Division of Real Estate
FLORIDA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION
The Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC) consists of seven members and meets monthly. The commission meeting is usually the third Wednesday of the month and the immediately preceding Tuesday. The FREC administers and enforces the real estate license law, Chapter 475, Part I, Florida Statutes. The Commission is also empowered to pass rules that enable it to implement its statutorily authorized duties and responsibilities. These rules are contained in Chapter 61J2, Florida Administrative Code. The statute and rules, along with Chapters 455, 215, 120, and 20, Florida Statutes are available under Statutes and Rules.
FREC Meetings Update
If you wish to have printed materials to reference during the meeting, you may access these documents through the Meetings and Workshops link found in the left-hand column of this web page. You may access and print all publicly available materials as early as 7 days before the date of the meeting. We appreciate your understanding as the department endeavors to minimize paper usage in all our business practices.
Also, please note the following FREC Meeting info:
- The start time for the meeting is 8:30 a.m. for both meeting days.
- The Legal Docket is the first day of the meeting (Tuesday). Sign-in will begin at 8:00 a.m.
- If you plan to attend to obtain continuing education credit, you will need to attend the full day when the Legal Docket is heard. Sign-in will begin at 8:00 a.m. Please be sure to contact the Division of Real Estate Education Section prior to the meeting to make the proper arrangements to receive credit.
Announcement - Real Estate Paperless Licensing Started June 4, 2015
The Department of Business and Professional Regulation and the Florida Real Estate Commission are excited to announce an advancement in how we license real estate professionals in the State of Florida.
The Department has implemented an innovative way to expedite the licensing process for real estate professionals. Applicants who have passed the state’s licensing examination can now print their licenses by just logging into their secure online account with the Department at www.myfloridalicense.com. This will allow new licensees to enter the work force at least 7 to 10 business days early, whereas, in the past, they would have to wait for the license to arrive in the mail. The Department regulates over one million license holders and on an average issues 2000 real estate licenses each month. In addition to new licenses, this process will allow licensees to renew online and print the license at their convenience.
Director, Division of Real Estate
Permissible Activities of an Unlicensed Assistant
The Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC) has recently revised and approved new guidelines. Learn more about Permissible Activities.
Broker Examination Update – Effective July 1, 2011
Effective Friday July 1, candidates taking the Florida Broker examination will be using the new Broker examination content. Read more information on this examination.
ATTENTION: Broker License Applicants
Effective July 1st, 2008, the 12-month experience requirement during the preceding five years changed to 24 months. Learn more about Broker License Requirements at FREC FAQs
For New Real Estate License Applicants
The Department of Business and Professional Regulation is in the process of improving online applications for new licensees.Some of the first applications to go live with the improved online format are the Real Estate Sales Associate License by Exam, and Real Estate Sales Associate License by Mutual Recognition (Non-Florida Residents Only).
Applicants will now have the ability to upload required documents and fully complete and submit an application online.This enhancement will ensure that applications and supporting documentation submitted online will remain together.The online system will allow for faster processing times, thus getting our licensees to work more quickly.Other features of the new online application system include:
- Secure user registration and login;
- Forgotten password retrieval;
- Pre-application eligibility questions;
- An application “save” function to allow applicants to come back to partially completed applications;
- An application summary e-mailed to the applicant following submission; and
- Ability to check application status.
All newly licensed sales associate and broker licensees must take required post-licensing education before the end of the first license renewal period. Your license will become null and void if you fail to take the post-licensure education within the initial licensure renewal period, as mandated by Florida statute.
Sales Associates who fail to complete the post-licensing education must re-qualify for licensure by meeting all current licensing criteria. Broker and broker associates who fail to complete post-licensing education may request to revert to sales associate status within 6 months following expiration, but must have complied with the applicable continuing education requirements before their new sales associate license can be activated
To maintain your real estate license, all licensees must comply with post-licensing or continuing education requirements and pay necessary renewal fees. This also applies to those licensees with a suspended license.
In support of the statutory requirements for your profession, the Department of Business and Professional Regulation has implemented a 100% Post and Continuing Education Monitoring database. All course providers are required to report your education completion to the department within 30-days of completion, or prior to the expiration date, whichever occurs first.
Real estate sales associates and brokers may earn three (3) hours of continuing education credit per renewal cycle for attending one legal session of the FREC meeting.
If your required education is not complete and/or reported, you will NOT be able to renew your license.