Construction Industry Licensing Board
The Construction Industry Licensing Board is responsible for licensing and regulating the construction industry. The board meets regularly to consider applications for licensure, to review disciplinary cases, and to conduct informal hearings relating to licensure and discipline. The board engages in rulemaking to implement the provisions set forth in its statutes and conducts other general business, as necessary.
Important Information (Hot Topics)
Beginning July 1, 2016 new provisions went into effect to assist U.S. Military Veterans applying for licensure. The new provisions specifically allow for experience gained in the military to be used toward the requirements for licensure. Up to three years of military experience can be applied toward the experience requirements for a certified contractor’s license. New forms were posted on July 1, 2016 for veterans to use when applying for licensure.
Veterans should submit the Veteran Fee Waiver and Military Service Verification Form along with the application for licensure.
Follow this link to Contractor licensure applications.
Governor Rick Scott recently signed House Bill 535, which includes important updates to sections 489.1401-143, F.S., permitting payments to injured residential consumers from the Florida Homeowners Recovery Fund for both Division I and Division II scopes of work.
Effective July 1, 2016, all licensed contractors, both Division I and Division II, must ensure that the Florida Homeowner Construction Recovery Fund Notice is contained in their residential contracts.
For additional information, please click here.
As of July 1, 2016, section 489.103, F.S. is amended to add a new exemption for apartment community employees or apartment management company employees. The employees are exempted from contractor licensing requirements when they are performing minor repairs to existing electric water heaters, electric heating, ventilation and air-conditioning systems when the repair costs do not exceed $1,000.00 and are not the functional equivalent of replacing the system. Employees are required to have one year of apartment maintenance experience and hold an apartment maintenance technician’s certificate from the National Apartment Association (NAA) to qualify for the exemption. The NAA certification course must be accredited by the American National Standards Institute and consists of a 90 hour training course covering identified topics and completion of examination requirements. The exemption only applies to employees of apartment communities of 100 apartments or greater and does not prohibit local jurisdictions from creating local license requirements for the performance of such work.
Likewise, the new law amends section 489.105(3)(m), F.S., to include the provisions that the definition of plumbing contractor ". . . does not require certification or registration under this part as a category I liquefied petroleum gas dealer, LP gas installer, or specialty installer who is licensed under chapter 527. . ."
The Florida Legislature has delayed the effective date of certain sections of the Florida Building Code, 5th edition until June 30, 2016. (http://laws.flrules.org/2015/222)
The included sections are:
a. R402.4.1.2 of the Energy Volume relating to mandatory blower door testing for residential buildings;
b. 403.6.1 of the Building Volume requiring a second fire service access elevator; and
c. R303.4 of the Residential Volume requiring mechanical ventilation for residential buildings.
The Construction Industry Licensing Board consists of 18 members: 4 general contractors, 3 building or residential contractors (with at least 1 building contractor and 1 residential contractor), 1 sheet metal contractor, 1 pool contractor, 1 plumbing contractor, 2 building officials of a municipality or county, 1 roofing contractor, 1 air conditioning contractor, 1 mechanical contractor, 1 underground utility and excavation contractor and 2 consumer members.
• Air Conditioning
• Class A
• Class B
• Class C - Service
• Internal Pollutant Storage Tank Lining Applicator
• Pollutant Storage Systems
• Class A - Commercial
• Class B - Residential
• Class C - Service
• Precision Tank Tester
• Sheet Metal
• Gas Line
• Glass and Glazing
• Industrial Facilities
• Residential Pool/Spa Servicing
• Solar Water Heating
• Swimming Pool Decking
• Swimming Pool Excavation
• Swimming Pool Finishes
• Swimming Pool Layout
• Swimming Pool Piping
• Swimming Pool Structural
• Swimming Pool Trim
• Underground Utility and Excavation
Methods of Licensure:
By Endorsement - Yes
By Examination - Yes
By Reciprocity - No
Licenses may be issued by registration or certification:
Registration – The applicant has taken and passed a local competency examination and can practice only within that locale.
Certification – The applicant has taken and passed an examination and can practice throughout Florida.
Swimming Pool Licensed Examiners
For the most current list, go to the department's Licensee Download Files page.
A breakdown of application and licensure fees is provided with application packets.
The Bureau of Education and Testing is responsible for examination development, administration, review and grades.
Information for Licensees
Biennial License Renewal Fee
Certified Contractor = $209 *
Registered Contractor = $209 *
* Includes $5 Unlicensed Activity fee and a fee of $4 which must be transferred to the Department of Community Affairs to fund projects relating to the building construction industry or continuing education programs offered to persons engaged in the building construction industry in Florida.
Continuing Education Requirement
14 hours board-approved continuing education is required each biennium prior to the renewal period for both certified and registered contractors. At least 1 hour must deal with workplace safety, 1 hour on the subject of worker's compensation, 1 hour on the subject of business practices, 1 hour on the subject of laws and rules and 1 hour on Florida Building Code advanced modules.
A person who holds more than one certificate or registration issued by the board is required to complete the continuing education requirements only once during each biennial certification renewal period and only once during each biennial registration period.
Any course approved for the education requirements for persons certified under Chapter 468, Part XII, Florida Statutes, shall be accepted for continuing education for renewal for persons who are certified under Part XII and who are certified or registered contractors under Chapter 489, Part I, Florida Statutes.
Continuing Education Information
The Bureau of Education and Testing is responsible for the management of continuing education providers and courses. Below are shortcuts to their continuing education pages.
Continuing education main page
Continuing education policy
List of continuing education providers and courses, and hours required
The Construction Policy Tracking Database provides information regarding the coverage status of contractors. This system will send contractors automatic electronic notification of any changes to their contractor's coverage status. Source: Florida Department of Financial Services, Division of Workers' Compensation.
Reporting requirement for criminal convictions
As of October 1, 2009, Section 455.227(1)(t), Florida Statutes requires all professional licensees to report to the department within 30 days of being convicted or found guilty of, or having plead nolo contendere or guilty to a crime in any jurisdiction. The statute also requires the reporting of any convictions that occurred prior to October 1, 2009. A licensee who fails to report that information may be subject to disciplinary action, including fines, suspension or license revocation. To report this information, complete the criminal self-reporting document and mail it to the department.
Information for Continuing Education Providers
The Division of Regulation is responsible for enforcement of professions and related businesses licensed by DBPR under the Division of Professions to ensure that the laws, rules and standards set by the legislature are followed. To file a complaint visit MyFloridaLicense.com.