What are the functions of the Electrical Contractors’ Licensing Board?

The Electrical Contractors’ Licensing Board licenses and regulates electrical and alarm contractors to perform electrical and alarm services in the state.

What are the statutes and rules that govern electrical contractors?

Chapter 489, Part II, of the Florida Statutes and Rule 61G6 of the Florida Administrative Code.

Where can I obtain the laws and rules of the Board?

The laws and rules may be obtained on the Board’s website, Statutes and Rules.

When and where is the next board meeting?

The dates and locations are on the main page, Board Meeting Information.

Where can I obtain a copy of the board meeting agenda or past minutes?

Agendas and minutes are available on the main page, Board Meeting Information.

What is the difference between a certified contractor and a registered contractor?

A certified contractor passed the state licensing examination to become licensed (except in cases of grandfathering and endorsement). Certified licensees can work anywhere within the State of Florida.

A registered contractor registered a local county or municipal certificate of competency with the Electrical Contractors’ Licensing Board to become a state registered contractor. Registered licensees can only work in the counties or municipalities where they hold a local license.

What types of licenses does the electrical board offer?
  • Certified Electrical Contractor (EC)
  • Registered Electrical Contractor (ER)
  • Certified Alarm System Contractor I (EF)
  • Registered Alarm Contractor I (EY)
  • Certified Alarm Contractor II (EG)
  • Registered Alarm Contractor II (EZ)
  • Certified Electrical Specialty Contractor (ES)
    • Residential Electrical Specialty
    • Utility Line Specialty
    • Lighting Maintenance Specialty
    • Sign Specialty
    • Limited Energy Specialty
  • Registered Electrical Specialty Contractor (ET)
    • Residential Electrical Specialty
    • Utility Line Specialty
    • Lighting Maintenance Specialty
    • Sign Specialty
    • Limited Energy Specialty

A complete description of the scope of work for each license is on the main page.

What are the application fees?
  • Certified Examination Application – $316.25
  • Certified Computer Based Exam – $78.75 (Paid to vendor after approval)
  • Retake Examination Application – $127.50
  • Initial Certified License (active) – $300.00
  • Initial Registered License (active) – $155.00
  • Add a county to a Registered License – $25.00
  • Initial Certified License (inactive) – $55.00
  • Initial Registered License (inactive) – $55.00
  • Certified Transfer Application – $150.00
  • Registered Transfer Application – $50.00
  • Additional Business Application – $550.00
  • Endorsement Application – $500.00

*Application fees are non-refundable.

How do I become a certified electrical or alarm contractor?

You need to submit the application for examination with the required fees. After you pass both parts of the examination you will need to complete the application for an initial certified electrical or alarm contractor’s license. Both applications are on the main page, Apply For A License. The initial certified licensure application requires you to provide proof of experience in the category for which you wish to become licensed as well as information on the business you wish to qualify. All initial certified licensure applications must be reviewed and approved by the Board at a regularly scheduled Board Meeting. After you pass the examination you will need to complete the application for an initial certified license.

What experience is required to become a certified electrical or alarm contractor?

You must meet one of the following experience requirements:

  • Must be licensed as an electrical professional engineer for three (3) years within the last 12 years; or
  • Must have three (3) years of management experience in the trade within the last six (6) years immediately preceding the filing of the application; or
  • Must have four (4) years of experience as a foreman, supervisor or contractor in the trade within the last eight (8) years immediately preceding the filing of the application; or
  • Must have at least four (4) years of experience as a supervisor in electrical or alarm system work in the United States Armed Forces, within the eight (8) years immediately preceding the filing of the application; or
  • Must have six (6) years of comprehensive training, technical education or broad experience associated with an electrical contracting business within the last 12 years immediately preceding the filing of the application; or
  • Must have at least six (6) years of technical experience in electrical work with the Armed Forces or a governmental entity within the last 12 years immediately preceding the filing of the application; or
  • Must have a combination of these qualifications totaling six (6) years of experience.

In addition, if you are applying for the following categories these specific experience requirements will apply:

EC – Certified Electrical Contractor

  •  The required experience must include at least 40% of work that is in 3-phase services.

EF – Certified Alarm System Contractor I (All Alarm Systems)

  •  The required experience must include at least 40% of work that is in fire alarm systems.

EG – Certified Alarm System Contractor II (Excluding Fire)

  •  The required experience must include at least 40% of work that is in alarm systems other than fire alarm systems.
What documentation is required to verify my experience?

You will need to submit the following items with your initial certified licensure application.

  • Evidence of your work experience
    • W2 forms
    • Employment verification forms signed by your employers
      • If self employed as a registered contractor in Florida or out of state you may submit 3 notarized letters of reference from other licensed contractors or building officials who are familiar with your experience.
    • Job Lists – listing 5 jobs per year for each year of experience you are claiming.
What are possible reasons my application for licensure could be denied if I have passed the examination?

Your application could be denied for many reasons even if you have passed the examination. Here are some of the more common reasons for denial:

  • Failure to demonstrate the required experience – your W2’s, job lists or employment verification forms may not support that you have the experience required by the statute. This may occur if:
    • You are applying based on supervisory experience but your salary and job duties are not in line with someone with supervisory responsibilities in this industry.
    • Your work experience is not in the “trade” of electrical contracting, experience as an electrician or supervising electrician for a facility is not considered by the board to be electrical contracting experience. An applicant must have worked for an electrical contractor if they are applying based on experience in the “trade”.
    • Your job lists do not show enough specific experience in the category you are applying for. Such as 40% experience in 3 phase electrical work for Unlimited Electrical, fire alarms for Alarm I or burglar alarms for Alarm II. Be sure to concentrate your job lists on jobs that meet those requirements.
  • Failure to demonstrate financial responsibility – this could be a basis for denial based on your personal financial statement or personal credit report. This may occur if:
    • Your personal financial statement shows a negative net worth.
    • Your personal credit report shows delinquent accounts, collection accounts, unpaid liens or judgments.
  • Criminal history that relates to the practice of electrical contracting.
    • If you have criminal history you must disclose it in your application – it will be up to the Board to determine if it relates to the practice of electrical contracting and if it is sufficient grounds to deny your application.
What other documentation is required for an initial certification application?

Evidence of financial responsibility

  1. A personal credit report
  2. A personal financial statement

Business Information

  1. Business credit report
  2. Business financial statement
  3. Certificate of Status from the Department of State Division of Corporations

Note: All credit reports are required to include a public records statement indicating records have been checked by County, State, and Federal levels.

How do I become a registered electrical or alarm contractor?

You need to complete the application for initial registration, provide a copy of your local competency card and proof of examination. The application for an initial registered contractor’s license is on the main page, Apply For A License.

A registered license permits the licensee to work only in a specific county or municipality and to perform the type of work covered by the registration.

Where and when are certified examinations given?

The certified electrical examination is computer based. Once an application for examination is processed by the Department the applicant can schedule to take the exam at any of the vendor’s testing locations during the vendor’s normal business hours.

For information about testing locations and times, contact the testing vendor, PearsonVue.

Must I take an examination to become a registered electrical or alarm contractor even if the county does not require an examination?

Yes. You need to provide proof you passed an examination in the appropriate category before you can obtain a registered license (See Section 489.513, Florida Statutes).

Where do I obtain an application?

Application packages and individual forms are on the main page, Apply For A License. You may also contact our Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395 for assistance.

How can I check the status of my application?

You may check your application status online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com. You may also contact our Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395 for assistance.

Can I hold a registered license and a certified license at the same time?

You can hold both a registered license and a certified license at the same time only if they are in different categories.  For example, an individual can hold a registered electrical contractor’s license and a certified alarm system contractor I license.

Do I have to register every county in which I wish to contract?

Yes. Your registered license is only good for the counties and municipalities which you registered with the Department of Business and Professional Regulation.  The application to add an additional county is on the main page, Apply For A License.

I am a journeyman in another state and want to apply for a Florida journeyman’s license. How do I obtain one?

The Department of Business and Professional Regulation does not license or regulate the journeyman’s license. You must contact the local county licensing office in the jurisdiction where you intend to practice.

Can I perform alarm contracting with my registered electrical (ER) license?

No. Alarm contracting is not within the scope of work for the ER license. You must hold a registered or certified alarm license.

Is there a license that allows me to do all electrical work?

Yes.  A certified electrical contractor license (EC) covers all types of electrical and alarm work.

Do I need a license to install photovoltaic (solar electric) systems?

Yes, a license is required to install a photovoltaic system.

Can a certified or registered electrical contractor install a photovoltaic system?

Yes, solar electric is within the scope of the certified and registered electrical contractor’s licenses.

Can a certified or registered electrical contractor install solar water systems?

No, solar water systems require a license from the Construction Industry Licensing Board.

Do I need a license to install a lightning protection system?

No, a license is not required to install lightning protection systems.

Do I need a license to install low voltage landscape lighting?

Yes. If you are not licensed as an electrical or alarm contractor, you must have a limited energy (low voltage) specialty license unless the system falls under the following exemption:

489.503 Exemptions. – This part does not apply to (24) A person who installs low-voltage landscape lighting that contains a factory-installed electrical cord with plug that does not require installation, wiring, or other modification to the electrical wiring of a structure.

Do I need a license to install low voltage wiring such as cable TV outlets, satellite TV outlets, surround sound speaker systems or computer networks?

Yes, if you are installing wiring within a structure for any reason including the items listed a license is required. Low voltage wiring work (any wiring under 98 volts) can be done by someone with a certified or registered Limited Energy Specialty license, an Alarm System I or II license, an Electrical Contractor License or a Residential Electrical Specialty license. The license specifically for this work is called the Limited Energy Systems Specialty.

Am I exempt for the low voltage wiring licensure requirement?

Probably not, the exemptions are listed in chapter 489.503, F.S. and primarily apply to public utility companies and their direct employees, not subcontractors. If you think you may be exempt you should contact an attorney and petition the board for a declaratory statement to ensure you are not engaging in unlicensed activity which can carry a fine of up top $5000 per offense.

Do I need a license to perform telecommunication and/or fiber optic work?

Yes. If you are not licensed as an electrical or alarm contractor, you must have a limited energy (low voltage) specialty license unless you are licensed under Chapter 364, F.S., as a public service/utility company.

What work can I do with the Limited Energy Systems Specialty License?

This is the definition of the Limited Energy Systems Specialty license.  The scope of certification of a limited energy systems specialty contractor includes the installation, repair, fabrication, erection, alteration, addition to, or design of electrical wiring, fixtures, appliances, thermostats, apparatus, raceways, conduit, and fiber optics (transmission of light over stranded glass) or any part thereof not to exceed 98 volts, (RMS). The scope of work of this license does not include installation, repair, fabrication, erection, alteration, addition to, or design of electrical wiring, fixtures, appliances, thermostats, apparatus, raceways, conduit, that are part of an alarm system.

Do I need a license to sell alarm systems?

Yes. The sale, installation and service of an alarm systems falls under the scope of work of an alarm contractor. If you are selling an alarm system that requires installation or monitoring, you must have a license.

Can a certified electrical or alarm contractor contract for work outside the scope of their license and then subcontract the work to a licensed contractor?

Yes, if the majority of the work is within the scope of the certified electrical or alarm contractor’s license. See 489.516(5), F.S.

Can a contractor qualify more than one business entity?

Yes. The board must approve the contractor to qualify more than one business. The contractor will be scheduled to appear at a Board meeting once the application is found to be complete.  He/she must demonstrate to the Board that he/she has both the capacity and intent to adequately supervise each business organization.

What does it mean to qualify a business?

It means the contractor has agreed to accept full responsibility of the business including financial transactions, signing permits, and supervising all jobs the business participates in.

What is the deadline for an additional business application?

The application must be received and deemed complete by the department at least 30 days prior to the next scheduled board meeting. If you miss the deadline, the application will be considered at the next scheduled meeting.

How many businesses can a license holder qualify?

There is no set number. However, you will be required to show that you can properly manage each additional business.

If I already qualify an additional business but I want to transfer my license to a different business, must I appear before the board?

Yes. You will be required to appear before the board.

What is an Additional Business Qualification?

It is approval from the Board to perform electrical contracting under an additional business.

Is it another license?

No. You only have one (1) license from the Electrical Board, which is the first license you were given. This is only authorization from the Board to perform contracting under another business name.

What will I use to pull permits for the additional business?

You will receive an additional business qualification document from the Department of Business and Professional Regulation and it has the same appearance as your original license but will have a different number followed by the words “Additional Business Qualification”

Can I transfer my additional business qualification?

No. Your additional business qualification will go null and void once you stop qualifying the additional business and notify the department (DBPR).

What should I do if I no longer qualify the additional business?

You should notify the Board as soon as you stop qualifying the additional business, mail back the additional business qualification document and wallet card and request the qualification be set to null and void.

This information should be sent to:
Department of Business and Professional Regulation
Electrical Contractors’ Licensing Board
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783

Can I let my primary license (the first one issued) go inactive, delinquent or null and void?

No. You must keep your primary license current and active for your additional business qualification(s) to be valid.

What happens if I let my primary license go inactive, delinquent or null and void and continue to work with my current additional business?

You can be disciplined by the Board for contracting on an inactive or delinquent license or for contracting without a license.

What if I stop qualifying the company associated with my primary license?

Then you must submit a transfer application to have your additional business transferred to your primary license.

What if my primary license is suspended or revoked?

Then all additional business qualifications are also suspended or revoked.

Does Florida have endorsement procedures to become licensed if I hold an electrical or alarm license from another state?

Yes. You must demonstrate that you have the experience required under chapter 489.511, F.S., as well as provide proof of successful completion of a licensing examination that is substantially equivalent to or exceeds the Florida examination. There is also a provision for endorsement if you demonstrate that you have an out-of-state license, and that the licensure requirements were substantially equivalent to Florida’s current requirements. (See 489.511(5) (b), F.S. for additional information).

Does Florida recognize any other states’ examination as substantially similar for the purpose of endorsement?

Yes.  Florida currently recognizes the following examinations for endorsement:

  • Florida Unlimited Electrical (EC) = North Carolina Unlimited
  • Florida Unlimited Electrical (EC) = Georgia Class II Unrestricted & Low Voltage Unlimited (must hold both Georgia licenses)
  • Florida Unlimited Electrical (EC) = California Electrical C-10 License Examination
  • Florida Residential Specialty (ES) = Georgia Class I
  • Florida Residential Specialty (ES) = North Carolina Limited License (L)
  • Florida (Low Voltage) Limited Energy (ES) = North Carolina Sp-LV
  • Florida (Low Voltage) Limited Energy (ES) = California Electrical C-7 License Examination

If you are applying from any state and category other than those listed above you will be required to submit the following items along with your application for endorsement:

  • The state statutes and rules governing your license the year you became licensed in that state.
  • The examination blueprint/outline for the examination you took to become licensed for the year you passed the examination in that state. Please note: In states where “Experior” was the administrator of the examination, the Department has been unable to obtain the blueprint for the examination given in the particular state.
  • Provide contact information for the licensing board of the state in which you are licensed and took an examination as well as the examination vendor if applicable. Specifically the name, address and phone number of the individual responsible for administering the examination program.

Endorsement List

Note: The review process for an endorsement application may take several months to complete.

What are the experience requirements for endorsement under 489.511(2)(a)?

You must meet one of the following experience requirements:

  • Must be licensed as an electrical professional engineer for three (3) years within the last 12 years; or
  • Must have three (3) years of management experience in the trade within the last six (6) years immediately preceding the filing of the application; or
  • Must have at least four (4) years of experience as a supervisor in electrical or alarm system work in the United States Armed Forces, within the eight (8) years immediately preceding the filing of the application; or
  • Must have four (4) years of experience as a foreman, supervisor or contractor in the trade within the last eight (8) years immediately preceding the filing of the application; or
  • Must have six (6) years of comprehensive training, technical education or broad experience associated with an electrical contracting business within the last 12 years immediately preceding the filing of the application; or
  • Must have at least six (6) years of technical experience in electrical work with the Armed Forces or a governmental entity within the last 12 years immediately preceding the filing of the application; or
  • Must have a combination of these qualifications totaling six (6) years of experience.

In addition, if you are applying for the following categories these specific experience requirements will apply:

EC – Certified Electrical Contractor
The required experience must include at least 40% of work that is in 3-phase services.

EF – Certified Alarm System Contractor I (All Alarm Systems)
The required experience must include at least 40% of work that is in fire alarm systems.

EG – Certified Alarm System Contractor II (Excluding Fire)
The required experience must include at least 40% of work that is in alarm systems other than fire alarm systems.

What documentation is required to verify my experience?

You will need to submit the following items with your initial certified licensure application.  

Evidence of your work experience

  • W2 forms
  • Employment verification forms signed by your employers
  • If self employed as a registered contractor in Florida or out of state you may submit 3 notarized letters of reference from other contractors or building officials who are familiar with your experience.
  • Job Lists – listing 5 jobs per year for each year of experience you are claiming. You may be able to submit a completed Employment Verification form in lieu of job lists if your experience has been gained through employment with a Florida licensed electrical/alarm or electrical specialty contractor. The qualifying Florida licensed electrical/alarm or electrical specialty contractor must complete the form.
What other documentation is required for an initial certification by endorsement application?

Evidence of financial responsibility

  1. A personal credit report
  2. A personal financial statement

Business Information

  1. Business credit report
  2. Business financial statement
  3. Certificate of Status from the Department of State Division of Corporations
What is a transfer application?

Transfer applications include moving your current license from one business to a new business or changing the name of the current business.

Do I need to renew my current license if I plan to transfer it to another company?

Yes.  A license must be current before a transfer can be processed.

What is the deadline for transfer applications?

Most transfer applications do not have to go before the Board, however if your application requires Board review it must be received and deemed complete at least 30 days prior to the next scheduled board meeting. If you miss the deadline, the application will be considered at the next scheduled meeting.

How can I obtain assistance completing my application?

If you have any questions or need assistance completing your application, please contact the Department’s Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395.

Where do I mail my application?

Department of Business and Professional Regulation
Central Intake Unit
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783

What are the insurance requirements for an electrical or alarm contractor license?

The Certification of Insurance coverage limits are as follows:

  • $300,000 Per Occurrence – including completed operations & products
  • $500,000 Property Damage – including completed operations & products
  • $100,000 Per Person; or
  • $800,000 Combined Single Limit
What information must be listed on a Certificate of Insurance?
  • Name of Insured – must be listed exactly as listed on the Division of Corporation’s Certification
  • Policy Number – binders are not acceptable
  • Coverage Limits – (see amounts listed above)
  • Workers’ Compensation Coverage
  • Effective and Expiration Date of Policy
  • Certificate Holder – DBPR/Electrical Board
  •                                     2601 Blair Stone Road
  •                                     Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783

NOTE: Up to three officers can be exempt from workers’ compensation. Qualifiers and Employees who are not officers cannot be exempt; employees (including qualifiers) must be covered by workers’ compensation.

When do I renew my license?

Certified and Registered electrical and alarm contractors renew their licenses on August 31 of every even-numbered year.

Can I renew my license if I have not completed my continuing education requirements?

No. If you have not completed your required continuing education credits, you will not be able to renew your license.

My registered license is null & void. How can I renew my license? Will my old license number remain the same?

Once a license has gone null and void, a previously licensed individual must reapply as though he or she never held a license.  The initial license number cannot be retained.

What is the renewal fees for electrical and alarm contractor licenses?
  • Certified licenses – $300
  • Registered licenses – $125
Is there an additional fee if I do not renew on time?

Yes.  The delinquent renewal fee for all licenses is $25.

Do I have to renew an inactive license?

Yes. You must renew your inactive license on or before August 31 of every even-numbered year.

What are the CE requirements for license renewal?

Prior to renewal, 14 hours of CE must be completed including:

  • 7 hours technical
  • 1 hour workers’ compensation
  • 1 hour workplace safety
  • 1 hour business practices
  • 2 hours false alarm prevention (For all certified and registered alarm contractors and certified electrical contractors who perform alarm work)
  • 1-2 hours general (2 hours for contractors not required to take false alarm prevention)
  • 1 hour Florida Building Code advanced module course
  • 1 hour Laws and Rules
I have been licensed for less than a year and I got a renewal notice, am I required to complete 14 hours of Continuing Education before I renew?

No, if your license was issued less than 12 months prior to August 31st of the renewal year, you do not owe any continuing education. If your license was issued more than 1 year, but less than 2 years, prior to August 31st of the renewal year, you owe 7 hours of continuing education as follows:

  • 2 hours technical
  • 1 hour workers’ compensation
  • 1 hour workplace safety
  • 1 hour business practices
  • 1 hour false alarm prevention (For all certified and registered alarm contractors and certified electrical contractors who perform alarm work)
  • 1 hour Laws and Rules

You can go online to your DBPR Online Services account and see exactly how many hours you owe for the current renewal cycle. For assistance accessing your online account, please contact the Customer Contact Center at 850-487-1395.

*Note: This does not apply to grandfathered licenses. If you grandfathered your license, you owe the full 14 hours of CE.

What are the requirements for taking an advanced module course?

As part of the 14-hours of continuing education (CE) during the renewal cycle, each licensee must have taken a one-hour advanced module course on the Florida Building Code from a department- approved provider.  A list of providers is on the main page, CE Requirements.

Who is required to take the false alarm prevention courses?

All alarm contractors and electrical contractors engaged in alarm contracting are required to complete two (2) hours of continuing education in false alarm prevention.

I am changing my license status to inactive. Am I required to maintain my continuing education?

No. However, when you reactive your license, you must show proof of completing 14 hours of continuing education.  They must include:

  • 7 hours technical
  • 1 hour workers’ compensation
  • 1 hour workplace safety
  • 1 hour business practices
  • 2 hours false alarm prevention (for all certified and registered alarm contractors and certified electrical contractors who perform alarm work)
  • 1-3 hours general credit
  • 1 hour Florida Building Code advanced module course

The continuing education courses must be taken during the last, or current, renewal cycle.

Can continuing education be completed online?

Yes. There are certain providers who are approved to teach online courses. A list of approved providers is on the main page, CE Requirements. Courses that are offered online are designated as either internet or online.

Can continuing education be completed as a home study course?

Yes. A maximum of 7 hours of continuing education can be taken through a home study course. There are certain providers who are approved to teach home study courses. A list of approved providers is on the main page, CE Requirements. Courses that are offered for home study are designated as home study.

Where can I obtain a list of continuing education courses and sponsors?

A list is available on the main page, CE Requirements. If you do not have Internet access, please contact the Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395 for assistance.

Where can I obtain a provider or course application?

The applications are on the main page, Apply For A License.
Mail the completed application and fees to:
Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR)
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783

What are the continuing education provider and course application fees?
  • Continuing education provider – $200
  • Continuing education course – $25 per credit hour (not to exceed $100) per course
Who determines which providers or courses are approved?

The courses are reviewed and approved by the board. The provider approval/registration is handled by department staff in Tallahassee.

Is there a deadline for course applications?

Yes.  Applications must be deemed complete 45 days prior to the meeting date to be considered at that meeting. If you miss the deadline, the application will be considered at the next scheduled meeting.

When will I know if my provider or course application has been approved?

You will receive written notification within seven to ten days after the board meeting.

Can I obtain a refund if I decide that I want to withdraw my application for provider or course?

No. Application fees are non-refundable.

How long is the provider approval valid?

Provider approvals expire May 31 of the next odd-numbered year.

How long is the course approval valid?

Course approvals expire May 31 of the next odd-numbered year, unless the provider’s approval expires or is revoked by the board.

What are the renewal fees for continuing education providers and courses?
  • Continuing education provider – $200
  • Continuing education course – $25 per credit hour (not to exceed $100) per course
Will I receive a renewal notice for my provider or course approvals?

Yes. Renewal notices are mailed 90 days prior to the expiration date of May 31 next-odd numbered year. It is the responsibility of the provider to renew the provider status and courses.

Can I have a course approved by the board when I am not an approved provider?

No.  Only approved providers can obtain course approval.

How can I attend a board meeting for continuing education (CE) credits?

You may receive up to 3 hours of continuing education per renewal cycle for attending a meeting of the Board in which disciplinary cases are heard. The disciplinary portion of the meeting is generally on the Thursday of a Board meeting and begins at 8:30 a.m.. Please check posted agendas to verify time and location. Note: You may not receive continuing education credit if appearing at the Board meeting for any other purpose than gaining continuing education credit.

How many hours of continuing education (CE) credits do I get for attending a board meeting?

You can earn up to three hours per renewal cycle for attending a meeting at which disciplinary cases are considered. You must attend the entire disciplinary portion of the meeting and cannot be a subject of the disciplinary proceedings.

How can I be added to the list of course instructors for a specific course?

An approved course provider may request board approval for you to be added to their instructor list.  The provider must submit your resume for board review.

How long are examinations scores valid?

Passing examination scores are valid for three (3) years from the date of the examination. Therefore, you must pass both parts of the examination and apply for licensure within three (3) years of the date you pass the first part of the examination. Additionally, if you already hold a current, active Certified Electrical, Alarm or Electrical Specialty license you are not required to retake the business and finance exam to be licensed in another category under the ECLB.

What do I do if I fail the Technical/Safety examination three (3) times?

If you fail the Technical and Safety examination three (3) times you must complete an additional seven (7) hours of continuing education courses in each of the areas failed.  You must also submit a new application with proof of the required continuing education and pay all fees. The fee is $327.50. The application is available on the main page, Apply For A License.

What do I do if I fail the Business examination three (3) times?

If you fail the Business examination three (3) times you must complete an additional 7 hours of continuing education courses in Business and submit the retake application with a fee of $127.50. The application is available on the main page, Apply For A License.

Where can I find out what types of questions are on the examination?

The Candidate Information Booklet provides a lot of information about the examination content and the references you will need to take the examination.

The Candidate Information Booklet is available on the main page, Apply For A License, Examination Information.

Where can I get more information about the examination?

The Candidate Information Booklet provides a lot of information about examination, be sure to review it if you have any questions about the examination.

The Candidate Information Booklet is on the main page, Apply For A License, Examination Information.

What is the fee to reactivate my inactive license?

The fee for reactivation of a Certified Electrical or Alarm Contractor license is $295. The fee for reactivation of a Registered Electrical or Alarm Contractor license is $120.

What is the fee to reactivate & renew my inactive license?

The fee for renewal & reactivation of a Certified Electrical or Alarm Contractor license is $350. The fee for renewal & reactivation of a Registered Electrical or Alarm Contractor license is $175.

What are the continuing education requirements for reactivation of an inactive license?
    1. If you have held your license through at least 1 renewal cycle the continuing education requirements for reactivation are as follows:
      • 7 hours Technical
      • 1 hour Workers’ Compensation
      • 1 hour Workplace Safety
      • 1 hour on Business Practices
      • 1 hour Advanced Module Course
      • 1 hour Florida Laws and Rules
      • 2 hours False Alarm Prevention for Alarm system contractors and Electrical contractors engaged in alarm system contracting

      The continuing education credits needed for reactivation must be completed within two (2) years preceding reactivation.

    2. If you were initially licensed 12 or more months prior to your first renewal, the continuing education requirements for reactivation are as follows:
      • 2 hours technical
      • 1 hour business
      • 1 hour worker’s compensation
      • 1 hour work place safety
      • 1 hour laws and rules
      • 1 hour False Alarm Prevention for Alarm system contractors and Electrical contractors engaged in alarm system contracting. For all other license holders, the remaining 1 hour shall be a general continuing education
    3. If you have been licensed for less than 12 months prior to the end of a biennial period, you do not need to complete any continuing education as a condition of reactivation.
Can I use an independent contractor for the sale of alarm systems that reports his or her income on TD Form 1099?

No. A person cannot work without a license as a contractor to sell alarm systems that require monitoring. The individual must be licensed or be an employee of a licensed alarm contractor.

What are my responsibilities as a primary qualifying agent for a business? Can the business have more than one qualifying agent?

Yes. All primary qualifying agents are jointly and equally responsible for supervision of all operations of the business; including financial, and all field work at all sites. Primary qualifying agents must be an officer or a supervising employee of the business.

When and where should I use my license number?

Your license number must be on:

  • Signs on vehicles
  • Offer of services
  • Contracts
  • Business proposals
  • Advertisements (regardless of medium)

Your license number does not need to be on promotional novelties such as balloons, pens, t-shirts.

What happens if my qualifying agent dies?

If your qualifying agent dies, you must notify the Electrical Contractors Licensing Board office within 30 days, if not immediately. You can request an emergency registration that will allow you to continue any jobs contracted prior to the qualifying agent’s death, regardless of whether a permit had already been obtained. You can fax your notification letter and request for emergency registration to the board office at 850.922.2918.

What is a Fire Alarm System Agent (FASA)?

Any employee of electrical or fire alarm contractors whose duties include any of the following:

  • Altering fire alarm systems
  • Installing fire alarm systems
  • Maintaining fire alarm systems
  • Moving fire alarm systems
  • Repairing fire alarm systems
  • Replacing fire alarm systems
  • Servicing fire alarm systems
  • Selling fire alarm systems
What is a Burglar Alarm System Agent (BASA)?

Any employee of electrical or burglar alarm contractors whose duties include any of the following:

  • Altering intrusion burglar alarm systems
  • Installing intrusion burglar alarm systems
  • Maintaining intrusion burglar alarm systems
  • Moving intrusion burglar alarm systems
  • Repairing intrusion burglar alarm systems
  • Replacing intrusion burglar alarm systems
  • Servicing intrusion burglar alarm systems
  • Selling intrusion burglar alarm systems
What are the requirements to become FASA or BASA certified?

Any employees of electrical or alarm contractors engaged in the contracting or installation of alarm systems need to be certified as either a Fire Alarm System Agent (FASA) or Burglar Alarm System Agent (BASA). FASA and BASA certification requires the employee meet the following criteria:

  • Is at least 18 years of age
  • Completed a minimum of 14 hours of training by a board approved provider
  • Has not been convicted of a crime directly related to the business within the last three (3) years
  • Must obtain from the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) a completed fingerprint and background check if applying as a burglar or fire alarm system agent every two (2) years
  • Has not been committed for substance abuse within the last three (3) years
Do all employees of electrical or alarm contractors engaged in the contracting or installation of alarm systems have to take the 14-hour training course?

No.  The following individuals are exempt:

  • Employees of a licensed contractor who perform only monitoring of alarm systems
  • License holders of a Certified electrical or alarm contractor’s license
  • Licensed journeyman are exempt from the initial training only, and must possess a FASA or BASA card and complete an approved six (6) hour renewal course every two (2) years
  • See Section 489.518, Florida Statutes for additional exemptions.
Are any employees of an alarm contractor exempt from the criminal background check?

Yes. Employees who only perform monitoring at an out of state site are not required to complete the criminal background check.

Can an employee start working before the criminal background check and training are complete?

Yes. The criminal background check and training must be completed within 90 days of employment.

How do I obtain the fingerprint criminal background check?

You must contact the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) for fingerprint cards and then submit the card and required fee to the FDLE for processing. The fee is $23.00 and the telephone number for the public records section of FDLE is 850.410.8109.

What is the FASA/BASA identification card?

The licensed electrical or alarm system contractor must provide each FASA/BASA employee with an identification card that includes the following:

  • Photo of the agent
  • Name of the agent
  • Signature of Agent
  • Name, address and license number of the contractor
  • Signature of the contractor
  • Issue date and expiration date
BURGLAR ALARM SYSTEM AGENT
The bearer of this card has met the training and CE requirements pursuant to Section 489.5218.F.S.
PHOTO HERE Name: Tom Brown
Business: Alarm Center, Inc.
Address: 2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, Fl 32399-0783
Signature: Tom Brown
Qualifier: John Doe License # EC 0012345
Signature: John Doe
Issued: October 1, 2004 Expires: September 30, 2006

 

FIRE ALARM SYSTEM AGENT
The bearer of this card has met the training and CE requirements pursuant to Section 489.5218.F.S.
PHOTO HERE Name: Tom Brown
Business: Alarm Center, Inc.
Address: 2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783
Signature: Tom Brown
Qualifier: John Doe License # EC 0012345
Signature: John Doe
Issued: October 1, 2004 Expires: September 30, 2006
Are there continuing education requirements for FASA /BASA agents?

Yes. Each FASA/BASA agent must complete six (6) hours of board-approved continuing education every two (2) years to include false alarm reduction (See 489.5185, Florida Statutes and Rule 61G6-12, Florida Administrative Code for additional information on FASA and BASA requirements).

Can experience in the U.S. Armed Forces be used to qualify for licensure?

Experience in electrical or alarm work in the U.S. Armed Forces can be used to meet some or all of the experience required for licensure. After passing the appropriate exam please submit a completed ECLB Form 1-A or ECLB Form 2-A.

  • Applicants will need to submit his or her DD-214 or NGB-22 detailing his or her military experience, education and training.
  • Applicants will be required to provide descriptions of specific electrical or alarm work performed in the military.
  • Military experience can be combined with non-military trade experience to meet the requirement of 6 years of experience within the last 12 years.

Need Help?

All requests for publications, documents, forms, applications for licenses, permits and other similar certifications can be obtained by contacting the Customer Contact Center.

Division of Professions
Electrical Contractors’ Licensing Board
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0791

Telephone: 850.487.1395
Facsimile: 850.488.8040