Effective July 1, 2013, changes to Rule 61G5-31.004, Florida Administrative Code, now allow for the completion of hair braiding, hair wrapping, and body wrapping courses by way of online learning. Education providers desiring to provide online courses must apply to the department and include a complete copy of the course in its final form, as it will be provided to the licensee, as well as a listing of source materials and the publication dates. Education providers already offering an approved classroom (conference, trade show, live group study) or correspondence (home study/video) course must still submit a new course application and be approved by the Board of Cosmetology before offering online courses. Application forms can be found at www.MyFloridaLicense.com under the “Apply For/Update Licenses” link.
Effective August 12, 2013, changes to Rule 61G5-32.001, Florida Administrative Code, now require all continuing education course approval applications to include “a complete copy of the course as it will be provided to the licensee which includes the subjects, topics, and subtopics to be presented in the course and a narrative summary of all areas to be covered in each subject, topic and subtopic, as well as a list of all reference and source materials including the publication date for each.” Education providers seeking approval to offer courses in multiple delivery methods (classroom, correspondence, or distance/online) must submit separate applications with course material for each delivery method. This includes textbooks, PowerPoint presentations, slides, website screenshots, or any other material used in the delivery of the course.
Effective July 1, 2013, there were changes to Rule 61G5-31.004, Florida Administrative Code – Hair Braiding, Hair Wrapping and Body Wrapping Course Requirements. Below are links to the language in its final form and to the rule as it was amended. Additions to the original rule are indicated by underlining and deletions from the original rule are indicated by strike-throughs. 61G5-31.004 – Final version 61G5-31.004 – Rule with noted changes
Effective April 3, 2013, there have been several changes to Rule 61G5-20.002, Florida Administrative Code – Salon Requirements. Below are links to the language in its final form and to the rule as it was amended. Additions to the original rule are indicated by underlining and deletions from the original rule are indicated by strike-throughs. 61G5-20.002 – Final version 61G5-20.002 – Rule with noted changes
HB 517 was approved by Governor Rick Scott on April 6, 2012, and reduces the continuing education required to activate an inactive license. You now only have to complete one renewal cycle of continuing education instead of completing continuing education for all the renewal cycles your license was in an inactive status. Applicants will need to provide proof of completing the continuing education requirements in effect at the last renewal date immediately prior to their application. Those requirements include completion of 16 hours of board-approved continuing education which shall include: 2 hours of instruction on HIV/AIDS and other communicable diseases, 3 hours of instruction on sanitation and sterilization, 1 hour of instruction on workers’ compensation, 1 hour of instruction on Occupational Safety and Health Administration regulations, 2 hours of state and federal laws and rules, 2 hours of instruction regarding chemical makeup, 1 hour of instruction on environmental issues, and 4 general credit hours. For hair braiders, hair wrappers, and body wrappers – you are not required to complete continuing education requirements while your license is in an inactive status. However, licensees who change licensure status from inactive to active must show proof of completion of a board-approved, HIV/AIDS continuing education course as required for active renewal for the biennium previous to the requested reactivation.
In an effort to assist applicants through the licensure process and to reduce the number of deficient applications, the Department of Business and Professional Regulation and the Board of Cosmetology conducted a complete review and revision of all applications. The Board of Cosmetology will begin accepting the Department’s new streamlined applications beginning May 30, 2012. There will be a ninety (90) day transition period during which the Department will continue to accept submission of the old applications; this period will end on September 1, 2012.
The Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) is in the process of improving its online application process. Applicants will now have the ability to upload required documents, allowing them to fully complete and submit an application online. This enhancement will ensure that applications and supporting documentation submitted online will remain together. The online system will allow for faster processing times, thus getting our licensees to work more quickly. Other features of the new online application system include: This new online application process will allow our users to:
- Register with a secure User ID and Password
- Receive Registration via Email Confirmation
- Access a Forgotten Password
- Answer Applicant Eligibility Questions to Ensure you are Using the Correct Application
- Attach Necessary Documents for Licensure
- Receive an Application Summary and Payment Summary via Email
- Check Application Status
- Login and Finish an Incomplete Application Before Submission if you were not able to complete the application when initially applying
The following fee changes will be effective July 1, 2010:
- Original Cosmetologist Licensure Fee: Increasing from $25 to $50
- Cosmetologist Renewal Fee: Increasing from $25 to $50
- Delinquent Cosmetologist License Fee: Increasing from $25 to $50
As a matter of personal safety, the board recently removed addresses from all cosmetology and barber personal licenses. Please remember that the requirement for the licenses to be laminated and posted at work stations is still in effect.
All applications must include the applicant’s social security number. Applicants must provide their social security number or the application will be considered deficient. A worker’s identification number is not considered a social security number.
All requests for publications, documents, forms, applications for licenses, permits and other similar certifications can be obtained by contacting the Customer Contact Center.
Robyn Barineau, Executive Director
Division of Professions
Board of Cosmetology
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0791
For more option, please check the website on your computer/laptop or ipad/tablet