Human Trafficking Awareness

In 2019 section 509.096 was added to Chapter 509, Florida Statutes. This section requires all public lodging establishments to provide annual training on human trafficking awareness to employees of the establishment who perform housekeeping duties in the rental units or who work at the front desk or reception area where guests check in or check out. The training must be provided for new employees within 60 days after they begin employment in a housekeeping or reception area role, or by January 1, 2021, whichever occurs later.

The information contained on this page is intended to provide information and clarification on this new requirement for public lodging establishments within the state of Florida. The public awareness sign linked below was created as a convenience for establishments to print and post in an area accessible to employees. Please be sure to print this sign on paper of at least 11in x 15in (minimum size requirement, per Statute).

Resources & Materials

  • Industry Bulletin – PDF
  • Public Awareness Sign – PDF (print 11 x 15in)

Curriculum Approval

A public lodging establishment can create their own training curriculum to provide to their employees, or choose from a curriculum that is already available. If an establishment wishes to submit a new curriculum to DBPR for review and approval, please send the curriculum as an email attachment to DHR.Info@myfloridalicense.com, along with a brief statement requesting review of the curriculum. Alternatively, an establishment may present the training curriculum to a representative of the Division during an inspection visit to the establishment, providing the option for the curriculum to be reviewed during the inspection.

Approved 3rd Party Curriculums (updated monthly)

DBPR has received requests to review human trafficking training curriculums from several third-party organizations that may offer their courses to the public. The following is a list of course curriculums that have already been reviewed by the Division of Hotels & Restaurants, and are approved for use in public lodging establishments within Florida due to their confirmed compliance with section 509.096, Florida Statutes.

  • Asian American Hotel Owners Association (AAHOA): aahoa.com
  • Aimbridge Hospitality: aimbridgehospitality.com
  • Bon-Aire Motel Inc: bonaireresort.com
  • Bridge Investment Group: BridgeIG.com
  • Business Ending Slavery and Trafficking (BEST):  bestalliance.org
  • Choice Hotels:  choiceuniversity.net
  • ECPAT-USA: ecpatusa.org
  • Edge2Learn:  edge2learn.com
  • Florida Alliance to End Human Trafficking (FirstHT): floridaallianceendht.com
  • Florida Apartment Association (FAA): faahq.org
  • Florida Restaurant & Lodging Association (FRLA):  frla.org
  • Four Seasons Hotels & Resorts:  fourseasons.com
  • Franklin Asset Management Co., Inc: franklin-communities.com
  • G6 Hospitality LLC: g6hospitality.com
  • Gables Residential:  gables.com
  • Gate Hospitality Group: Gatehospitality.com
  • General Services Corp: gscapts.com
  • Grace Hill/National Apartment Association’s Education Institute (NAAEI): GraceHill.com
  • Grow Learning Management System: growlearning.com
  • Hawthorne Estates: hawthornevillageofocala.com/estates.html
  • Hilton: Hilton.com
  • Home of Training: homeoftraining.com
  • Human Trafficking Coalition of the Palm Beaches: htcpb.org
  • Human Trafficking Education Seminars: humantraffickingeducationseminars.com
  • Hyatt (Frontline Staff): hyatt.com
  • Hyatt (Security Personnel): hyatt.com
  • Lenox Corner Apartments: lenoxcorner.com
  • Loews Hotels & Co: loewshotels.com
  • Marriott International:  marriott.com
  • Marriott Vacations Worldwide: marriottvacationsworldwide.com
  • Omni Hotels & Resorts: omnihotels.com
  • Paycom: paycomonline.com
  • Princeton Enterprises: princetonmanagement.com
  • R+L Carriers Shared Services LLC: no website
  • Realpage: realpage.com/services/learning-management-system
  • Red Roof: redroof.com
  • Sun Communities Inc.: suncommunities.com
  • Sunny Acres Park, LLC: no website
  • The Shelter for Abused Women & Children: naplesshelter.org
  • Train 321:  homeoftraining.com
  • United World Mission: uwm.org
  • Vi Living: ViLiving.com
  • Walt Disney Parks and Resorts: disney.com
  • West Manor Park, LLC: no website
  • Westgate Resorts: westgateresorts.com
  • Wyndham Hotels and Resorts: WyndhamHotels.com
  • Yardi Aspire: Yardi.com

FAQ

The Division has compiled a list of commonly-asked questions about the human trafficking requirements for public lodging establishments. A list of questions and answers can be found here.

If you need more information on human trafficking, or wish to report a concern related to human trafficking, the following link will redirect you to the National Human Trafficking Rescue Center: https://humantraffickinghotline.org/

Need Help?

All requests for public records, complaints, forms, and applications for licenses can be obtained by contacting the Customer Contact Center.

Steven von Bodungen, Director

Division of Hotels and Restaurants
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1011

Telephone: 850.487.1395
Email: dhr.info@myfloridalicense.com