Will there be a Board of Professional Home Inspectors?
No, the Department of Business and Professional Regulation licenses and regulates Professional Home Inspectors in the State of Florida.
What are the statutes and rules that govern the Home Inspection Profession?
Chapter 468 Part XV of the Florida Statutes and Rule 61-30 of the Florida Administrative Code.
Where can I obtain the laws and rules of the profession?
The laws and rules may be obtained on the main page, Statutes and Rules. If you need further assistance, you may call the Department’s Customer Contact Center at 1.850.487.1395.
What are the requirements to become a licensed home inspector in the State of Florida?
Licensure by examination requirements for initial licensure are:
- Passing a department approved examination.
- Completion of a department approved 120-hour course of study that covers a home’s structure, electrical system, HVAC system, roof covering, plumbing system, interior components, exterior components, and site conditions that affect the structure. All department approved 120 hour pre-licensing courses can be found on the main page, Apply For A License.
- Applicants must submit an application, fee and submit to a criminal background check.
Licensure by endorsement: Applicants licensed or certified in another state as a home inspector with substantially equivalent licensing requirements as in Florida may qualify for licensure by endorsement. Applicants must submit an application, fee and submit to a criminal background check.
Licensure by endorsement (10 years of experience): Applicants who maintain an insurance policy as required by this state and has held a license for at least 10 years in another state(s) or territory. However such applicants must apply while they hold a valid license in another state(s) or within 2 years after the expiration of such license.
Grandfathering: Based on Section 468.8324, F.S., the grandfathering clause was amended during the 2011 Legislative Session and ended on July 1, 2012.
Additional licensure requirements for all applicants: An applicant for licensure must submit to a criminal background check, be of good moral character, and obtain a $300,000 commercial general liability insurance policy.
Do I currently need a license to perform home inspections?
Yes, a license was required beginning July 1, 2010.
Does the Department license Home Inspection businesses?
No, the Department does not license home inspection businesses. Only individuals are licensed to perform home inspections.
What examination is given?
Anyone desiring to be licensed by examination will be required to pass a department approved examination. The list of department approved examinations can be found on the main page, Apply For A License, Examination Information. The applicant must provide proof of passing the examination as part of the application process.
What happens after I pass the examination?
Applicants must meet the other licensure requirements, including good moral character, fingerprints, completion of educational/experience requirements, fees, and insurance. Applicants then apply to the department for licensure.
The department denied my application. Are any of the fees refundable?
The application fee is non-refundable. The initial license fee and unlicensed activity fee is refundable. Denied candidates must make a written request for a refund to the Executive Director at the Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Professional Home Inspector Licensing Program, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0783.
I lost my license. How may I obtain a duplicate?
You may print another license at any time.
Can I change my address online?
Yes. Visit our website at www.MyFloridaLicense.com > Online Services. You can also change your telephone number and email address here.
How can I change my address if I do not have a computer?
You may submit the change in writing or by fax to 850-488-8040:
- Department of Business and Professional Regulation
- Central Intake Unit – License Maintenance
- 2601 Blair Stone Road
- Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783
How can I obtain assistance on completing my application?
If you have any questions or need assistance completing your application, please contact the Department’s Customer Contact Center at 1.850.487.1395.
Where do I mail my application?
- Department of Business and Professional Regulation
- Central Intake Unit
- 2601 Blair Stone Road
- Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783
What are the fees for professional home inspector applications?
- Application fee: $125.00
- Licensure fee: $100.00
- Unlicensed Activity fee: $5.00
How can I find information about the fingerprint requirement?
To learn more about fingerprinting, please visit our Fingerprinting webpage.
What do I need to submit with my Home Inspector’s application if I answer yes to one of the background questions?
It is imperative to read the application question relative to criminal history carefully and fully disclose all incidents that apply. Failure to disclose may be cause for denial or disciplinary action against your license in the future.
Answering “yes” to one of the four questions below will require review and approval by the Executive Director. You will need to provide a written explanation of each disclosure as well as submitting the required documentation:
If you answer “yes” to this question, you must provide a copy of the arrest report, copies of the disposition or final order(s), and documentation proving all sanctions have been served and satisfied. You must supply this documentation for each occurrence. If you are unable to supply this documentation, a certified statement from the clerk of court for the relevant jurisdiction stating the status of records is required.
If you are still on probation, you must supply a letter from your probation officer, on official letterhead, stating the status of your probation.
If you answer “yes” to this question, you must provide a copy of the judgment or decree. You must also supply documentation proving all sanctions have been served and satisfied, or if not, stating the current status of any proceedings.
If you answer “yes” to this question, you must supply copies of documentation explaining the denial or pending action.
If you answer “yes” to this question, you must supply copies of the order(s) showing the disciplinary action taken against the license, or documentation showing the status of the pending action.
For assistance in locating applicable laws and rules, you may call the Customer Contact Center at 850-487-1395.
How often do I need to renew my professional home inspector license?
You must renew every even year no later than July 31st.
How much are the renewal fees?
The biennial renewal fee for active status Home Inspector is $105.00 (Active Renewal $100.00 and Unlicensed Activity Fee $5.00).
How do I renew my professional home inspector license?
DBPR will send you a notification that the renewal period is open, at which time you can renew your license(s). This will be 90-120 days before the expiration. All notices will be provided via email. We encourage you to keep your information up to date and renew online. DBPR online services offer a quick and easy way to renew your license, find license requirements, apply for a license and update a license.
I did not renew my professional home inspector license on time. What do I do?
In addition to the renewal fee ($100.00) and unlicensed activity fee ($5.00), you are required to pay a ($25.00) delinquent fee. Please submit your renewal and delinquent fees to: the Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Central Intake Unit, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783; online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com; or with a Customer Contact Center Agent at 850.487.1395.
What are the fees to renew a Continuing Education Provider license?
Provided there are no changes in the original application you may renew your Continuing Education Provider license by paying the renewal fee of $125.00 on or before the biennial renewal date.
How many continuing education credits are required to renew my professional home inspector license?
Both active and inactive licensed professional home inspectors are required to complete 14 hours of continuing education credits for renewal. The continuing education must include 12 hours of general continuing education courses, course topics concerning home inspection services or the components of a home, including the limited visual examination of the following readily accessible installed systems and components of a home for the purpose of providing a written report of the condition of the home:
- The structure,
- Electrical system,
- HVAC system,
- Roof covering,
- Plumbing system,
- Interior components,
- Exterior components, and
- Site conditions that affect the structure.
And 2 hours of hurricane wind mitigation which shall include training on completion of the “Uniform Mitigation Verification Inspection Form,” OIR-B1-1802 (Rev. 01/12), incorporated by reference in Rule 69O-170.0155, F.A.C. (eff. 2/1/12).
A list of approved continuing education courses for general and hurricane mitigation CE credits can be found on the main page, CE Requirements.
What are the fees for Continuing Education Provider licensure?
A fee of $125.00 is required for Continuing Education Providers.
Whom do I contact if I have a complaint about a licensed professional home inspector?
Contact the department’s Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395 or file a complaint online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com > File a Complaint.
I have a complaint about an unlicensed home inspector. Whom do I contact?
Contact the department’s toll-free unlicensed activity complaint line at 1.866.532.1440 or file a complaint online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com > File a Complaint.
For the required general liability insurance, can the company have the insurance instead of the individual?
Yes, as long as the licensed individual is named on the policy.
A. What if the department cannot approve the application for a background issue? Is it just denied or is there another review? How would this work since there is not a Home Inspector Board?
The application is sent to the Executive Director for review; it will be approved or denied at that point after consulting with the assigned professions attorney.
B. How long will this take?
The department has up to 90 days to approve or deny a completed application; however the average turnaround time has been three to four weeks after receiving all of the documentation that completes an application.
Is there a difference between a building inspection vs. a home inspection?
Yes, building inspectors deal with and ensure buildings and homes meet building codes and home inspectors make visual inspection of homes to provide a written professional opinion of the condition of the home.
Home Inspection is its own profession and anyone holding themselves out to the public as a home inspector will require a license. This will include building inspectors, contractors, architects and engineers. All of these professions may inspect components of a home within the scope of their license but they cannot call or represent themselves as a home inspector. They are similar but different professions.
When sending a copy of exam results with an initial license application, what are the required elements on the exam results for them to meet application review standards (i.e. name of exam, who proctored, where taken, date taken, score, on letterhead, etc.)?
For initial licensure by exam the applicant must pass a department approved examination. The application on Page 4 will ask for the Provider /School name, Provider/School number, course name, course number, certificate of completion of the 120-hour course, and proof of passing a department approved examination. To be eligible for licensure by endorsement, out-of-state applicants must hold a valid certification / license in another state whose licensure requirements and licensure examination are substantially similar to this state. The required elements are listed on page 4 of the application, which include a certificate of licensure from your home state that shows:
- Your name
- License number
- Date of initial licensure
- That the license was obtained by passing a proctored national, regional, state, or territorial examination
How long are exam results valid? Would a person who let the license go null and void have to retake the exam to get licensed again or is the exam a one time requirement?
The exam is a one time requirement for those who were licensed by initial examination (120 hour course and a department approved examination). However if someone who has been licensed by endorsement or grandfathering goes null and void they would have to apply as though they have never been licensed.
How long is pre-licensure education valid?
Approved Pre-licensure courses are only required to be taken once.
Does a Home Inspector license allow home inspectors to do wind mitigation related inspections on a home and complete the “Uniform Mitigation Verification Inspection Form,” OIR-B1-1802 (Rev. 01/12), incorporated by reference in Rule 69O-170.0155, F.A.C. (eff. 2/1/12)?
As of July 1, 2010 licensed Florida Home Inspectors can sign the “Uniform Mitigation Verification Inspection Form,” for insurance discount purposes, if they receive certain training. The required training must consist of at least 3 hours of hurricane mitigation training approved by the Construction Industry Licensing Board and include hurricane mitigation techniques and compliance with the uniform mitigation verification form and completion of a proficiency exam. A list of the approved courses can be found on the main page, Renew & Manage My License.
When applying for the Home Inspector license, is it required to submit documentation of proof that I have this insurance?
No, the application only asks if the applicant has obtained the proper amount of general liability insurance ($300,000) and that they attest to having the proper coverage by signing the application.
What examinations are acceptable for licensure by endorsement?
Examinations will be evaluated on a case-by-case basis.
Are providers who offer Home Inspectors Pre-licensure Courses required to include qualifications of the instructors when submitting course applications?
Yes. To eliminate delays and expedite the approval process, providers must include a detailed Instructor’s resume’ with their applications.
I am applying for licensure in another state. How do I obtain my licensure certification from Florida?
You can verify your license to another state by using DBPR’s Online Services. Create an online account or logon to your existing account at www.myfloridalicense.com. Select “Request License Certification” from the License Menu. Complete the online application and pay the $25 fee by credit card or electronic check. A copy of your license record will be created and mailed by U.S. mail directly to the address you provide during the transaction. Please allow 10 business days for the other state to receive the document. You will also receive an email copy of the certification for your records.
If you need to send certification of your license to multiple states you will repeat the instructions above and pay the required $25 application fee for each request.
All requests for publications, documents, forms, applications for licenses, permits and other similar certifications can be obtained by contacting the Customer Contact Center.
Division of Professions
Home Inspectors Licensing Program
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0791