Once the elevator company turns the conveyance over to the owner, the owner must apply for the initial license to operate, also called a Certificate of Operation. The bureau will issue an initial Certificate of Operation to the new owner. The owner is responsible for maintaining the license, scheduling inspections, and providing the division with current mailing information.

If your elevator operations are within one of the division’s contracted jurisdictions, please contact the appropriate jurisdiction for permits, licensing, inspections, and other services provided.

Before the division may issue a new or renewal Certificate of Operation, owners or operators must perform the following:

1. Inspection

All conveyances, unless exempted by Florida Statutes, must pass an inspection with no violations each year before the division can issue a Certificate of Operation. A current, satisfactory inspection performed by a certified, private, third-party inspector is required for initial licensure and each annual renewal. See What Every Elevator Owner Needs to Know and our inspections website for more information on inspections.

Two-Stop Elevator Inspection Exemption – Florida law exempts two-stop elevators with a current full-service maintenance contract from the annual inspection requirement. You must notify the division of the service maintenance contract if you believe you qualify for this exemption by submitting a verification that you have a full-service maintenance contract with a registered elevator company that is performing all required maintenance and testing. A copy of a bill statement for a service maintenance contract does not qualify you for the exemption. Additional information on the two-stop exemption and service maintenance contracts is available in Chapter 399, Florida Statutes and Chapter 61C-5, Florida Administrative Code.

If you have changed or acquired a new service maintenance company during the past year, you are required by law to notify the division prior to renewing your license.

2. Application

Obtain and complete the appropriate application form. A separate license application is required for each conveyance.

Renewal notices are mailed to the mailing address on record.

3. License Fee

The license fee for elevators is $75 for all types of elevators licensed by the division. This fee must be paid before a license will be issued. Please make checks payable to the Division of Hotels and Restaurants. For faster processing, please write the license number of the elevator on the check. If you own more than one elevator, you may write one check for all and enclose of all your elevator license numbers with the combined check. For assistance in determining the correct license fee, please contact the department at 850.487.1395.

Note: If the elevator company paid the initial license fee, the owner will not be charged a fee for the initial license, but will be responsible for the annual renewal fee.

4. Submit Application and Fees

Send the completed permit application, all required documentation, and the appropriate fee to:

Department of Business and Professional Regulation
Division of Hotels and Restaurants
Bureau of Elevator Safety
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0783

Most applications are processed within two weeks, but for planning purposes please allow 3-4 weeks for processing.

5. License Renewal

All licenses expire on July 31 each year and must be renewed annually. The division mails renewal notices to the mailing address on record. The licensee is responsible for notifying the division of an address change. The renewal notice, the appropriate fee, and any required documentation must be returned to the bureau by July 31. Owners or operators who do not renew by the expiration date and continue using the vertical conveyance are operating without a license and subject to administrative actions by the division. Any license renewal postmarked or paid on or after August 1 will be assessed a $50 late fee. The division posts a listing of all open renewals for the convenience of its licensees on the elevator renewals webpage.

6. Change of Owner / Operator / Licensee

A change in the owner, operator or licensee requires completion of an application for a Certificate of Operation within 30 days of transfer of ownership. It is the responsibility of the new owner, operator, or licensee to notify the division of the change and obtain the required license. A license fee is not required for a change of owner application if renewal is not required. The new licensee will be responsible for annual inspections and renewal.

7. Reactivating Sealed Elevators

Reactivating a sealed elevator requires an inspection, application, and fee as described above and an unsealing visit conducted by the division. Contact the department at 850.487.1395 to schedule the unsealing visit.

Need Help?

All requests for public records, complaints, forms, and applications for licenses can be obtained by contacting the Customer Contact Center.

Rick Akin, Director

Division of Hotels and Restaurants
Bureau of Elevator Safety
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1013

Telephone: 850.487.1395
Email: dhr.elevators@myfloridalicense.com