What are the functions of the Board of Veterinary Medicine?
The Board of Veterinary Medicine regulates veterinarians, premise permits, veterinary establishments and limited service clinics.
What are the statutes and rules that govern veterinary medicine?
Chapter 474 of the Florida Statutes and Rule 61G18 of the Florida Administrative Code.
Where can I obtain the laws and rules of the Board?
The laws and rules may be obtained on the Board’s main page, Statutes and Rules. If you need further assistance, you may call the Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395.
When and where is the next board meeting?
The dates and locations are available on the main page, Board Meeting Information.
Where can I obtain a copy of the board meeting agenda or past minutes?
The agenda and minutes are available on the main page, Board Meeting Information.
What fee do I send with my application? When can I sit for the Laws and Rules examination?
A $100.00 application fee plus a $149.25 examination fee, for a total of $249.25 is required. A fee of $15.75 is paid to the vendor at the time of scheduling. All required documentation must be received in the board office before you are eligible to sit for the examination. Once all documentation has been received, you will be mailed a letter of eligibility and given the contact information for the testing vendor. You will be responsible for contacting the testing vendor to schedule the examination yourself.
Where can I find the veterinary medicine application package?
The application package and other various forms are located on the main page, Apply For A License.
Where can I find study material for the Laws and Rules examination?
The study material is located on the main page, Apply For A License, Examination Information.
Who administers the Veterinary Medicine Laws and Rules examination?
The testing vendor that administers the Laws and Rules examination is Pearson VUE. Pearson VUE has multiple test centers throughout the United States from which you may choose to sit for your examination. For more information on the dates and locations of the examination, you may contact Pearson VUE at www.pearsonvue.com or 888.204.6230.
Once I pass the Laws and Rules examination, what is the licensure fee and how long will it take to get my license?
The initial licensure fee for any person who is licensed in the first 12 months of the biennium shall be $200 plus a $5 unlicensed activity fee, for a total of $205. The initial licensure fee for any person who is licensed in the second 12 months of the biennium shall be $100 plus a $5 unlicensed activity fee, for a total of $105. Once the board office receives your passing score from the testing vendor and receives your licensure fee, a license number will be generated for you. It generally takes two to three weeks for you to receive your license in the mail.
When can I start working?
If you have graduated from an approved college or school of veterinary medicine, your application is complete and you have taken the Laws and Rules examination, you may work under supervision while waiting for the test results. If you fail the examination, you cannot work under supervision until you achieve a passing score.
How often is the Law and Rules examination given?
The examination is computer based and given daily.
Can I take the examination in my home state?
Yes, once you contact the vendor to schedule the examination, they will explain the procedures on how to schedule the examination in your state.
I am licensed in another state. What are the licensure requirements in Florida?
If your license has been active in your state for three years or more you may apply to Florida for licensure by endorsement. The fee is $500.00. You are required to take the Laws and Rules examination and you must submit an official transcript from your veterinary school, and licensure verifications from every state in which you hold or have held a license. If you are a foreign graduate, a copy of your Education Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG) certificate can be submitted in place of an official transcript.
I failed the Laws and Rules examination, how do I schedule a retake?
You must contact the testing vendor to reschedule a date and time. You do not have to reapply with the department or pay any additional fees. You have two years from the date your application was approved to take the examination as many times as you need to pass.
I am a senior student and want to sit for the Laws and Rules examination. What do I do?
You must send in a licensure application and the fee. You must also ask the dean of your veterinary college to send a letter of good standing directly to the Board of Veterinary Medicine, stating you are enrolled in the school and indicating when you are scheduled to graduate.
I am a foreign graduate. Can I obtain a Florida license?
If you did not graduate from an American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) approved veterinary college, you must go through the Education Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG) before you can sit for the examination. For information on the ECFVG program, you may contact the AVMA, which sponsors the ECFVG program, at 1.800.248.2862. If you are already enrolled in the program or if you have completed the program, you are eligible to sit for the examination. The board does not recognize the Program for the Assessment of Veterinary Education Equivalence (PAVE) program.
I want to apply and sit for the North American Veterinary Licensing Examination (NAVLE). What do I do?
All NAVLE candidates applying through the Florida Board of Veterinary Medicine will be approved directly by the National Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners (NBVME) office, not by the Florida Board. Applications and information are available on the NBVME web site at www.nbvme.org.
Do you have reciprocity with other states?
No, all veterinarians interested in obtaining Florida licensure must sit for the Laws and Rules examination.
I need to apply for a premise permit (establishment license). What do I need to do?
Complete the application and return it with the $250.00 fee. After receipt of the application, an inspection of the facility will be requested by the board. A temporary permit will be issued until the inspection process is complete. You are allowed to operate under the temporary permit until the permanent permit is issued. After licensure the clinic will be inspected once every two years. The fee per inspection is $60.
My clinic is moving to a new location. Do I need a new license for the clinic?
Yes, you must submit a premise permit application and a fee of $250.00 to receive a new license number. The premise permit application is located on the main page, Apply For A License.
A clinic has been sold. What does the new owner need to do?
The new owner is required to submit a new application for a permit in his or her name, and a new inspection will be required.
I want to change the name of my clinic. What do I need to do?
Send the request for name change in writing with a check for $25.00.
The clinic has a change of responsible veterinarian. What action is required?
The permit holder will have 10 days to notify the board in writing of the name of the new responsible veterinarian. There is no fee for the change of responsible veterinarian. Please complete and submit form VM 13 to make the change. It is also the duty of the responsible veterinarian to notify the Board in writing when he or she ceases to be the responsible veterinarian for a location.
When does my Premise Permit expire?
Premise permits have no expiration date. They are valid for the life of the clinic as long as the clinic does not change ownership or change location.
Do I have to be a veterinarian to own a clinic?
No, any individual or corporation can own a clinic. According to section 474.215, Florida Statutes, each establishment must have a licensed veterinarian responsible for the management of the establishment.
Do I have to have a permit to do house calls?
No, you do not need a permit but you must have a relationship with a clinic or hospital for emergencies.
What is the difference between a mobile premise permit and a house call practice?
A mobile premise permit is required if the licensed veterinarian is treating his or her patients in a vehicle, such as a van or motor home. If a licensed veterinarian is going to the patient’s home for treatment (house calls), he or she is not required to have a premise permit.
Do I have to have a permit to treat only agricultural animals or equines?
No, equine only establishments or agricultural only establishments are not required to have a premise permit. However, they must comply with the minimum standards for a veterinary practice for agricultural animals. A recent change to the minimum standards for a mobile veterinary practice for agricultural animals rule requires that if controlled substances are on the unit, a locking secure cabinet for storage and an accurate controlled substance log must be maintained.
What services can I provide with a Limited Service Permit?
The services that can be provided to the public are limited to vaccinations and/or immunizations against disease on multiple animals and preventative procedures for parasitic control.
How do I apply for a Limited Service Permit? What is the fee?
An application for a Limited Service Permit is available on the main page, Apply For A License. The fee is $250.00. The permit will need to be renewed every even year by May 31.
Where can these limited service clinics be held and for how long?
The clinics can be held every two weeks for four hours at the same location.
Do I have to register the clinic sites with the department? Is there a fee?
Yes, the permit holder should register each clinic site with the department at least 28 days prior to offering a limited service clinic. The fee is $25.00 per site. The registration must be renewed every year by May 31.
Do I have to maintain records on each patient at a limited service clinic?
Yes, an individual record must be maintained for every patient.
Are limited service clinics inspected by the department?
Yes, the department does inspect limited service clinics on a random basis.
How do I apply for accreditation?
The United States Department of Agriculture is responsible for accreditation. You may contact them at 1.800.992.3862.
I need a letter of good standing sent to another state. What do I do?
You must submit a letter of request and a fee of $25.00 per request to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Board of Veterinary Medicine, 2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0783. Most letters take two to three weeks to process, depending upon the number of pending requests.
How do I get my Drug Enforcement Agency license?
You must contact the Drug Enforcement Agency at 305.994.4870.
I am a licensed veterinary technician in another state and I want to become licensed in Florida. Who do I contact?
Technicians are not regulated in the State of Florida. However, if you would like to get certified as a technician, you may contact the Florida Veterinary Medical Association at 407.851.3862.
Do I need a license to assist an owner with herd management and animal husbandry tasks for herd and flock animals?
No, a person may be hired on a part-time or temporary basis, or as an independent contractor, by an owner to assist with herd management and animal husbandry tasks for herd and flock animals, including castration, dehorning, parasite control and debeaking.
Do I need a license to assist an owner with farriery and manual hand floating of teeth on equines?
No, a person may be hired on a part-time or temporary basis, or as an independent contractor, by an owner to provide farriery and manual hand floating of teeth on equines.
Can I change my address online?
Yes. Visit our website at www.MyFloridaLicense.com > Online Services. You can also change your telephone number and email address here.
Your website provides for "main", "mailing", and "location" addresses. What are the differences?
Three types of addresses have been established to support your needs: main, license mailing, and license location.
- Main Address – This address is the primary address on file.
- License Mailing Address – This is the address where the mail associated with a particular license will be sent (if different from the main or license location addresses).
- License Location Address – This is the address where the place of business is physically located.
An example of the use of different addresses: If Jane Doe is a contractor that works for ACME Builders, she may have 3 different addresses listed in her profile. Her main address would be the address of ACME Builders’ corporate headquarters. Her license mailing may be her home so she doesn’t have to visit the office to pick up her mail. Finally, her License Location would be the address of the ACME Builders’ local office where she works. If Jane Doe worked independently, she might have only one address on file (Main Address) as her office is the same place she wishes to receive her mail.
Can I change all license addresses online?
The main address and license mailing address can be changed online for all license types. License location addresses can also be changed online, except for Barbershops, Cosmetology Salons, Veterinary Establishments, and Talent Agencies. The location for these license types is tied to the license, so a location change will require submission of a new application.
How can I change my address if I do not have a computer?
You may submit the change in writing or by fax to: Department of Business and Professional Regulation Central Intake Unit – License Maintenance 2601 Blair Stone Road Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783 Fax: 850.488.8040
How can I obtain assistance on completing my application?
If you have any questions or need assistance completing your application, please contact the Department’s Customer Contact Center at 1.850.487.1395.
Where do I mail my application?
Department of Business and Professional Regulation Central Intake Unit 2601 Blair Stone Road Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783
When is my license up for renewal?
Every veterinarian is on the same renewal cycle. The cycle ends May 31 of even years. The fee to renew is $265.00 for active and inactive licensees. You will be assessed a $25.00 delinquency fee if you do not pay before the May 31 deadline.
How many continuing education credits do I need for renewal?
You are required to take 30 hours every biennium. Of the 30 hours one credit must be in drug dispensing and two credits must be in laws and rules governing the practice of veterinary medicine.
This is my first renewal; am I required to take continuing education?
No, you are exempt; however, you will be required to take continuing education for your next renewal.
My license is inactive. I would like to return to active status, what do I do?
You must submit a change of status application (VM 11) and request to reactivate your license. You must pay a $50 reactivation fee and the active licensure fee and provide proof of 30 hours of continuing education. Of the 30 hours of continuing education, one must be in dispensing drugs and two hours in laws and rules. The continuing education courses must be taken during the last, or current, renewal cycle.
My license is null and void. What is required to become licensed again?
You must reapply with a new application and all of the required documentation. You must meet the current eligibility requirements.
Are there any exceptions?
You can apply to the board for reinstatement of a null and void license based upon illness or undue hardship. You can find the application to reinstate a null and void license on the main page, Renew & Manage My License.
How do I obtain the one hour of continuing education in drug dispensing and the two hours in laws and rules?
The Florida Veterinary Medical Association (FVMA) offers the drug dispensing course during its annual conference. It is also available as a correspondence course. You may contact the FVMA at 407.851.3862 or online at www.fvma.org for information on obtaining continuing education. You may obtain credit in laws and rules by attending a meeting of the board or by taking a board approved course.
How many hours of continuing education can be taken through correspondence?
You can only obtain 15 hours of continuing education through correspondence.
Can I carry over any credits I earn over the required 30 hours?
No. Credits earned must be within the required two-year renewal period. Additional credits earned will not count towards the next renewal period. Credits earned outside the two-year period will be credited towards the next renewal period.
Will the board keep track of my continuing education hours?
No, it is the responsibility of the licensee to keep track of his or her continuing education hours. If you are audited by the board, you will be required to show proof of your 30 hours.
What is the fee to become a board approved provider for continuing education, and how often do I have to renew?
The fee to become a provider is $200.00 effective May 31, 2006, and renewal will be every four years for every other even-numbered year. An application for a provider of continuing education is available on the main page, Apply For A License.
I have a complaint about a veterinarian or veterinary establishment. Who do I contact?
Contact the department’s Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395 or file a complaint online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com > File a Complaint.
I have a complaint about an unlicensed veterinarian or veterinary establishment. Who do I contact?
Contact the department’s toll-free unlicensed activity complaint line at 1.866.532.1440 or file a complaint online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com > File a Complaint.
I have a complaint against a prescription company who is filling prescriptions without my authorization. Who do I contact?
The Department of Health, Board of Pharmacy. You may reach them at 850.488.0595.
I have a complaint against an animal breeder. Who do I contact?
The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. You may reach them at 850.410.0900.
I have a complaint against a pet store. Who do I contact?
The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. You may reach them at 850.410.0900.
How long are veterinarians required to keep medical records?
Rule 61G18-18.002(1), Florida Administrative Code, provides that you must keep records three years from the date of last entry, including X-rays.
I need to send an animal out of the country. Whom do I contact?
The USDA/APHIS Veterinary Services Area office in Gainesville, at 352-313-3060; or the USDA APHIS Miami Import/Export Center, 305-526-2926.
I need to order more pet health certificates. Whom do I contact?
The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. You may reach them at 850.410.0900 or download the form online at http://forms.freshfromflorida.com/09085.pdf.
Whom do I contact regarding the Pet Lemon Law?
The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. You may reach them at 1-800-HELP-FLA (1-800-435-7352) or 850-410-3800.
Whom do I contact regarding the Health Care Clinics Establishment Permits?
Contact the Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Division of Drugs, Devices, and Cosmetics. Please refer to their website www.MyFloridaLicense.com or call 850.717-1800 if you have questions.
All requests for publications, documents, forms, applications for licenses, permits and other similar certifications can be obtained by contacting the Customer Contact Center.
Division of Professions
Board of Veterinary Medicine
2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783