The division registers elevator companies and issues professional licenses for Certified Elevator Inspector, Certificate of Competency, and Certified Elevator Technician. Florida law requires elevator workers and elevator companies to register with and/or obtain a license from the division before performing any work. Florida law also requires permits for installing, altering, relocating, and operating elevators.

Additional information regarding professional credentials is available in our Frequently Asked Questions.

Before the division may accept a registration or issue a license, applicants must complete the following:

1.Complete requirements for type of license required.

Registered Elevator Company

A company registered with and authorized by the bureau to construct, install, inspect, maintain, or repair any vertical conveyance.

1. Proof of General Liability Insurance

Obtain general liability insurance in a minimum amount of $100,000 per person and $300,000 per occurrence. All elevator companies, elevator inspectors, and independent elevator technicians must have insurance as described above. Proof of insurance must be provided to the division with the application.

2. Application

Obtain and complete the application for registration for elevator company.

3. Certificate(s) of Competency

Designate one or more Certificate of Competency holder employed by the company who is responsible for signing permit applications and affidavits of code compliance and providing the required direct supervision on all work performed.

Certificate of Competency

A Certificate of Competency is a credential that certifies the holder is qualified to become a Certified Elevator Technician, but does not authorize any work to be performed on vertical conveyances.

You do not have to register as a Certified Elevator Technician to obtain a Certificate of Competency; however, you are not licensed to work on vertical conveyances until you register as a Certified Elevator Technician.

1. Education and Professional Experience

You may qualify for a Certificate of Competency through either education only or a combination of education and experience. You must provide documentation of the qualifications required under either A. or B. below.

A. Education Only:

1. Proof of Degree in Mechanical Engineering

B. Education and Experience:

1. Proof of completion of one of the following:

  • Passage of the Certificate of Competency test administered by Elevator World.
  • Apprenticeship in elevator mechanics approved by the United States Department of Labor.
  • Endorsement from NEIEP or NAEC.
  • Proof of licensure or certification by another jurisdiction in the United States having standards substantially equal to or more stringent than Florida’s standards.
    Contact the division to find out if your license from another jurisdiction meets this requirement.

2. Proof of four years experience constructing, maintaining, servicing, or repairing elevators or other conveyances regulated by the division. The experience must be verified by a registered elevator company.

2. Application

Obtain and complete the appropriate application form.

3. Fee

A $50 license fee is required with the application.

Certified Elevator Technician

You must hold a Certificate of Competency, issued by the division, before you can register as a Certified Elevator Technician. Only Certified Elevator Technicians are properly licensed and registered to construct, install, maintain or repair vertical conveyances in the State of Florida.  If you want to perform work on vertical conveyances in the State of Florida, you must register as a Certified Elevator Technician.

1. Application

If you have NOT applied for a Certificate of Competency:

Apply for a Certificate of Competency and indicate you are also applying for the annual Certified Elevator Technician (CET) registration.

If you HAVE applied for a Certificate of Competency:

Obtain and complete the application form, provide your Certificate of Competency number and indicate you are applying for the annual Certified Elevator Technician (CET) registration.

2. Proof of General Liability Insurance

Obtain general liability insurance in a minimum amount of $100,000 per person and $300,000 per occurrence. All elevator companies, elevator inspectors, and independent elevator technicians must be covered by insurance as described above. Proof of insurance must be provided with the application.

Certified Elevator Inspector

A credential required by state law, certifying the holder has received the training necessary to construct, install, inspect, maintain or repair vertical conveyances and currently holds a qualified elevator inspector credential as prescribed by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

1. Proof of General Liability Insurance

Obtain general liability insurance in a minimum amount of $100,000 per person and $300,000 per occurrence. All elevator companies, elevator inspectors, and independent elevator technicians must have insurance as described above. Proof of insurance must be provided to the division with the application.

2. Credentials

Obtain a credential as a qualified elevator inspector. Contact one of the following national credentialing entities for further information.

3. Application

Obtain and complete the application for registration for a certified elevator inspector.

2. Submit Application and Fees

Send the completed application, all required documentation, and the $50 fee (for the Certificate of Competency only) to:

Department of Business and Professional Regulation
Division of Hotels and Restaurants
Bureau of Elevator Safety
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0783

Most applications are processed within two weeks, but for planning purposes please allow 3-4 weeks

3. Continuing Education

Continuing Education Courses

The division provides information on continuing education providers to help our licensees locate an approved provider for their training needs.

Continuing Education Course Search

Continuing Education Providers

Continuing education providers must register with the division and obtain approval for continuing education courses before a course will apply to the continuing education requirements for elevator professionals.

To register as a provider and obtain course approval, you must submit DBPR Form HR 5023-017.

4. Annual Renewal

All licenses expire on December 31 each year and must be renewed annually. The division mails renewal notices to the address the division has on record as a courtesy reminder. The licensee is responsible for renewing the license before expiration. The licensee must notify the division of an address change.

The renewal notice, all required documentation, and the $50 fee for a Certificate of Competency, must be returned to the division by December 31 to renew your license. To avoid a delay in your renewal, it is strongly recommended that you submit your renewal as early as possible.

Need Help?

All requests for public records, complaints, forms, and applications for licenses can be obtained by contacting the Customer Contact Center.

Rick Akin, Director

Division of Hotels and Restaurants
Bureau of Elevator Safety
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1013

Telephone: 850.487.1395
Email: dhr.elevators@myfloridalicense.com