Archives


2017 Legislative Update


Renewal Update

The renewal deadline for firms licensed by the Regulatory Council of Community Association Managers has been extended from September 30, 2017 to October 23, 2017 at 11:59pm., due to Hurricane Irma. Licensees will not be placed in a delinquent status for non-renewal, and delinquency fees will not be assessed until that time.

FAQs


2016 Legislative Update


2015 Legislative Update


The Regulatory Council of Community Association Managers (CAM Council) voted on new language for Rule 61E14-2.001, F.A.C., Standards of Professional Conduct. Click here to view the Draft language in the Rule Notice through the Florida Administrative Register. Please visit the Florida Administrative Register site to view notices or check back on the CAM Council web page for further updates.


2014 Legislative Update


2013 Legislation

2013 Legislative Update

Chapter 2013-218, Laws of Florida– effective July 1, 2013

The new law calls for Homeowners Associations (HOAs) to submit a report to the Division of Condominiums, Timeshares and Mobile Homes through a website portal that will be established by October 1, 2013. The law requires community association managers or community association management firms (or the associations when there is no CAM) to report information about the associations they manage to the Department. This one-time reporting requirement is due November 22, 2013.

The report will include each association’s:

1. Legal name.

2. Federal employer identification number.

3. Mailing and physical addresses.

4. Total number of parcels.

5. Total amount of revenues and expenses from the association’s annual budget.

This is only a one-time reporting requirement but the HOA’s have a continuing reporting requirement until the information is submitted.

To register multiple homeowners’ associations, you will need to log in for each registration.

NOTICE: Please do not register a Condominium Association subject to Chapter 718, FS, a Cooperative association subject to Chapter 719, FS, a Timeshare Association subject to Chapter 721, FS or a Mobile Home Park subject to Chapter 723, FS.

Click here to register your Homeowners’ Association.

Ensure the Department has the most up to date email address for communication on these changes.


HB 517 was approved by Governor Rick Scott on April 6, 2012 and reduces the continuing education required to activate an inactive license. You now only have to complete one renewal cycle of continuing education instead of completing continuing education for all the renewal cycles your license was in an inactive status. Applicants will need to provide proof of completing the continuing education requirements in effect at the last renewal date immediately prior to their application. The continuing education requirement for Community Association Managers is 20 hours.

Please review the Continuing Education Requirement section below for a complete breakdown of what areas the required courses must include.


Licensing requirement for Community Association Management Firms

Effective Jan. 1, 2009, all Community Association Management (CAM) Firms must be licensed by the department. Florida Statutes define the term “Community association management” to mean management of community associations for compensation when the association or associations served contain more than 10 units or have an annual budget or budgets in excess of $100,000. Florida Statutes define the term “community association management firm” to mean a business that engages in the business of community association management as defined above.

Although the law became effective at the first of the year, as of November we are seeing that many CAM Firms have not yet applied for licensure. Applications are available on the Web site.

The new CAM firm licenses will be renewed on Sept. 30 of odd-numbered years. Management firms that were previously registered with the department must be licensed if they are currently providing CAM services.

A CAM Firm that is operating without a license will be considered to be conducting unlicensed activity and the department will take appropriate regulatory action. The penalty range is a minimum of $1,000 to a maximum of $5,000. Additionally, each management firm seeking licensure with the department must designate at least one Community Association Manager (CAM) who will respond to inquiries from and investigations by the department. If the management firm does not employ at least one licensed CAM, the management firm’s license will be invalid during that time period. The consequence for operating an unlicensed CAM firm can result in a monetary fine, reprimand, or revocation of the license. You may review frequently asked questions relative to the licensing of management firms at the following link: http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr/pro/cam/faq.html.


Licensing requirement change for Community Association Managers

Florida Statutes define the term “Community association management” to mean management of community associations for compensation when the association or associations served contain more than 10 units or have an annual budget or budgets in excess of $100,000. If you provide this service, a Community Association Manager license is required. The threshold from 50 units to 10 units is a recent change that became effective October 1, 2008 when House Bill 995, which sets forth this requirement, was signed into law. Go to CAM FAQs for more information.


Need Help?

All requests for publications, documents, forms, applications for licenses, permits and other similar certifications can be obtained by contacting the Customer Contact Center.

Division of Professions
Regulatory Council of Community Association Managers
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783

Telephone: 850.487.1395
Facsimile: 850.488.8040