Building Code Administrators and Inspectors Board
The Building Code Administrators and Inspectors Board is responsible for licensing and regulating building code administrators, building code inspectors, and building code plans examiners. The board meets regularly to consider applications for licensure, to review disciplinary cases, and to conduct informal hearings relating to licensure and discipline. The board engages in rulemaking to implement the provisions set forth in its statutes and conducts other general business, as necessary.
Important Information (Hot Topics)
The Legislature has enacted a law delaying the effect of sections of the Florida Building Code, 5th edition until June 30, 2016 incl.:
a. R402.4.1.2 of the Energy Volume relating to mandatory blower door testing for residential buildings;
b. 403.6.1 of the Building Volume requiring a second fire service access elevator; and
c. R303.4 of the Residential Volume requiring mechanical ventilation for residential buildings.
For individuals seeking the Certified Building Official (CBO)/Building Code Administrator (BCA) designation, the International Code Council (ICC) has three new modules for this examination that will launch January 1, 2015. Individuals approved for licensure by examination after the December 12, 2014, Building Code Administrators & Inspectors Board meeting will be required to pass the new three part ICC examination. The new examination consists of (1) legal, (2) management and (3) building codes and standards.
If you have already been approved for the CBO/BCA examination, you will have until December 31, 2016, to pass the two part examination. If you have not passed both parts by December 31, 2016, you will have to take and pass the new three part examination.
Please see our Building Code Administrator/Certified Building Official Examination FAQs for more information.
HB 517 was approved by Governor Rick Scott on April 6, 2012, and reduces the continuing education required to activate an inactive license. You now only have to complete one renewal cycle of continuing education instead of completing continuing education for all the renewal cycles your license was in an inactive status. Applicants will need to provide proof of completing the continuing education requirements in effect at the last renewal date immediately prior to their application. Those requirements include completion of 14 hours of board-approved continuing education courses which shall include: 2 hours of accessibility, 2 hours of Florida laws and rules, 1 hour of ethics, and 9 general credit hours.
Please note that the transfer of the Florida Building Commission to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation has not impacted the surcharge payment process.
As a reminder, surcharge payments must be remitted to the appropriate entity within 30 days after the close of each calendar quarter. Florida Building Commission (FBC) payments should continue to be paid electronically through the FBC’s Building Code Information System (BCIS). Building Code Administrators and Inspectors Board (BCAIB) payments should continue to be paid by check or money order, made payable to DBPR/BCAIB, and mailed to DBPR/BCAIB at 1940 North Monroe Street, Tallahassee, Florida, 32399-0783.
For further information, please visit the following websites:
FBC - http://www.floridabuilding.org/sc/sc_default.aspx
BCAIB - http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/pro/build/documents/
Rule 61G19-6.0035(1)(b), Florida Administrative Code, requires all affidavits of work experience be signed by a licensed architect, engineer, contractor, fire marshal, or building code administrator who has knowledge of the applicant’s duties and responsibilities during the period indicated. As a postscript, if the applicant is a licensed architect, engineer, contractor, fire marshal, or building code administrator, they may self-certify their experience. All affidavits of work experience must detail the applicant’s work experience.
The Building Code Administrators and Inspectors Board consists of 9 members: 1 architect (licensed pursuant to Chapter 481, Florida Statutes (FS)), an engineer (licensed pursuant to Chapter 471, FS) or a contractor (licensed pursuant to Chapter 489, FS), 1 plans examiner, 1 representative of a city or a charter county, 2 building code administrators, 2 building code inspectors and 2 consumer members (one of whom must be a person with a disability or a representative of an organization which represents persons with disabilities. The other consumer member cannot ever have been a member of a profession regulated under Chapters 468, 471, or 489, FS).
(3 types of licenses – Standard, Limited and Provisional – can be obtained in the following categories):
Building Code Administrator
Building Code Inspector
Methods of Licensure:
By Endorsement - Yes
By Examination - Yes
By Reciprocity - No
Business Entity - No
A breakdown of application and licensure fees is provided with application packets.
The Bureau of Education and Testing is responsible for examination development, administration, review and grades. Below are shortcuts to their examination pages.
Candidate Information Booklets
Computer Based Testing
Special Accommodations for Testing - ADA
Computer Based Testing now available for technical examinations
All individuals that have been approved by the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) to take a technical examination may schedule computer-based testing through the International Code Council (ICC). Effective January 1, 2010, all examinations will be administered by CBT only. Use the link to their web site for more details. To schedule your computer-based examination, administered by ICC contracted vendor, Pearson VUE, contact ICC at 1.888.422.7233, ext 33806. Applicants may select an examination date and location of their choice.
Information for Licensees
Biennial License Renewal Fee
Building Code Administrator = $5
Building Inspector = $5
Plans Examiner = $5
All licensees pay $5 unlicensed activity fee only for renewal.
Continuing Education Requirement
License holders must complete 14 hours of continuing education during each biennium prior to the renewal date. Of the 14 required hours, a minimum of 2 hours must be in the area of accessibility, a minimum of 2 hours in the area of Florida law and rules and a minimum of 1 hour in the area of ethics.
Continuing Education Information
The Bureau of Education and Testing is responsible for the management of continuing education providers and courses. Below are shortcuts to their continuing education pages.
Continuing education main page
Continuing education policy
List of continuing education providers and courses, and hours required
Reporting requirement for criminal convictions
As of October 1, 2009, Section 455.227(1)(t), Florida Statutes requires all professional licensees to report to the department within 30 days of being convicted or found guilty of, or having plead nolo contendere or guilty to a crime in any jurisdiction. The statute also requires the reporting of any convictions that occurred prior to October 1, 2009. A licensee who fails to report that information may be subject to disciplinary action, including fines, suspension or license revocation. To report this information, complete the criminal self-reporting document and mail it to the department.
Information for Continuing Education Providers
Continuing Education Provider (BCAIB 5)
Continuing Education Course (BCAIB 5)
Division of State Fire Marshal Education Course and Provider Approval (BCAIB 10)
Training Program and Training Program Provider (BCAIB 7)
The Division of Regulation is responsible for enforcement of professions and related businesses licensed by DBPR under the Division of Professions to ensure that the laws, rules and standards set by the legislature are followed. To file a complaint visit MyFloridaLicense.com.
Links and Resources