The Division of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco Protects Students from Underage Drinking in Preparation for School Year
August 16, 2010
JACKSONVILLE—As students return to college and high school campuses throughout Florida, the Department of Business and Professional Regulation’s Division of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco is ensuring compliance with underage drinking laws and retailer compliance with alcoholic beverage sales. Jacksonville agents conducted 91 alcohol compliance checks over the past week and cited 10 retailers and clerks for selling alcohol to underage individuals. The information below shows the locations and individuals cited:
|Jax Lanes of Grove Park||8720 Beach Blvd., Jacksonville, Fla.||Tonya Walls Pierson|
|Gate Gas||12705 Durbin Creek Dr., Jacksonville, Fla.||Kimberly Wooten|
|Kangaroo Express||10500 Phillips Hwy, Jacksonville, Fla.||Zeina Larrabaster|
|Pantry Inc||13434 St. Augustine Rd., Jacksonville, Fla.||Felicia Bolan|
|Bowl America Southside||11141 Beach Blvd., Jacksonville, Fla.||Carolyn Nicolini|
|Martin Oil Company||3260 Beach Blvd, Jacksonville, Fla.||Horacio Harper|
|Heather's Food Store||20 E. 9th St., Jacksonville, Fla.||Aragaw Afrasa|
|King Mart||5525 N. Main St., Atlantic Beach, Fla.||Thomas Whitter, III|
|Bongiornos Philly Steak Shop||2294 Mayport Rd., Atlantic Beach, Fla.||Susan Durant|
|S and S Food Mart||1790 US 1, St., Augustine, Fla.||Scott Drew Thomas|
ABT agents also arrested six individuals for underage possession of an alcoholic beverage.
Both individuals and establishments face stiff penalties for violating alcoholic beverage laws. Establishments that sell alcohol to individuals under the age of 21 three times within a 12-week period face up to a $1,000 fine and a seven-day license suspension. Individuals who sell or give alcohol to underage youth face a maximum penalty of 60 days in jail and a $500 fine. A new law stiffens criminal penalties for anyone caught two or more times giving alcohol to underage drinkers. Anyone who facilitates underage drinking will be subject to a first-degree misdemeanor on the second offense. Individuals under the age of 21 in possession of alcoholic beverages face a maximum penalty of 60 days in jail or a $500 fine.
The mission of ABT is to keep alcohol and tobacco out of the hands of underage persons, to ensure that licensed establishments are in compliance with the laws and rules regulating the industry in Florida, and to collect taxes and fees related to these industries.
The Department of Business and Professional Regulation’s mission is to license efficiently and regulate fairly. The department licenses more than one million businesses and professionals ranging from real estate agents, veterinarians, and accountants to contractors and cosmetologists. For more information, please visit MyFloridaLicense.com.