The Division of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco Protects Students from Underage Drinking in Preparation for School Year
August 16, 2010
ORLANDO—As students return to college and high school campuses throughout Florida, the Department of Business and Professional Regulation’s Division of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco is ensuring compliance with underage drinking laws and retailer compliance with alcoholic beverage sales. Orlando agents conducted 95 alcohol compliance checks over the past week and made 10 arrests for the sale of alcoholic beverages to a person under 21 years of age. Ten additional arrests were made for the underage possession of alcohol. The information below shows the retailers, locations and individuals cited:
|Keys Gift Shop Too||Orlando International Airport||Norma Bacani|
|Walgreens||3000 North Alafaya Trail, Orlando, Fla.||Arlene Labella
|Jeremiah’s of Mount Dora||500 North Highland Rd., Mount Dora, Fla.||Cynthia Boggs|
|LJ's Lounge & Package||10339 Joanies Run, Leesburg, Fla.||Linda Smith|
|Express Shop||100 Dog Track Rd., Longwood, Fla.||Vinodbhai Patel|
|BP AMPM||700 S. Kirkman Rd., Orlando, Fla.||Sursattie N Rooplall|
|Cumberland Farms||5300 Curry Ford Rd., Orlando, Fla.||Dawn Moody|
|Dover Shores Sunoco||4316 E. Curry Ford Rd., Orlando, Fla.||Iradj Mohammadzadah|
|ABC Liquors||3097 Curry Ford Rd., Orlando, Fla.||John Kraig|
|Gastown||2401 Curry Ford Rd., Orlando, Fla.||Bhawna Pithadiya|
Both individuals and establishments face stiff penalties for violating alcoholic beverage laws. Establishments that sell alcohol to individuals under the age of 21 three times within a 12-week period face up to a $1,000 fine and a seven-day license suspension. Individuals who sell or give alcohol to underage youth face a maximum penalty of 60 days in jail and a $500 fine. A new law stiffens criminal penalties for anyone caught two or more times giving alcohol to underage drinkers. Anyone who facilitates underage drinking will be subject to a first-degree misdemeanor on the second offense. Individuals under the age of 21 in possession of alcoholic beverages face a maximum penalty of 60 days in jail or a $500 fine.
The mission of ABT is to keep alcohol and tobacco out of the hands of underage persons, to ensure that licensed establishments are in compliance with the laws and rules regulating the industry in Florida, and to collect taxes and fees related to these industries.
The Department of Business and Professional Regulation’s mission is to license efficiently and regulate fairly. The department licenses more than one million businesses and professionals ranging from real estate agents, veterinarians, and accountants to contractors and cosmetologists. For more information, please visit MyFloridaLicense.com.