Will there be a Board of Mold-Related Services?
No, the Department of Business and Professional Regulation licenses and regulates Mold-Related Services in the State of Florida.
What are the statutes and rules that govern the mold-related services Profession?
Chapter 468, Part XVI of the Florida Statutes and Rule 61-31 of the Florida Administrative Code.
Where can I obtain the laws and rules of the profession?
The laws and rules may be obtained on the main page, Statutes and Rules. If you need further assistance, you may call the Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395.
What are the requirements to become a licensed Mold Assessor or Mold Remediator in the State of Florida?
This depends upon which method of licensure for which you are applying: initial licensure by examination, endorsement. The requirements are as follows: Initial Licensure:
- Mold remediators must have (a) 2-year degree in microbiology, engineering, architecture, industrial hygiene, occupational safety, or a related field of science from an accredited institution and a minimum of one year of field experience, or
- a high school diploma or equivalent with 4 years of documented field experience. Experience may be documented with a copy of 15 mold remediation invoices for each year of
- Mold assessors must have (a) 2-year degree in microbiology, engineering, architecture, industrial hygiene, occupational safety, or a related field of science from an accredited institution and a minimum of one year of field experience or
- a high school diploma or equivalent with 4 years of documented field experience. Experience may be documented with a copy of 15 mold assessment invoices for each year of
- All applicants must demonstrate documented training in water, mold and respiratory
- Applicants must submit an application and fee to the department, pass a state approved examination, and submit to a criminal background check.
Endorsement: Applicants licensed or certified in another state as a mold assessor or remediator with substantially equivalent licensing requirements as in Florida may satisfy the requirements for licensure by endorsement. The applicant must submit an application and fees to the department, and submit to a criminal background check.
You can access these applications on the main page, Apply For A License.
Do I currently need a license to perform mold-related services (assessment or remediation)?
A license will be required after July 1, 2010; however, Florida Statutes provide that unlicensed activity will not be enforced until July 2011.
Does the Department license businesses to perform either Mold Assessments or Mold Remediations?
No, the Department does not license mold assessment or mold remediation businesses. Only individuals are licensed to perform these services.
If my company does both Mold Assessments and Mold Remediations, will I be required to get two (2) licenses (one for Mold Assessor and one for Mold Remediator?
Yes, in addition, please note Section 468.8419(1)(d), F.S., provides that an assessor may not “perform or offer to perform any remediation to a structure on which the mold assessor or the assessor’s company provided a mold assessment within the last 12 months.” Section 468.8419(2)(d), F.S., provides that a remediator may not “perform or offer to perform any assessment to a structure on which the mold remediator or the remediator’s company provided a mold remediation within the last 12 months.”
Will there be additional requirements by DBPR to have an “applicators” license if the mold remediator applies chemicals to contaminated surfaces during a remediation?
No, please see the definition of remediators as it allows the remediator to treat and do preventive activities.
What examination is given for initial licensure?
Please visit our Mold-Related Services Examinations page for information regarding the examination.
What happens after I pass the examination?
Anyone desiring to be licensed as an assessor or remediator in this state as provided in Chapter 468 Part XVI, Florida Statutes, who pass an approved examination, is of good moral character and complete the educational requirements should apply to the department for licensure.
The department denied my application. Are any of the fees refundable?
The application fee is non-refundable. The initial license fee is refundable. Denied candidates must make a written request for a refund to the Executive Director at the Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Mold-Related Services, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0783.
I lost my license. How may I obtain a duplicate?
You may print a new license at any time.
Can I change my address online?
Yes. Visit our website at www.MyFloridaLicense.com > Online Services. You can also change your telephone number and email address here.
How can I change my address if I do not have a computer?
You may submit the change in writing or by fax to 850-488-8040: Department of Business and Professional Regulation Central Intake Unit – License Maintenance 2601 Blair Stone Road Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783
How can I obtain assistance on completing my application?
If you have any questions or need assistance completing your application, please contact the Department’s Customer Contact Center at 1.850.487.1395.
Where do I mail my application?
Department of Business and Professional Regulation Central Intake Unit 2601 Blair Stone Road Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783
What are the fees for mold-related services applications?
- Application fee (active): $125.00
- Application fee (inactive): $125.00
- Licensure fee: $100.00
- Unlicensed Activity fee: $5.00
How can I find information about the fingerprint requirement?
To learn more about fingerprinting, please visit our Fingerprint page.
How often do I need to renew my professional mold-related services license?
You must renew every even year by no later than July 31.
How do I renew my mold-related services license?
A renewal notice will be mailed to your address on file with our office 90 days prior to renewal. Renewal fees may be mailed to the department or you may renew your license online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com or with a Customer Contact Center Agent at 850.487.1395.
I did not renew my mold-related services license on time. What do I do?
In addition to the renewal fee ($100.00) and unlicensed activity fee ($5.00), you are required to pay a ($25.00) delinquent fee. Please submit your renewal and delinquent fees to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Central Intake Unit, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783; online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com; or with a Customer Contact Center Agent at 850.487.1395.
How many continuing education credits are required to renew my mold-related services license?
All mold-related services licensees (both active and inactive) are required to complete 14 hours of continuing education credits for renewal.
- Prior to the expiration of each biennial licensure period, and as a condition for renewal of the mold assessor and/or mold remediator license, each person licensed pursuant to Chapter 468, Part XVI, Florida Statutes, shall complete a minimum of fourteen (14) hours of general continuing education in subjects related to mold
- Continuing education credits may be obtained for the completion of courses or seminars offered by education providers approved by the department. A list of such providers is available from the department at myfloridalicense.com.
- A licensee, who is an instructor, may obtain continuing education credits in a number of the credits allowed for that course or seminar for his/her first presentation of such course or
- No licensee may claim credit until after the credit has been earned by that licensee.
- Licensees need not comply with continuing education requirements prior to the licensee’s first full renewal
If I have a complaint about a licensed assessor or remediator, who do I contact?
Contact the department’s Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395 or file a complaint online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com > File a Complaint.
I have a complaint about an unlicensed assessor or remediator. Who do I contact?
Contact the department’s toll-free unlicensed activity complaint line at 1.866.532.1440 or file a complaint online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com > File a Complaint.
Is there a provision that would allow those licensed by the Construction Industry Licensing Board (CILB) to perform mold related services as long as they stay within the scope of their current licenses?
Yes, Section 468.841 F.S., exempts persons from the provisions of Chapter 468, Part XVI, when acting within their authorized scope of practice as licensed under Federal, state or local codes or statutes. Any person acting on this exemption must not hold himself or herself out for hire as a licensed assessor or remediator or any title implying licensure under Chapter 468, Part XVI.
For the required general liability insurance, can the company have the insurance instead of the individual?
Yes, as long as the licensed individual is named on the policy.
All requests for publications, documents, forms, applications for licenses, permits and other similar certifications can be obtained by contacting the Customer Contact Center.
Division of Professions
Mold-Related Services Licensing Program
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0791
For more option, please check the website on your computer/laptop or ipad/tablet