Frequently Asked Questions

What are the functions of the Board of Cosmetology?

The Board of Cosmetology regulates cosmetologists, nail specialists, facial specialists, full specialists, hair braiders, hair wrappers, body wrappers and cosmetology salons.

What are the statutes and rules that govern cosmetology?

Chapter 477 of the Florida Statutes and Rule 61G5 of the Florida Administrative Code are the rules and laws that govern the cosmetology profession.

Where can I obtain the laws and rules of the Board?

The laws and rules may be obtained on the Board’s website, Statutes and Rules. If you need further assistance, you may call the Department’s Customer Contact Center at 1.850.487.1395.

When and where is the next board meeting?

The dates and locations are available on the main page, Board Meeting Information.

Where can I obtain a copy of the board meeting agenda or past minutes?

Agendas and minutes are available on the main page, Board Meeting Information.

How do I become a licensed Florida cosmetologist?

To become a licensed cosmetologist in the State of Florida you must attend a Florida school of cosmetology and successfully complete a minimum of 1,200 hours of education. Upon the successful completion of the educational hours, a completed cosmetology examination application should be submitted to the Department along with the applicable fees. Once the examination application has been approved, you will receive written notification from the Department’s examination vendor, Pearson VUE, to schedule a date and time for your written cosmetology examination. After successfully passing both portions of the cosmetology examination, you will be issued a cosmetology license. The website for Pearson VUE is www.pearsonvue.com.

Exception: Florida cosmetology students qualified to take the examination after completion of only 1,000 hours of education and fail the examination must complete the full 1,200 hours of education before reexamination.

How do I become a registered nail specialist?

To become a registered nail specialist in the State of Florida you must enroll in a nail specialty program offered by a Florida school of cosmetology and successfully complete a minimum of 240 hours of education. Upon the successful completion of the educational hours, a completed nail specialty registration application should be submitted to the Department along with the applicable fees. Once the application has been approved, the nail specialist registration will be issued.

Note: A licensed cosmetologist is not required to have a separate nail specialist registration.

How do I become a registered facial specialist?

To become a registered facial specialist in the State of Florida you must enroll in a facial specialty program offered by a Florida school of cosmetology and successfully complete a minimum of 260 hours of education. Upon the successful completion of the educational hours, a completed facial specialty registration application should be submitted to the Department along with the applicable fees. Once the application has been approved, the facial specialist registration will be issued.

Note: A licensed cosmetologist is not required to have a separate facial specialist registration.

How do I become a registered hair braider?

To become a registered hair braider in the State of Florida you must complete a two-day, 16-hour Board of Cosmetology approved hair braiding course. Upon the successful completion of the educational course, a completed hair braider registration application should be submitted to the Department along with the applicable fees. Once the application has been approved, the hair braider registration will be issued.

Note: A licensed cosmetologist is not required to have a separate hair braider registration.

How do I become a registered hair wrapper?

To become a registered hair wrapper in the State of Florida you must complete a one-day, six-hour Board of Cosmetology approved hair wrapping course. Upon the successful completion of the educational course, a completed hair wrapper registration application should be submitted to the Department along with the applicable fees. Once the application has been approved, the hair wrapper registration will be issued.

Note: A licensed cosmetologist is not required to have a separate hair wrapper registration.

How do I become a registered body wrapper?

To become a registered body wrapper in the State of Florida you must complete a two-day, 12-hour Board of Cosmetology approved body wrapping course. Upon the successful completion of the educational course, a completed body wrapping registration application should be submitted to the Department along with the applicable fees. Once the application has been approved, the body wrapping registration will be issued.

Note: A licensed cosmetologist is not required to have a separate body wrapper registration.

What is licensure by endorsement for cosmetology applicants?

You are eligible for a Florida license by endorsement if you have a current and active license in another state, with the requirements of the other state being equal to or greater than the requirements of Florida cosmetology students. Florida cosmetology applicants are required to have 1,200 school hours and pass a licensing examination. If you meet those requirements, you are not required to take the Florida cosmetology examination. Also, if your initial hours of study were completed abroad, and you hold a cosmetology license from another state and the requirements of the other state are equal to or greater than the requirements for Florida cosmetology students, you may be eligible for a Florida license by endorsement.

If you have a current and active license in another state based upon completion of 1,000 school hours you can attend (in or outside of Florida) any cosmetology school to obtain the additional 200 educational hours to qualify for endorsement.

OR

If you have a current and active license in another state based upon completion of 1,000 school hours and you do not want to complete the additional 200 school hours you may apply to take the Florida cosmetology examination if you have held that license for at least one year. However, if you fail the examination twice there is a requirement for 40 remedial hours before being eligible to re-examine and if you fail the examination three times there is a requirement for 80 remedial hours before being eligible to re-examine. This option does not require you to return to complete the deficient 200 school hours.

Apprenticeship licenses and apprenticeship education are not eligible for endorsement.

What is licensure by endorsement for registrants (facial specialist, nail specialist, full specialist) applicants?

You are eligible for a Florida registration by endorsement if you have a current and active registration or license in another state, with the requirements of the other state being equal to or greater than the requirements of Florida applicants. Hair braiders, hair wrappers and body wrappers and apprenticeship licensees are not eligible for endorsement.

Florida requirements are as follows:

  • Nail specialist – 240 school hours
  • Facial specialist – 260 school hours
  • Full specialist – 500 school hours (240 nail hours, plus 260 facial hours)

Note: Out-of-country facial specialist, nail specialist and full specialist registrants are not eligible for licensure by endorsement. Any Florida cosmetology school can evaluate your previous school training and grant credit for hours toward fulfilling the Florida school requirements. Schools can grant credit for all, some or none of a person’s previous education.

I have a cosmetology license from another country. Would I be able to apply for a Florida license by endorsement?

No. Out-of-country cosmetology license holders are not eligible for licensure by endorsement and must apply by examination.

When is a cosmetology examination applicant eligible to work?

As a cosmetology examination applicant, you are eligible to work once you have taken and passed both parts of the examination. You are eligible to practice cosmetology under the supervision of a licensed cosmetologist in a licensed cosmetology salon. You must provide the salon owner or representative with a copy of the exam results.

Can I still work if I fail the examination?

No. If you fail any portion of the examination, you may immediately reapply for reexamination but you are not eligible to practice cosmetology until you have passed both parts of the examination within a two-year period as provided by Rule 61G5-18.004, F.A.C.

What does “under the supervision” of a licensed cosmetologist signify?

The term “under the supervision” of a licensed cosmetologist refers to an individual who holds a current and active Florida cosmetology license that must physically be present at all times when the applicant is performing cosmetology services.

When is a registrant (facial, nail, and full specialty applicants) eligible to work?

After successfully completing all school hours and submitting an application along with the required fees to the Department, and pending the issuing of the registration, an applicant is eligible to practice under the supervision of a registered specialist in a licensed cosmetology salon with the following conditions:

  • Prior to beginning the performance of the specialty service, you must provide the salon owner a copy of the completed licensing application and school transcripts that you submitted to the Department.
  • However, if notified by the Department that the application is incomplete or deficient, you must immediately inform the salon owner and/or licensed supervisor of the notification and you shall immediately stop working under this exception until the correction of the deficiencies.
What does “under the supervision” of a registered specialist signify?

“Under the supervision” of a registered specialist refers to an individual who holds a current and active specialty registration that must be physically present at all times when the applicant is performing the specialty services. This work practice exception does not apply to an individual who has applied by endorsement from another state. Endorsement applicants must have their Florida license prior to practice.

How do I make a personal name change on my license?

Requests for a name change should be directed to Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Central Intake Unit, License Maintenance Section, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, Florida, 32399. A name change must be submitted in writing along with a copy of the legal document granting the name change.

How may I obtain a list of Cosmetology Schools in the State of Florida?

You may contact the Department of Education at 1.850.245.0509 (public), 1.850.245.0502 (private), or 1.888.224.6684 (toll free) or online at www.fldoe.org. You may contact the Commission for Independent Education at 1.850.245.3200 or online at www.fldoe.org/cie for a list of independent schools, colleges and universities.

How may I obtain a list of board-approved providers of hair braiding, hair wrapping and body wrapping courses?

The lists of approved providers are available on the main page, Renew & Manage My License.

For the purpose of my initial licensure application, I took an HIV/AIDS course from the Florida Department of Health. Can I get credit for this course?

Yes. The Board of Cosmetology accepts courses presented by the Florida Department of Health, or other state health departments. Please ensure that the course completion certificate reflects that the course was at least four credit hours.

How can I obtain a cosmetology salon license?

You must complete the salon application and pay the required application fee. After your salon license is issued, within approximately 90 days, an inspector will visit your salon unannounced for the initial inspection. You can open your salon when you receive your license. You do not need to wait to open until you are inspected.

Can I operate a licensed cosmetology salon out of my home?

Yes. You can operate the salon out of your home as long as the salon facilities are separated from the living quarters by a permanent wall. There must be a separate entrance to the salon other than through the living quarters. The toilet and lavatory facilities must be separate than those used by the household. The home salon must also meet all other salon requirements. You must complete a salon application and pay the required application fee.

I am moving to another state. How do I obtain a license certification?

You can verify your license to another state instantly by using DBPR’s Online Services. Create an online account or logon to your existing account at www.myfloridalicense.com. Select “Request License Certification” from the License Menu. Complete the online application and pay the $25 fee by credit card or electronic check. A copy of your license record will be created and emailed directly to the State Board selected during the transaction. Note: License certifications can only be sent to other State Boards using this method.

If you need to send certification of your license to multiple states you will repeat the instructions above and pay the required $25 application fee for each request.

You may mail your request for license certification to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Florida Board of Cosmetology, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, Florida, 32399-0790. Your request should include your name, license number, which State Board you would like the certification to be mailed, and your payment of $25. Note: If you mail your request, please allow up to three weeks for processing.

I mailed $25 and a request for license certification and was told by the Department it was mailed more than 30 days ago, and I have yet to receive the requested document. What do I do?

Requests for a duplicate license certification must be submitted in writing. Please fax your request to 1.850.617.4456 or mail to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Florida Board of Cosmetology, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, Florida, 32399-0790. We will research your request within seven business days. Note: License certifications are sent to other State Board’s and will not be mailed directly to the license holder.

My salon name has changed. How do I make this change?

The salon license is not a transferable document. You must submit a new salon application and pay the required application fee. If the salon name, address, or ownership changes, there must be a new salon license application submitted.

Can I change my address online?

Yes, at www.MyFloridaLicense.com > Online Services. You can also change your telephone number and email address here.

Your website provides for "main", "mailing", and "location" addresses. What are the differences?

Three types of addresses have been established to support your needs: main, license mailing, and license location.

  • Main Address – This address is the primary address on file.
  • License Mailing Address – This is the address where the mail associated with a particular license will be sent (if different from the main or license location addresses).
  • License Location Address – This is the address where the place of business is physically located.

An example of the use of different addresses: If Jane Doe is a contractor that works for ACME Builders, she may have 3 different addresses listed in her profile. Her main address would be the address of ACME Builders’ corporate headquarters. Her license mailing may be her home so she doesn’t have to visit the office to pick up her mail. Finally, her License Location would be the address of the ACME Builders’ local office where she works. If Jane Doe worked independently, she might have only one address on file (Main Address) as her office is the same place she wishes to receive her mail.

Can I change all license addresses online?

The main address and license mailing address can be changed online for all license types. License location addresses can also be changed online except for barbershops, cosmetology salons, veterinary establishments, and talent agencies. The location for these license types is tied to the license so a location change will require submission of a new application.

How can I change my address if I do not have a computer?

You may submit the change in writing to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Central Intake Unit – License Maintenance, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783 or fax to 1.850.921.0038.

I have a criminal history. Will this preclude me from obtaining a cosmetology or specialty license?

Criminal history is reviewed on a case-by-case situation and your application may require Board review. If your application requires Board review, you will receive notification by mail approximately three weeks prior to the meeting. Your application cannot be pre-approved.

I received notice of a hearing at the board meeting. Do I have to appear?

No. Attendance at the meeting is not required, however: it is in your best interest to attend.

Can I take the cosmetology exam out-of-state?

The cosmetology examination is offered at 22 testing sites throughout the state of Florida. Out-ofstate testing sites are also available. Please contact Pearson VUE at 1.888.204.6230 for more information on testing sites.

My state only required 1,000 hours, but I have worked as a cosmetologist for 30 years. Am I eligible for licensure by endorsement?

No. Florida laws do not allow us to consider experience. If your license is active and has been active for at least one year, you are eligible to sit for the exam.

I am moving to Florida from another state. Can I transfer my license or are temporary licenses offered?

No. Licenses are not transferable nor are temporary licenses offered. Depending on the type of license you hold, you must either apply for licensure by examination, endorsement or attend a Florida school for evaluation.

What is a school evaluation?

Florida cosmetology schools can evaluate a person’s previous school training and grant credit for hours toward fulfilling the Florida school requirements. Schools can grant credit for all, some or none of a person’s previous education.

The cosmetology school I attended is no longer in existence, and I need a copy of my transcripts/hours. How can I get a copy of this information?

You can contact the Commission for Independent Education at 1.850.245.3200 for private schools, or the Department of Education at 1.800.445.6739 for public schools, or you can submit a public records request to the DBPR, Attention: Central Intake for an entire copy of your application file.

I received notification that I could call and schedule my cosmetology exam with Pearson VUE, but they say my information is not in their system, what do I do?

You should speak with someone in the Bureau of Education and Testing, Candidate Services.

My application was denied by the Board. What do I do now?

You will receive a Notice of Intent to Deny within 30 days of the meeting. The notice will provide details of why the application was denied and what steps you can take to request a hearing.

How can I obtain assistance on completing my application?

If you have any questions or need assistance completing your application, please contact the Department’s Customer Contact Center at 1.850.487.1395.

Where do I mail my application?

Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Central Intake Unit, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783.

Where can I find the various cosmetology applications?

Board forms are accessible on the main page, Apply For A License.

I submitted a request for refund but have yet to receive a refund. What do I do?

Please allow up to three weeks for processing. For additional information, please contact the Bureau of Finance and Accounting Office at 1.850.487.2100.

I need to speak to someone about the deficiency letter I received about my application?

Please contact the Department’s Customer Contact Center at 1.850.487.1395. If they are unable to assist you with your application questions they will forward your request to the Central Intake Unit.

How do I renew my license?

You may activate a personal account with the Department by going online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com and renew your license by paying the required renewal fee. You may also make an electronic renewal payment by calling the Department’s Customer Contact Center at 1.850.487.1395 or by returning the renewal notice along with a check made payable to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0783. Please note that the license renewal will not be processed until your continuing education hours have been completed.

My Florida license is null and void. Can the license be reinstated?

A null and void license can be reinstated; however, you must complete a reinstate null and void application, pay the required application fee and provide an explanation of illness or economic hardship that prevented the renewal of your license.

How do I change the status on my license from active to inactive?

Please submit a written request to change the status of your license from active to inactive along with a $5 processing fee.

How do I change the status on my license from inactive to active?

Please submit a written request to change the status of your license from inactive to active along with a $50 processing fee. Please be aware that for cosmetologists, nail specialists, facial specialists and full specialists, you are required to take 16 hours of board-approved continuing education as required for active renewal for the biennium previous to the requested reactivation. Hair braiders, hair wrappers and body wrappers are required to take a two hour, board approved HIV/AIDS course as required for active renewal for the biennium previous to the requested reactivation.

What are the continuing education requirements to renew my license?

The Board of Cosmetology requires all cosmetologists, facial specialists, nail specialists and full specialists to complete 16 hours of board-approved continuing education prior to the license/registration renewal. For hair braiders, hair wrappers and body wrappers, the continuing education requirement for registration renewal is an update of the HIV/AIDS course. All continuing education courses must be completed from a Board of Cosmetology approved continuing education provider.

How may I obtain a list of board-approved continuing education providers?

The list of approved continuing education providers and their courses is available on the main page, CE Requirements.

I took an HIV/AIDS course from The Florida Department of Health. Can I receive continuing education credit for the renewal of my license or registration?

No. All continuing education courses must be completed from a board-approved continuing education provider. If the Florida Department of Health is not listed as an approved continuing education provider, then course credits are not acceptable for the purpose of renewal.

I have a complaint about a cosmetologist or salon. Whom do I contact?

You may contact the Department’s Customer Contact Center at 1.850.487.1395 or file a complaint online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com.

I have a complaint about an unlicensed cosmetologist or salon. Whom do I contact?

Please contact the Department’s toll-free unlicensed activity hotline at 1.866.532.1440 or file a complaint online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com > File a Complaint.

I recently visited a salon where smoking is allowed. Whom should I contact to lodge a complaint?

Please contact the Florida Department of Health at 1.800.337.3742 for assistance.

I need to speak to someone about an inspector that recently visited my salon?

You should speak with someone in the Division of Regulation, Bureau of Investigative Services.

I need to speak to someone about a recent inspection of my salon?

You should speak with someone in the Division of Regulation, Bureau of Investigative Services.

I need to get a copy of the most recent inspection of my salon?

You should speak with someone in the Division of Regulation, Bureau of Investigative Services.

I need to speak directly to the inspector that recently came to my shop?

You should speak with someone in the Division of Regulation, Bureau of Investigative Services.

My license is suspended for failure to pay child support, but I paid my child support and my license should not be suspended?

Please contact the Department of Revenue at 1.800.622.5437. The suspension will be removed when we receive written notification from the Department of Revenue. For additional information, please contact the Division of Regulation.

I was issued a citation, but I cannot pay the entire citation at this time. Can I make a payment arrangement?

No. Payment plans for citations are not authorized. Please contact the Division of Regulation if you have further questions about citations.

I want to talk to someone about a citation that was recently issued against me or my salon?

You should speak with someone in the Division of Regulation, Bureau of Investigative Services.

I was told there was a case against me, and I do not know anything about it. What do I do now?

Please contact the Department’s Customer Contact Center at 1.850.487.1395 for instructions on how to request a copy of the disciplinary case or contact the General Counsel’s Office at 1.850.488.0062.

My license is suspended and I do not know why?

Please contact the Department’s Customer Contact Center at 1.850.487.1395 for instructions on how to request a copy of the disciplinary case that resulted in the suspension of your license.

I paid my fine but my license is still suspended?

Please contact the Board of Cosmetology office.

I need to speak with someone about a Final Order I received?

Please contact the Board of Cosmetology office.

How do I pay my fine after it has been referred to a collection agency?

Once the case has been referred to either Municipal Services Bureau (MSB) or United Collections Bureau (UCB), you may no longer pay your fine directly to the Board of Cosmetology. All inquiries and payments MUST be paid through the collection agency. Please contact MSB at 800.568.7004 or UCB at 866.866.2102. The collection agency will notify the Department that your fine has been paid. For additional information, please contact the Bureau of Finance and Accounting at 850.487.2100.

I need to speak to someone about a case that was referred to a collection agency?

Please contact Municipal Services Bureau at 800.568.7004 or United Collections Bureau at 866.866.2102. For additional information, please contact the Bureau of Finance and Accounting at 850.487.2100.

Can a barber work in a cosmetology salon or a cosmetologist work in a barbershop?

A licensed barber is allowed to work in a cosmetology salon as long as a licensed cosmetologist is also employed. A licensed cosmetologist is allowed to work in a barbershop as long as a licensed barber is also employed.

Can a cosmetology salon and a barbershop share the same office space and/or work out of the same location?

No. Only one business license can be issued per location.

Are hair wrapping, hair braiding or body wrapping services required to be performed in a licensed salon?

No. However, if you work at a salon, the salon must be licensed and all salon requirements must be met. If hair braiding, hair wrapping or body wrapping services are performed outside a licensed salon, the implements used on a patron must be disposable or sanitized between patrons.

I want to cut hair in a community care facility or nursing home. What do I need to do?

There is a provision in the laws and rules allowing licensed cosmetologists to perform cosmetology services on individuals residing in these facilities and exempting these cosmetologists from having to offer their services in the otherwise required licensed salons. The arrangements for cosmetologists to offer their services in a community care facility or nursing home must be made through a licensed salon and the information as to the name of the client and the address at which the services are to be performed shall be recorded in the appointment book which must remain at the salon and be made available upon request to any Department inspector.

Is a cosmetology or barber’s license required to perform make-up and/or hair arranging services on a deceased person in a funeral home?

Performing make-up and/or hair arranging services on a deceased person in a funeral home is not regulated by the Department of Business and Professional Regulation. For further clarification, please contact the Department of Financial Services, Division of Funeral, Cemetery & Consumer Services at https://www.myfloridacfo.com/Division/funeralcemetery/ or by calling 1.850.413.3039.

What is the difference between a barber and a cosmetologist?

They can both perform hair and facial services. However, barbers can shave the face and cosmetologists can wax and do nails.

I have a barber license. Is there a shortened path for becoming a cosmetologist?

You should attend a Florida school for evaluation of your barbering hours. The school is able to assess what you need to meet the cosmetology requirements, and they are required to sign off on your application for licensure.

Can I have an animal in my cosmetology salon?

No. Animals are not permitted inside a cosmetology salon with the exception of closed aquariums or service animals.

Are fish pedicures allowed in Florida cosmetology salons?

No. Fish pedicure are not allowed in Florida cosmetology salons. The practice is a violation of the cosmetology rule, 61G5-20.002, Florida Administrative Code, and could result in a citation.

Can I perform microdermabrasion?

The definition of cosmetology includes the mechanical treatment of the head, neck and scalp. Therefore, if the microdermabrasion is performed to the head, face, or scalp, it falls under the definition of cosmetology.

Can a licensee perform massage?

A cosmetologist and full specialist can massage the head, face, scalp, neck, hands and feet. A nail specialist can massage the hands and feet. A facial specialist can massage the head, face, scalp, and neck, but, otherwise, a person must be licensed under the Department of Heath, Board of Massage Therapy.

Can I use a credo blade?

The Florida laws do not prohibit the use of certain tools; however, the procedures must be nonintrusive.

Can a cosmetologist shave and/or arch the eyebrows with a razor?

Yes. A cosmetologist can perform this service.

Can a hair braider or hair wrapper add extensions?

No. Only a licensed cosmetologist can perform this service.

What type of license is required to perform eyebrow threading?

A cosmetologist, full specialist or facial specialist can perform this service.

What type of license is required to tint eyelashes or eyebrows?

A cosmetologist, full specialist or facial specialist can perform this service.

What type of license is required to apply false eyelashes?

A cosmetologist, full specialist or facial specialist can perform this service.

What type of license is required to perform eyelash perming?

A cosmetologist can perform this service.

What type of license is required to add strands of tinsel to hair?

A cosmetologist can perform this service.

What type of license is required to add feathers to hair?

A cosmetologist can perform this service.

What devices are allowable to use with my license?

The Florida laws and rules do not address the use of devices, machinery or other equipment. If you would like to request an opinion from the Board of Cosmetology, you may submit a request for Declaratory Statement to the Board of Cosmetology, P.O. Box 5377, Tallahassee, Florida 32314- 5377. Please refer to Section 120.565, Florida Statutes, and Chapter 28-105, Florida Administrative Code, which explain the requirements for a Petition for Declaratory Statement.

What is a Declaratory Statement?

A Declaratory Statement is the sole means for obtaining a binding interpretation or opinion from the Board of Cosmetology concerning the applicability of statutory provisions, rules or orders over which the Board has authority (Chapters 455 and 477, Florida Statutes, and Chapter 61G5, Florida Administrative Code).

What type of license is required if I only want to polish nails?

A cosmetologist, full specialist or nail specialist can perform this service.

Is a license required to perform hair shampooing services?

No. A license is not required to perform hair shampooing, but to rinse or do any work involving other chemicals in the hair, drying or styling of the hair, a cosmetology license is required.

What services can I provide without having a license?

Any cosmetology or specialty service can be performed as long as no compensation is received for the service. Application of makeup for no compensation or applying makeup at a makeup counter or for an independent makeup company can be performed so long as the makeup application is solely for the purpose of selling the product and not for selling the service. Providing wig/hair piece fitting services can be performed, in conjunction with the sale of the wig/hair piece as long as no cosmetology services are performed (e.g., hair arranging, hair cutting, shaping, coloring, etc.)

What is the definition of manufactured materials?

Manufactured materials for use in hair wrapping means multi-strand cotton or polyester blend, twisted, not braided, into a single embroidery or yarn thread.

Do I need to carry insurance for myself or my salon?

There are no insurance requirements in the Board of Cosmetology laws and rules.

I have questions regarding booth renters or becoming an independent contractor in a salon?

The Board of Cosmetology does not regulate booth renting. You should contact your local permitting department for more information.

I received a letter that I have a bad check on file with the Department. What do I do now?

You need to contact the Department’s Customer Contact Center at 1.850.487.1395 or the Bureau of Finance and Accounting at 1.850.487.2100.

I paid the bad check I had on file with the Department and would like my application processed. What do I do now?

You need to contact the Department’s Customer Contact Center at 1.850.487.1395, and they will notify the processing department that the bad check has been paid.

Can a salon serve complementary alcoholic drinks?

Please contact the Division of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco.

Who can perform body waxing?

A cosmetologist, facial specialist or full specialist can perform this service.

Who can perform laser hair removal?

Board of Cosmetology licensees cannot perform laser hair removal services. According to the Florida Board of Medicine, laser hair removal may only be performed by Electrologists, Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioners, Physicians Assistants and Medical Doctors trained in that specialty.

What is Methyl Methacrylate (MMA) and why is it banned in a salon?

It is a poisonous and harmful ingredient sometimes used in artificial nail products. In 2004, Florida banned its use in cosmetology salons. To report a salon that is using MMA you may contact the Division of Regulation at 1.850.488.6603 or file a complaint online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com.

Need Help?

All requests for publications, documents, forms, applications for licenses, permits and other similar certifications can be obtained by contacting the Customer Contact Center.

Division of Professions
Board of Cosmetology
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0791

Telephone: 850.487.1395
Facsimile: 850.488.8040