in an internship certification program?
At least 30 days, but not more than 60 days, prior to the completion of an internship certification program, individuals must apply for standard certification on form DBPR BCAIB 1.
What documentation must be submitted with the application for standard certification to the board?
Along with the application, the following documentation must be provided: proof of completion of the board-approved internship certification program, proof of completion of the board-approved 40-hour code training course in the category sought, and a favorable recommendation on jurisdictional, private provider, or firms of the private provider letterhead from the supervising building official.
How long must I wait to obtain another license through an internship certification program?
If you hold a standard license as a building inspector, mechanical inspectors, electrical inspector, plumbing inspector, building plans examiner, mechanical plans examiner, electrical plans examiner, or a plumbing plans examiner, you may seek an additional certification in another of these categories by completing an additional non concurrent one year internship certification program which has been approved by the board. You must also pass the ICC technical examination in the category sought prior to entering the internship certification program, complete a board-approved 40-hour code training course in the category sought, and document at least 200 hours of on-the-job training over the one year internship period while under the supervision of a standard certified inspector or plans examiner in the trade sought.
My jurisdiction, private provider, or firms of the private provider is interested in offering an internship certification program. What is required?
Any jurisdiction, private provider, or firms of the private provider interested in offering an internship certification program should complete form DBPR BCAIB 5 and provide the information as outlined in the application form.
What is required to offer the 40-hour code training course, which is a required component of the internship certification program?
Any entity interested in providing the board-approved 40-hour code training course should complete form DBPR BCAIB 7 and provide the information as outlined in the application form.
How long must internship certification program providers and 40-hour code training course providers maintain their program/training records?
All records must be maintained for at least seven years from the date the program/training was offered.
Is there an internship program for Residential Inspector?
No, an internship certification program is only offered to building, electrical, plumbing, and mechanical inspectors and plans examiners.
How can I obtain assistance on completing my application?
If you have any questions or need assistance completing the application, please contact the Department’s Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395.
Where do I mail my application?
Department of Business and Professional Regulation
Central Intake Unit
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783
Where can I find the application?
Board forms are accessible on the main page, Apply For A License.
What are the fees associated with licensure?
There are no application/examination/renewal fees for government employees; however, a $5 unlicensed activity fee is required per certification. Non-government employees must pay a $25 application fee, a $31.25 examination fee, a $25 certification fee and a $5 unlicensed activity fee. The reexamination fee is $6.25.
What is the application fee for a provisional license?
There are no application fees for government employees; however, a $5 unlicensed activity fee is required per license for the provisional certificate only or $10 for the provisional certificate and also applying to take the certification exam.
The application fee for non-governmental employees is $55 for the provisional certificate only or $86.25 for the provisional certificate and also applying to take the certification exam.
Can an applicant self-certify the work experience affidavit?
Yes, as long as they are licensed as a building code administrator, licensed contractor, licensed fire marshal, licensed architect or licensed engineer.
How often do I have to renew my license?
Licenses expire November 30 of odd-numbered years with the exception of provisional licenses, which expire one year after the original issuance date.
Will I receive a reminder or form in the mail regarding renewal?
DBPR will send you a notification that the renewal period is open, at which time you can renew your license(s). This will be 90-120 days before the expiration. All notices will be provided via email. We encourage you to keep your information up-to-date and renew online. DBPR online services offer a quick and easy way to renew your license, find license requirements, apply for a license and update a license.
What are the renewal fees?
The renewal fee for government or non-government employees is $5 per biennial renewal period.
My license is inactive. I would like to return to active status, what do I do?
You must submit a written request to reactivate the license, $5 per inactive license, and provide proof of 14 hours of continuing education for the last renewal cycle.
How do I place my license in inactive status?
You may request to place your license in an inactive status by noting your request on the renewal notice at the time of renewal and paying the required $5 fee. You will still be required to provide proof of 14 hours of continuing education for the last renewal cycle once you decide to reactivate your license.
My license is null and void. What is required to become licensed again?
You must reapply with a new application and all of the required documentation. You must meet the current eligibility requirements. You may obtain application forms on the main page, Manage My License.
Are there any exceptions?
You can petition for reinstatement of a null and void license based upon illness or economic hardship.
What are the continuing education requirements?
Licensees are required to obtain 14 hours of approved continuing education every two years. Of the 14 hours:
- Two Hours of energy conservation
- One hour in the area of accessibility
- Two hours in the area of Florida laws and rules (other than accessibility and ethics)
- One hour in the area of ethics
If you were initially licensed with less than 12 months prior to your first renewal, no continuing education is required. If you have been licensed more than 12 months prior to your first renewal, seven hours of continuing education is required which shall include a minimum of one hour in the area of accessibility. The renewal date for all licensees is November 30th of odd years.
All continuing education courses must be approved by the Building Code Administrators and Inspectors Board, the Construction Industry Licensing Board, the Electrical Contractors’ Licensing Board, or the Board of Architecture and Interior Design. A list of approved continuing education providers and courses is available on the main page, CE Requirements.
Are provisional licensees required to obtain continuing education hours?
No, continuing education is not required.
Whom do I contact for a schedule of accessibility courses?
You may contact the Florida Building Commission at 850.487.1824 or www.MyFloridaLicense.com > Businesses & Professions > Building Codes & Standards for information on accessibility courses.
I have a complaint about a Building Inspector, Plans Examiner or Building Code Administrator. Whom do I contact?
Contact the Department’s Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395 or file a complaint online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com > File a Complaint.
I have a complaint about an unlicensed Building Inspector, Plans Examiner or Building Code Administrator. Whom do I contact?
Contact the Department’s toll-free Unlicensed Activity Complaint Line at 1.866.532.1440 or file a complaint online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com > File a Complaint.
Do I need to be state certified to be a Threshold Inspector?
Please contact the Board of Architecture and Interior Design (BOAID) for information regarding this certification. You may obtain additional information regarding BOAID at www.MyFloridaLicense.com > Businesses & Professions > Architecture and Interior Design.
How can I become certified as a Home Inspector?
Information on Home Inspectors can be found at www.MyFloridaLicense.com > Businesses & Professions > Home Inspectors.
Where can I get information about the current building codes?
You may contact the Florida Building Commission at www.MyFloridaLicense.com > Businesses & Professions > Building Codes & Standards or 850.487.1824.
My address is marked private on the board website. Why?
According to Section 119.071(4)(d)2.g., Florida Statutes, an exemption exists authorizing the automatic exclusion of the names of code enforcement officers, both current and former, along with the names of spouses and children, addresses, home telephone numbers, place of employment of spouses and children, and schools and day care facilities of such persons.
If your address is not marked private, you must submit your request in writing to the Department to have this done.
I also hold another license through the Department. How do I get that licensure information marked private, too?
You must submit a written request to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation, License Maintenance, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0783, asking that your additional license be marked private. Please indicate in your request that you would like this licensure information marked private in accordance with the exemption you are afforded as a result of your building code license.
Where do I make surcharge payments?
As of January 2020, all the reporting for the building code administrator inspector board quarterly reports can be submitted on the following website www.floridabuilding.org.
Do I have to pay the 1% to the Florida Building Commission and 1.5% to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation or just one of them?
Yes, you submit payment to each entity.
If we have not been submitting the payment, how to we correct this?
You will need to complete the form for each quarter that you have not submitted. A check made payable to DBPR for the total amount due should be included with each form.
For individuals seeking the Certified Building Official (CBO)/Building Code Administrator (BCA) designation, the International Code Council (ICC) has three new modules for this examination that will launch January 1, 2015. Individuals approved for licensure by examination after the December 12, 2014, Building Code Administrators & Inspectors Board meeting will be required to pass the new three part ICC examination. The new examination consists of (1) legal, (2) management and (3) building codes and standards.
If you have already been approved for the CBO/BCA examination, you will have until December 31, 2016, to pass the two part examination. If you have not passed both parts by December 31, 2016, you will have to take and pass the new three part examination.
I applied for the examination prior to 01/01/2015 and was approved after 01/01/2015, however I passed the two part examination. Will the old examination be accepted?
Yes, the old exams will be accepted.
I applied prior to 01/01/2015 and was approved after 01/01/2015, however I do not have proof of passing the two part examination. Which exams will I have to take?
You will have to take the new three part examinations.
I applied prior to 01/01/2015, was approved after 01/01/2015 and have passed one part of the two part examination. Which exams do I have to take?
You must take and pass the new three part examination.
I applied after 01/01/2015 and was approved. I have proof of completing the two part exam. Will that examination be acceptable for licensure?
The two part examination will be accepted.
I applied after to 01/01/2015 and did not submit proof of completing the two part examination. I have proof of passing the two part examination. Will that examination be acceptable for licensure?
The two part examination will be accepted.
What are the continuing education requirements for building code licensees?
Prior to the end of each renewal period, all building code licensees are required to complete a minimum of 14 hours of continuing education courses in either classroom or interactive distance learning hours, which must include a minimum of two hours of accessibility, two hours of Florida laws and rules, and one hour of ethics.
I was recently issued a license. How much continuing education am I required to complete before I renew my license?
Individuals originally licensed when there is one-half or less of their initial licensure period remaining prior to renewal, are not required to complete any continuing education for that first renewal cycle. Individuals originally licensed when there is over one-half of their initial licensure period remaining are required to complete seven hours of continuing education, which must include one hour of accessibility.
I completed a course approved by the Construction Industry Licensing Board. Can I use the completion of this course toward my building code license?
Yes. The Building Code Administrators and Inspectors Board will accept credit toward renewal of your license for courses completed which have been approved by the following boards: Building Code Administrators and Inspectors, Construction Industry Licensing Board, Electrical Contractors’ Licensing Board and the Board of Architecture and Interior Design.
How will the Department know to use the course I completed which was approved by the Construction Industry Licensing Board to count toward renewal of my building code license?
Course providers are required to electronically submit proof of course completion information to the Department either within 30 days or prior to the end of the renewal cycle, whichever happens first. Licensees should supply the provider with all of their license numbers to ensure proper receipt of credit for all licenses. However, courses offered by Board of Architecture and Interior Design providers will not be reflected in our licensing system as those providers are exempt from electronically reporting courses to the Department. Board of Architecture and Interior Design course completion certificates must be directly submitted to the Department for manual entry in our licensing system. You may verify that your continuing education credits are being properly posted by logging in to your secure, personal account at www.MyFloridaLicense.com.
I received a letter indicating that I have a continuing education deficiency. What should I do?
Continuing education courses must be completed prior to the end of each renewal cycle in order to renew your license. All licensees are required to complete 14 hours of board-approved continuing education prior to the end of each renewal cycle. If you do not complete your required continuing education for the renewal cycle, you will not be allowed to renew your license.
When did the board start requiring continuing education? Is this something new?
No, the continuing education requirement is not new. The law requiring 100 percent compliance monitoring of continuing education was enacted in November 2001.
How much time do I have to complete continuing education courses, and how much do I have to take?
Continuing education courses must be completed prior to the end of each renewal cycle and before a licensee can renew their license. Licensees are required to complete 14 hours of board-approved continuing education prior to the end of each renewal cycle.
How can I obtain a list of approved continuing education providers?
You may obtain a list of approved continuing education providers on the main page, Renew & Manage My License. In addition, you may contact the Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395 and a representative can mail you a list of board-approved continuing education providers.
How can I check to see how many continuing education hours I have completed for the current renewal cycle?
You may view your continuing education credit history online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com. If you are unable to access your account, please call the Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395 and a representative can assist you with activation/reactivation of your account.
I am positive I took my continuing education course(s) for this renewal cycle. What should I do?
You should contact the course provider(s) to verify that they properly reported your continuing education credits. Please ensure that you have your correct license number(s) to furnish to the continuing education provider for verification purposes. If the provider is unable to report, please mail a copy of your course completion certificate(s) to the Department’s Bureau of Education and Testing at 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, Florida, 32399-1046.
On your website, I only see some of the courses that I have completed for the current renewal cycle. What should I do?
You should contact the course(s) provider to verify the proper reporting of your course(s). If the provider indicates they have properly reported your continuing education credit(s) and our records still reflect deficiencies, you may mail a copy of the course completion certificate(s) to the Department’s Bureau of Education and Testing at 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, Florida, 32399-1046.
My license is inactive. Do I need to take continuing education to renew?
No. When you decide to reactivate your license, however, you will be required to take 14 hours of continuing education for the last renewal cycle to reactivate your license.
All requests for publications, documents, forms, applications for licenses, permits and other similar certifications can be obtained by contacting the Customer Contact Center.
Division of Professions
Building Code Administrators and Inspectors Board
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0791