National Association for Moisture Management has been approved by Department as a licensing examination for Mold Assessors and Mold Remediators.
The Department has withdrawn the proposed rules regarding minimum standards of practice for mold assessors and mold remediators (rules 61-31.701 and .702). The notice that withdrew these rules published in the Florida Administrative Register this morning and is available at the following link: http://www.FLRules.org/gateway/View_Notice.asp?id=15783857
February 26, 2015 Rules Hearing (Conference Call)
There will be a FEE HOLIDAY for mold assessors and mold remediators who are renewing their license (active or inactive) in the 2014 renewal cycle. This means that mold assessors and mold remediators will only need to pay a $5.00 unlicensed activity fee in order to renew their license for the next two years. The fee must be paid before July 31, 2014 when the renewal period ends to avoid other fees. All licensees will be sent a renewal application which can be returned to the department with the $5.00 unlicensed activity fee or renew online through their individual account.
Please contact the department at 850.487.1395 if you have any questions, problems renewing or logging into your account.
Effective immediately the Institute of Inspection Cleaning and Restoration Certification (IICRC) examination for Mold Removal Specialist (MRS) will be accepted by DBPR for applicants seeking licensure in Florida as Mold Remediators. Please note that passing an examination is only one of the requirements for licensure in Florida. Candidates who pass the IICRC exam will still need to meet the educational requirements as listed in 468.8413, F.S. in order to be licensed.
On January 31, 2014, Rule Chapter 61-31, Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.), became effective. These rules, along with Chapter 468, Part XVI, Florida Statutes, are the result of many coordinated efforts between the Department and industry stakeholders and are now final. Some aspects of the continuing education program for mold related services have changed as a result of these new rules. Some key changes are detailed below:
- Per Rule 61-31.501(2)(a), F.A.C., the fee to renew or obtain a new provider license was reduced from $500 to $250.
- Per Rule 61-31.505(4)(b) and (4)(c), F.A.C., the 14 hours of continuing education required for licensed mold related services must include 14 hours of general instruction based on the standards of practice including water (moisture intrusion), mold and mold safety. Courses approved prior to January 31, 2014, will meet the existing education requirements for the 2014 license renewal cycle, but will not be renewed after the course’s expiration date. If a provider desires to continue offering the continuing education course after it expires, the provider will be required to submit a new course application that complies with the new requirements.
- Per Rule 61-31.505(5)(a), F.A.C., all instructors must hold active or inactive licenses as mold assessors or mold remediators. Unlicensed individuals may not serve as instructors for any approved course.
While key changes to the rules have been identified here, all providers and licensees are encouraged to review the full text of the laws and rules at the Mold Related Licensing Services Program website by visiting www.MyFloridaLicense.com > Our Businesses & Professions > Mold-Related Services > Statutes and Rules.
Continuing Education Requirements reduced for Activation of an Inactive License
HB 517 was approved by Governor Rick Scott on April 6, 2012 and reduces the continuing education required to activate an inactive license. You now only have to complete one renewal cycle of continuing education instead of completing continuing education for all the renewal cycles your license was in an inactive status. Applicants will need to provide proof of completing the continuing education requirements in effect at the last renewal date immediately prior to their application. Those requirements are included in Chapter 61-31.504, F.A.C.:
61-31.504 Continuing Education Requirements for Biennial Renewal
(1) Prior to the expiration of each biennial licensure period, and as a condition for renewal of the mold assessor and/or mold remediator license, each person licensed pursuant to Chapter 468, Part XVI, Florida Statutes, shall complete a minimum of fourteen (14) hours of continuing education which shall include, at a minimum, all of the following subjects as they relate to the practice of mold assessment and/or mold remediation:
(a) A minimum of six (6) hours of instruction regarding water (moisture intrusion),
(b) A minimum of four (4) hours of instruction regarding mold and mold safety, to include respiratory protection,
(c) A minimum of two (2) hours of instruction regarding report writing,
(d) A minimum of two (2) hours of instruction regarding standards of practice.
(2) Continuing education credits may be obtained for the completion of courses or seminars offered by education providers approved by the department. A list of such providers is available from the department at www.myfloridalicense.com/CESearch.asp?SID=&div=07
(a) A licensee, who is an instructor, may obtain continuing education credits in the amount of the credits allowed for that course or seminar for his/her first presentation of such course or seminar.
(b) No licensee may claim credit until after the credit has been earned by that licensee.
(3) Licensees need not comply with continuing education requirements prior to the licensee’s first full renewal cycle.
Continuing Education Update
It is not necessary for Mold Assessors and Remediators to take any continuing education credits (CE) to renew their licenses for the first renewal cycle. Only CE credits taken after August 1, 2012 will be counted for the 2012 – 2014 renewal cycle.
Enforcement of Unlicensed Activity for Mold Assessors and Mold Remediators will begin July 1, 2011
House Bill 713 delayed unlicensed enforcement of mold assessor and mold remediator licensure until July 1, 2011. This delay allowed initial applicants and those who were already working in the profession the necessary time to complete education, experience and testing necessary to meet the licensure requirements. In addition, this delay helped to identify any unintended consequences of the new legislation and present possible solutions during the 2011 Legislative Session. Starting on July 1, 2011, the full enforcement of mold assessor and mold remediator licensure requirements per Chapter 468, Part XVI, Florida Statutes. This means anyone holding themselves out to be a mold assessor or mold remediator needs to be licensed through the Department of Business and Professional Regulation. Please review Chapter 468, Part XVI, Florida Statutes for the laws detailing Mold Related Services.
Streamlined Applications Released
In an effort to assist applicants through the licensure process and to reduce the number of deficient applications, the Department of Business and Professional Regulation conducted a complete review and revision of all applications. The updated applications were launched June 28, 2012.
All requests for publications, documents, forms, applications for licenses, permits and other similar certifications can be obtained by contacting the Customer Contact Center.
Division of Professions
Mold-Related Services Licensing Program
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0791