Mutual Recognition Information

Mutual Recognition Information for Alabama

Florida has mutual recognition with Alabama. Brokers and Sales Associates can qualify for an equivalent type license in Florida if they meet the following qualifications:

  • Must be 18 years of age and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent.
  • Applicant must not be a resident of Florida, at time of application.

Applicant must have obtained the Real Estate license by having met the education and examination requirements of the state of Alabama. Applicant must hold a valid, current and active real estate license, in good standing, issued by the Real Estate licensing agency in the state of Alabama. The intent of these agreements is to recognize the education and experience that real estate licensees have acquired in another state. These agreements apply to nonresidents licensed in other jurisdictions. Each licensee who applies for Florida licensure from a state or jurisdiction that has a current mutual recognition agreement with Florida must pass a written Florida-specific real estate law examination. The exam consists of 40 questions of 1 point in value per question. A grade of 30 points or higher must be achieved to pass the exam. These agreements also ensure that Florida licensees have equal opportunity for licensure in those jurisdictions with which agreements are concluded. Please note that Alabama applicants must meet additional requirements: Alabama Real Estate licensees must have held an active broker’s or sales associate’s license for at least 24 months during the preceding five years if the applicant is a broker. Once you have obtained a Florida Real Estate sales associate or broker license you are subject to all renewal requirements for our state. Prior to your initial expiration date listed on your license, you will be required to complete post license education. (45 hours Post-Education for Sales Associates and 60 hours Post-Education for Brokers). There after you will be required to complete 14 hours of continuing education biannually. The education requirements are in addition to applicable renewal fees. You will be notified within 60 days prior to your expiration date that you are due for renewal. Please be sure to visit your online account frequently for your education requirements, renewal fees, status of your license, related license information, and to maintain a valid mailing address. In addition, be sure to visit the Division of Real Estate Home page for any updates or upcoming events.

Mutual Recognition Information for Arkansas

Florida has mutual recognition with Arkansas. Brokers and Sales Associates can qualify for an equivalent type license in Florida if they meet the following qualifications:

  • Must be 18 years of age and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent.
  • Applicant must not be a resident of Florida, at time of application.

Applicant must have obtained the Real Estate license by having met the education and examination requirements of the state of Arkansas. Applicant must hold a valid, current and active real estate license, in good standing, issued by the Real Estate licensing agency in the state of Arkansas. The intent of these agreements is to recognize the education and experience that real estate licensees have acquired in another state. These agreements apply to nonresidents licensed in other jurisdictions. Each licensee who applies for Florida licensure from a state or jurisdiction that has a current mutual recognition agreement with Florida must pass a written Florida-specific real estate law examination. The exam consists of 40 questions of 1 point in value per question. A grade of 30 points or higher must be achieved to pass the exam. These agreements also ensure that Florida licensees have equal opportunity for licensure in those jurisdictions with which agreements are concluded. Please note that Arkansas applicants must meet additional requirements: Arkansas Real Estate licensees must have held an active broker’s or sales associate’s license for at least 24 months during the preceding five years if the applicant is a broker. Once you have obtained a Florida Real Estate sales associate or broker license you are subject to all renewal requirements for our state. Prior to your initial expiration date listed on your license, you will be required to complete post license education. (45 hours Post-Education for Sales Associates and 60 hours Post-Education for Brokers). There after you will be required to complete 14 hours of continuing education biannually. The education requirements are in addition to applicable renewal fees. You will be notified within 60 days prior to your expiration date that you are due for renewal. Please be sure to visit your online account frequently for your education requirements, renewal fees, status of your license, related license information, and to maintain a valid mailing address. In addition, be sure to visit the Division of Real Estate Home page for any updates or upcoming events.

Mutual Recognition Information for Connecticut

Florida has mutual recognition Connecticut. Brokers and Sales Associates can qualify for an equivalent type license in Florida if they meet the following qualifications:

  • Must be 18 years of age and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent.
  • Applicant must not be a resident of Florida, at time of application.

Applicant must have obtained the Real Estate license by having met the education and examination requirements of the state of Connecticut. Applicant must hold a valid, current and active real estate license, in good standing, issued by the Real Estate licensing agency in the state of Connecticut. The intent of these agreements is to recognize the education and experience that real estate licensees have acquired in another state. These agreements apply to nonresidents licensed in other jurisdictions. Each licensee who applies for Florida licensure from a state or jurisdiction that has a current mutual recognition agreement with Florida must pass a written Florida-specific real estate law examination. The exam consists of 40 questions of 1 point in value per question. A grade of 30 points or higher must be achieved to pass the exam. These agreements also ensure that Florida licensees have equal opportunity for licensure in those jurisdictions with which agreements are concluded. Once you have obtained a Florida Real Estate sales associate or broker license you are subject to all renewal requirements for our state. Prior to your initial expiration date listed on your license, you will be required to complete post license education. (45 hours Post-Education for Sales Associates and 60 hours Post-Education for Brokers). There after you will be required to complete 14 hours of continuing education biannually. The education requirements are in addition to applicable renewal fees. You will be notified within 60 days prior to your expiration date that you are due for renewal. Please be sure to visit your online account frequently for your education requirements, renewal fees, status of your license, related license information, and to maintain a valid mailing address. In addition, be sure to visit the Division of Real Estate Home page for any updates or upcoming events.

Mutual Recognition Information for Georgia

Florida has mutual recognition with Georgia. Brokers and Sales Associates can qualify for an equivalent type license in Florida if they meet the following qualifications:

  • Must be 18 years of age and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent.
  • Applicant must not be a resident of Florida, at time of application.

Applicants from Georgia must have obtained the Real Estate license by completing the educational requirements, satisfying the experience requirements, if any, and passing the Real Estate licensing examination of the state of Georgia. Licensees can not claim mutual recognition if they obtained their license, in the mutual state, by reciprocity. Applicant must hold a valid, current and active real estate license, in good standing, issued by the Real Estate licensing agency in the state of Georgia. The intent of these agreements is to recognize the education and experience that real estate licensees have acquired in another state. These agreements apply to nonresidents licensed in other jurisdictions. Each licensee who applies for Florida licensure from a state or jurisdiction that has a current mutual recognition agreement with Florida must pass a written Florida-specific real estate law examination. The exam consists of 40 questions of 1 point in value per question. A grade of 30 points or higher must be achieved to pass the exam. These agreements also ensure that Florida licensees have equal opportunity for licensure in those jurisdictions with which agreements are concluded. Once you have obtained a Florida Real Estate sales associate or broker license you are subject to all renewal requirements for our state. Prior to your initial expiration date listed on your license, you will be required to complete post license education. (45 hours Post-Education for Sales Associates and 60 hours Post-Education for Brokers). There after you will be required to complete 14 hours of continuing education biannually. The education requirements are in addition to applicable renewal fees. You will be notified within 60 days prior to your expiration date that you are due for renewal. Please be sure to visit your online account frequently for your education requirements, renewal fees, status of your license, related license information, and to maintain a valid mailing address. In addition, be sure to visit the Division of Real Estate Home page for any updates or upcoming events.

Mutual Recognition Information for Illinois

Florida has mutual recognition with Illinois. Brokers and Sales Associates can qualify for an equivalent type license in Florida if they meet the following qualifications:

  • Must be 18 years of age and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent.
  • Applicant must not be a resident of Florida, at time of application.

Applicant must have obtained the Real Estate license by having met the education and examination requirements of the state of Illinois. Applicant must hold a valid, current and active real estate license, in good standing, issued by the Real Estate licensing agency in the state of Illinois. The intent of these agreements is to recognize the education and experience that real estate licensees have acquired in another state. These agreements apply to nonresidents licensed in other jurisdictions. Each licensee who applies for Florida licensure from a state or jurisdiction that has a current mutual recognition agreement with Florida must pass a written Florida-specific real estate law examination. The exam consists of 40 questions of 1 point in value per question. A grade of 30 points or higher must be achieved to pass the exam. These agreements also ensure that Florida licensees have equal opportunity for licensure in those jurisdictions with which agreements are concluded. Once you have obtained a Florida Real Estate sales associate or broker license you are subject to all renewal requirements for our state. Prior to your initial expiration date listed on your license, you will be required to complete post license education. (45 hours Post-Education for Sales Associates and 60 hours Post-Education for Brokers). There after you will be required to complete 14 hours of continuing education biannually. The education requirements are in addition to applicable renewal fees. You will be notified within 60 days prior to your expiration date that you are due for renewal. Please be sure to visit your online account frequently for your education requirements, renewal fees, status of your license, related license information, and to maintain a valid mailing address. In addition, be sure to visit the Division of Real Estate Home page for any updates or upcoming events.

Mutual Recognition Information for Mississippi

Florida has mutual recognition with Mississippi. Brokers and Sales Associates can qualify for an equivalent type license in Florida if they meet the following qualifications:

  • Must be 18 years of age and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent.
  • Applicant must not be a resident of Florida, at time of application.

Applicants from Mississippi must have obtained the Real Estate license by completing the educational requirements, satisfying the experience requirements, if any, and passing the Real Estate licensing examination of the state of Mississippi. Licensees can not claim mutual recognition if they obtained their license, in the mutual state, by reciprocity. Applicant must hold a valid, current and active real estate license, in good standing, issued by the Real Estate licensing agency in the state of Mississippi. The intent of these agreements is to recognize the education and experience that real estate licensees have acquired in another state. These agreements apply to nonresidents licensed in other jurisdictions. Each licensee who applies for Florida licensure from a state or jurisdiction that has a current mutual recognition agreement with Florida must pass a written Florida-specific real estate law examination. The exam consists of 40 questions of 1 point in value per question. A grade of 30 points or higher must be achieved to pass the exam. These agreements also ensure that Florida licensees have equal opportunity for licensure in those jurisdictions with which agreements are concluded. Once you have obtained a Florida Real Estate sales associate or broker license you are subject to all renewal requirements for our state. Prior to your initial expiration date listed on your license, you will be required to complete post license education. (45 hours Post-Education for Sales Associates and 60 hours Post-Education for Brokers). There after you will be required to complete 14 hours of continuing education biannually. The education requirements are in addition to applicable renewal fees. You will be notified within 60 days prior to your expiration date that you are due for renewal. Please be sure to visit your online account frequently for your education requirements, renewal fees, status of your license, related license information, and to maintain a valid mailing address. In addition, be sure to visit the Division of Real Estate Home page for any updates or upcoming events.

Mutual Recognition Information for Nebraska

Florida has mutual recognition with Nebraska. Brokers and Sales Associates can qualify for an equivalent type license in Florida if they meet the following qualifications:

  • Must be 18 years of age and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent.
  • Applicant must not be a resident of Florida, at time of application.

Applicant must have obtained the Real Estate license by having met the education and examination requirements of the state of Nebraska. Applicant must hold a valid, current and active real estate license, in good standing, issued by the Real Estate licensing agency in the state of Nebraska. The intent of these agreements is to recognize the education and experience that real estate licensees have acquired in another state. These agreements apply to nonresidents licensed in other jurisdictions. Each licensee who applies for Florida licensure from a state or jurisdiction that has a current mutual recognition agreement with Florida must pass a written Florida-specific real estate law examination. The exam consists of 40 questions of 1 point in value per question. A grade of 30 points or higher must be achieved to pass the exam. These agreements also ensure that Florida licensees have equal opportunity for licensure in those jurisdictions with which agreements are concluded. Once you have obtained a Florida Real Estate sales associate or broker license you are subject to all renewal requirements for our state. Prior to your initial expiration date listed on your license, you will be required to complete post license education. (45 hours Post-Education for Sales Associates and 60 hours Post-Education for Brokers). There after you will be required to complete 14 hours of continuing education biannually. The education requirements are in addition to applicable renewal fees. You will be notified within 60 days prior to your expiration date that you are due for renewal. Please be sure to visit your online account frequently for your education requirements, renewal fees, status of your license, related license information, and to maintain a valid mailing address. In addition, be sure to visit the Division of Real Estate Home page for any updates or upcoming events.

Mutual Recognition Information for Rhode Island

Florida has mutual recognition with Rhode Island. Brokers and Sales Associates can qualify for an equivalent type license in Florida if they meet the following qualifications:

  • Must be 18 years of age and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent.
  • Applicant must not be a resident of Florida, at time of application.

Applicant must have obtained the Real Estate license by having met the education and examination requirements of the state of Rhode Island. Applicant must hold a valid, current and active real estate license, in good standing, issued by the Real Estate licensing agency in the state of Rhode Island. The intent of these agreements is to recognize the education and experience that real estate licensees have acquired in another state. These agreements apply to nonresidents licensed in other jurisdictions. Each licensee who applies for Florida licensure from a state or jurisdiction that has a current mutual recognition agreement with Florida must pass a written Florida-specific real estate law examination. The exam consists of 40 questions of 1 point in value per question. A grade of 30 points or higher must be achieved to pass the exam. These agreements also ensure that Florida licensees have equal opportunity for licensure in those jurisdictions with which agreements are concluded. Once you have obtained a Florida Real Estate sales associate or broker license you are subject to all renewal requirements for our state. Prior to your initial expiration date listed on your license, you will be required to complete post license education. (45 hours Post-Education for Sales Associates and 60 hours Post-Education for Brokers). There after you will be required to complete 14 hours of continuing education biannually. The education requirements are in addition to applicable renewal fees. You will be notified within 60 days prior to your expiration date that you are due for renewal. Please be sure to visit your online account frequently for your education requirements, renewal fees, status of your license, related license information, and to maintain a valid mailing address. In addition, be sure to visit the Division of Real Estate Home page for any updates or upcoming events.

Need Help?

All requests for publications, documents, forms, applications for licenses, permits and other similar certifications can be obtained by contacting the Customer Contact Center.

Katy McGinnis, Director

Division of Real Estate
400 West Robinson Street, N801
Orlando, Florida 32801

Telephone: 850.487.1395
Facsimile: 850.488.8040