Division of Hotels and Restaurants
What Every Elevator Owner Needs to Know
Licensing and Inspection Information
Under Chapter 399, Florida Statutes, known as the Florida Elevator Safety Act, the owner/operator is responsible for ensuring the elevator meets all safety requirements on an annual basis. It is the owner’s direct responsibility to schedule an annual safety inspection, called a routine inspection, to ensure the safe operation of their elevators before obtaining a Certificate of Operation.
Elevator maintenance companies complete the required annual safety tests and may schedule the inspection upon request of the elevator owner/operator. Each elevator owner/operator is responsible for ensuring that their elevator is in compliance with the Elevator Safety Code. Your elevator inspector or service company can explain the inspection process and required tests.
The required annual safety inspection must be completed by a Florida Certified Elevator Inspector. Inspection Reports can be submitted electronically or by mail. You can search for a Florida Certified Elevator Inspector on the department's Licensing Portal. A list of Florida Certified Elevator Inspectors is available online on the department's public records page. Elevator Inspection Reports (DBPR Form HR 5023-003) may also be found online on the division's forms and publications page.
Chapter 399, Florida Statutes, specifically Sections 399.061 and 399.07, explain the requirements for annual inspections, correction of violations, and payment of fees in order to be licensed. You may view the statute online from our administrative rules and statutes page.
Two factors can prohibit license renewal: a failed annual (routine) inspection and/or non-payment of fees. A routine inspection for safety must be completed within the previous 12 months and contain no violations. Any violations cited on an inspection must be corrected within 90 days of the inspection and a callback inspection must be performed to verify all violations are corrected.
Remember, to become a licensed elevator operator in the State of Florida you must:
1. Pay the annual fee.
2. Have a current satisfactory inspection performed by a certified elevator inspector.