Important Information (Hot Topics)
On June 30, 2020, Governor Ron DeSantis signed “The Occupational Freedom and Opportunity Act” (HB 1193) which eliminates unnecessary regulations and reduces barriers to entry for certain professions. Effective January 1, 2021, the prelicensure training hours for the following specialties have been lowered. For more information, click the links below.
- Nail Specialist – reduced to 180 hours of training
- Facial Specialist – reduced to 220 hours of training
- Full Specialist – reduced to 400 hours of training
Governor DeSantis lifts Emergency Restrictions on Barbershops and Cosmetology Salons
Governor DeSantis issued Executive Order 20-244 on September 25, 2020, effectively putting Florida on Phase 3 of the COVID recovery effort and removing previous restrictions for barbershops and cosmetology salons; including appointment requirements, a ban on group appointments, and restrictions for waiting areas. Standard safety and sanitation requirements pursuant to statute and rule are still in effect. Barbershops and cosmetology salons should contact their local governments to determine if any mask requirements that meet the requirements of Executive Order 20-244 are in effect.
Cosmetology renewal notices were recently e-mailed for licenses with an October 31, 2020 expiration date. This year the Board authorized a renewal fee holiday waiving all fees for license renewals for active and inactive licenses. Therefore, no payment is required for renewal. However, licensees are still required to comply with the continuing education requirements.
Hair Braiding, Hair Wrapping, and Body Wrapping
On June 30, 2020, Governor Ron DeSantis signed “The Occupational Freedom and Opportunity Act” (HB 1193) which eliminates unnecessary regulations and reduces barriers to entry for certain professions. Effective July 1, 2020, the bill removes all licensure requirements for hair braiding, hair wrapping, and body wrapping individuals. Therefore, persons will no longer be required to submit an application for licensure in any of these professions or as an education provider for these professions.
On June 30, 2020, Governor Ron DeSantis signed “The Occupational Freedom and Opportunity Act” (HB 1193) which eliminates unnecessary regulations and reduces barriers to entry for certain professions. Effective July 1, 2020, endorsement applicants who hold a current and active license to practice cosmetology in another state will not be required to take the Florida Cosmetology exam or meet Florida’s educational requirements.
Beauty Services Outside of Salons
The Florida Legislature passed House Bill 1193 during the 2020 legislative session. If HB 1193 becomes law, properly licensed individuals may offer hair shampooing, hair cutting, hair arranging, nail polish removal, nail filing, nail buffing, and nail cleansing services outside of a licensed salon after the effective date of July 1, 2020. These services may be performed at homes and other locations.
The full bill may be reviewed at:
Executive Order 20-120: Expanding Phase 1: Safe. Smart. Step-by-Step. Plan for Florida’s Recovery
Executive Order 20-120 extends Executive Order 20-112 with the modification of including Palm Beach County in the phase one recovery plan. The Order also authorizes persons in Florida to provide or obtain barber and cosmetology services in licensed establishments that adopt appropriate social distancing and precautionary measures as outlined by the Department of Business and Professional Regulation. For details related to required and recommended precautionary measures pursuant to this Order, please see the Additional Information for Barbershops and Cosmetology Salons and the FAQs for Executive Order 20-120.
The continuing education hours required for cosmetologists, facial specialists, nail specialists and full specialists license has been lowered to a minimum of ten (10) hours, effective February 6, 2020.
61G5-32.001 – Continuing Education
On October 15, 2019, the Florida Board of Cosmetology voted on and approved the decrease of continuing education hours for cosmetologists, facial specialists, nail specialists and full specialists license to, at a minimum, 10 hours of board-approved continuing education. The ten (10) hours of continuing education shall include, at a minimum, all of the following subjects as they relate to the practice of cosmetology:
- 10 hours of CE – minimum of 1 hour HIV/AIDS, 3 hours of sanitation and sterilization, one-half (.5) hour OSHA, one-half (.5) hour workers’ compensation, 2 hours of laws and rules, one (1) hours of chemical makeup, 1 hour of environmental issues, 1 hour of any subject related to the practice of cosmetology.
The approved change to the continuing education hours will become effective February 6, 2020.
Effective July 8, 2019, to reduce some of the initial licensure burdens placed upon cosmetology applicants, the requirement for remedial instructional hours after failing the cosmetology licensure examination two times or more has been removed and is no longer required.
Paperless Licensing, effective 07/08/2019
The Department of Business and Professional Regulation is excited to announce an advancement in how we license cosmetology in the State of Florida.
The Department has implemented an innovative way to expedite the licensing process for cosmetology. The Department will no longer be mailing licenses upon issuance, as licensees can now print their licenses by logging into their secure online account with the Department. This will allow new licensees to enter the work force at least 7 to 10 business days early, whereas, in the past, they would have to wait for the license to arrive in the mail. In addition to new licenses, this process will allow licensees to renew online and print the license at their convenience, as well as print duplicate licenses as needed without paying a fee.
Florida law requires that pedicures be performed by licensed cosmetologists or registered nail specialists in licensed salons. Activities involving fish and skin removal that do not meet the definition of a pedicure in Section 477.013, F.S., do not fall under the jurisdiction of the Board of Cosmetology.
The renewal deadline for licenses issued by the Board of Cosmetology has been extended from October 31, 2018 to November 30, 2018 at 11:59pm due to Hurricane Michael. Licenses will not be placed in a delinquent status for non-renewal, and delinquency fees will not be assessed until that time. Continuing Education credits will continue to be accepted for this renewal cycle during this period.
WARNING – Cosmetology Scam Alert
Please be aware of a scam targeting cosmetology licensees. Licensees are receiving fraudulent Final Orders requesting payment of fines and costs to be paid by MoneyPak – Greendot. If you receive paperwork that looks suspicious, do not reply. DBPR will NEVER call you directly and ask for a MoneyPak number. Always be suspicious if someone you don’t know personally calls and asks you for a MoneyPak number.
Where should I check to see if this final order is authentic?
You may verify if any disciplinary action has been taken against you at www.MyFloridaLicense.Com > Verify a License > Search by License Number > Input license number and related information > click on licensee name > click on “View License Complaint.” This will bring up a list of all public complaints.
If a final order is issued against me, who will contact me?
During the complaint, investigation and final action process of a disciplinary case, you will receive written communication from DBPR. Should a final order impose monetary sanctions that go unpaid, you may be contacted by DBPR’s collection agencies, which are Municipal Services Bureau and United Collections Bureau.
Changes to Salon Requirements
Effective November 9, 2017, the Board of Cosmetology reduced the minimum square footage requirement of a salon from 200 square feet of floor space to 100 square feet of floor space. Below are links to the language in its final form and to the rule as it was amended. Additions to the original rule are indicated by underlining and deletions from the original rule are indicated by strike-throughs. 61G5-20.002 – final version 61G5-20.002 – Rule with noted changes
Changes to Employment of Applicants for Licensure as a Cosmetologist Prior to Licensure, Employment of Applicants for Registration as a Specialist Prior to Registration
Effective April 3, 2017, there were changes to Rule 61G5-20.008, Florida Administrative Code – Employment of Applicants for Licensure as a Cosmetologist Prior to Licensure, Employment of Applicants for Registration as a Specialist Prior to Registration. Below are links to the language in its final form and to the rule as it was amended. Additions to the original rule are indicated by underlining and deletions from the original rule are indicated by strike-throughs.
61G5-20.008 – Rule with noted changes
The Department of Business and Professional Regulation and the Board of Cosmetology recently approved a permanent reduction in inactive licensure fees. All inactive licensure fees will be reduced by 20 percent beginning with the renewal period ending October 31, 2016.
The Board of Cosmetology recently updated the salon licensure application. Please read the instructions to ensure that you have completed the application correctly. The mailing address is where the license will be mailed and where correspondence from the Department will be mailed. The business location address is the actual address of the salon.
Verify your license to another state quickly and easily by using DBPR’s Online Services.
- Logon to your existing account or create a new account at myfloridalicense.com.
- Select “Request License Certification” from the License Menu.
- Complete the online application and pay the $25 fee by credit card or electronic check.
A copy of your license record will be created and emailed directly to the State Board selected during the transaction.
Note: License certifications can only be sent to other State Boards using this method.
All requests for publications, documents, forms, applications for licenses, permits and other similar certifications can be obtained by contacting the Customer Contact Center.
Division of Professions
Board of Cosmetology
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0791