Electrical Contractors' Licensing Board
The Electrical Contractors' Licensing Board is responsible for licensing and regulating electrical contractors. The board meets regularly to consider applications for licensure, to review disciplinary cases, and to conduct informal hearings relating to licensure and discipline. The board engages in rulemaking to implement the provisions set forth in its statutes and conducts other general business, as necessary.
Important Information (Hot Topics)
Beginning July 1, 2016 new provisions went into effect to assist U.S. Military Veterans applying for licensure. The new provisions specifically allow for experience gained in the military to be used toward the requirements for licensure.
Veterans should submit the Veteran Fee Waiver and Military Service Verification Form along with the application for licensure.
Follow this link to Electrical and Alarm Contractor licensure applications.
Beginning with the 2014-2016 renewal cycle, licensees are required to take 1 hour of continuing education in Florida Laws and Rules as part of their 14 hours of continuing education.
14 hours of Continuing Education must include:
• 7 hours technical
• 1 hour workers’ compensation
• 1 hour workplace safety
• 1 hour business practices
• 1 hour Florida Building Code advanced module course
• 1 hour Florida Laws & Rules
• 2 hours false alarm prevention (for all certified and registered alarm contractors and certified electrical contractors who perform alarm work)
• Remaining hours general credit
Certification of Registered Contractor’s Licenses (Grandfathering)
Grandfathering ended November 1, 2015. All applications for grandfathering received or postmarked by the November 1, 2015 deadline will be processed.
HB 517 was approved by Governor Rick Scott on April 6, 2012 and reduces the continuing education required to activate an inactive license. You now only have to complete one renewal cycle of continuing education instead of completing continuing education for all the renewal cycles your license was in an inactive status. Effective July 1, 2012, in order to reactivate an inactive license, you will need to complete the continuing education requirements in place at the time of the last renewal for your profession. That includes 14 hours of board-approved continuing education that was taken during the last, or current, renewal period and must include the following:
7 hours technical
1 hour workers’ compensation
1 hour workplace safety
1 hour business practices
2 hours false alarm prevention (for all certified and registered alarm contractors and certified electrical contractors who perform alarm work)
1-3 hours general credit
1 hour Florida Building Code advanced module course
The Electrical Contractors' Licensing Board consists of 11 members: 7 certified electrical contractors, 2 certified alarm system contractors I, and 2 consumer members.
• Electrical Contractor
• Alarm System Contractor I
• Alarm System Contractor II
• Specialty Electrical Contractor
• Lighting Maintenance
• Limited Energy
• Utility Line
Licenses may be issued by registration or certification:
Registration – The applicant has taken and passed a local competency examination and can practice only within that locale.
Certification – The applicant has taken and passed the State Licensing examination and can practice throughout the State of Florida.
Methods of Licensure:
By Endorsement - Yes
By Examination - Yes
By Reciprocity - No
Business Entity - No
A breakdown of application and licensure fees is provided with application packets.
The Bureau of Education and Testing is responsible for examination development, administration, review and grades.
Eligible Alarm One, Alarm Two and Unlimited candidates, please see the References section in the "Candidate Information Booklet - English" to order a free download of references UL 365 and UL 681.
Information for Licensees
Biennial License Renewal Fee
Electrical Contractors – Certified = $300
Electrical Contractors – Registered = $125
The fees above include a $5 unlicensed activity fee and a $4 fee, which is transferred to the Florida Building Commission to fund projects relating to the building construction industry or continuing education programs offered to persons engaged in the building construction industry in Florida.
Continuing Education Requirement
14 hours of board approved continuing education is required each biennium prior to the renewal period for both certified and registered contractors; at least 7 hours of which are on technical subjects; 1 hour on workers’ compensation; 1 hour on workplace safety; 1 hour on business practices, 1 hour of advanced course and 1 hour Florida Laws and Rules. Multiple license holders are required to complete the continuing education requirements only once each biennium. Contractors who are engaged in alarm system contracting must take a 2 hour false alarm prevention course as a part of their continuing education.
Continuing Education Information
The Bureau of Education and Testing is responsible for the management of continuing education providers and courses. Below are shortcuts to their continuing education pages.
Continuing education main page
Continuing education policy
List of continuing education providers and courses, and hours required
Alarm System Agent provider and course list
Fire Alarm System Agent provider and course list
Reporting requirement for criminal convictions
As of October 1, 2009, Section 455.227(1)(t), Florida Statutes requires all professional licensees to report to the department within 30 days of being convicted or found guilty of, or having plead nolo contendere or guilty to a crime in any jurisdiction. The statute also requires the reporting of any convictions that occurred prior to October 1, 2009. A licensee who fails to report that information may be subject to disciplinary action, including fines, suspension or license revocation. To report this information, complete the criminal self-reporting document and mail it to the department.
Information for Continuing Education Providers
The Division of Regulation is responsible for enforcement of professions and related businesses licensed by DBPR under the Division of Professions to ensure that the laws, rules and standards set by the legislature are followed. To file a complaint visit MyFloridaLicense.com.
Links and Resources