Board of Employee Leasing Companies
The Board of Employee Leasing Companies is responsible for licensing and regulating employee leasing companies. The board meets regularly to consider applications for licensure, to review disciplinary cases, and to conduct informal hearings relating to licensure and discipline. The board engages in rulemaking to implement the provisions set forth in its statutes and conducts other general business, as necessary.
Important Information (Hot Topics)
Electronic Submission of Annual and Quarterly Reports
Streamlined Applications Released
In an effort to assist applicants through the licensure process and to reduce the number of deficient applications, the Department of Business and Professional Regulation and the Board of Employee Leasing Companies conducted a complete review and revision of all applications. The updated applications were launched March 25, 2013.
Worker compensation insurance required reporting by insurance carriers
Every insurer authorized to insure employers in the State of Florida, (except for individual self-insurers approved under Section 440.38, F.S.,) must file policy information electronically to the Division Workers’ Compensation. In accordance with section, 69L-56 at , F.A.C. https://www.flrules.org/gateway/ChapterHome.asp?Chapter=69L-56 , via Electronic Data Interchange or EDI. The data must be formatted correctly and new policies must be reported no later than 30 days after the effective date of the policy. If the data is formatted correctly, when the system updates overnight that particular policy is added to the Division of Workers’ Compensation’s database. If the policy data is not correctly formatted, the filing is rejected and sent back to the carrier to correct any deficiencies and re-file the data. In addition, if the policy is for a PEO, it should have an Employee Leasing Policy Identification Code of 2, 3 or 4, in accordance with, 69L-56.205, F.A.C. Code 2 is for leased workers of multiple client companies (most common); Code 3 identifies an Employee Leasing Policy for Non-leased Workers; and Code 4, which identifies a Client Company Policy For Leased Workers of the Client Company. If a policy has been purchased, and greater than 30 days have passed since the effective date, but it is not in the Division’s database yet, or it has been reported but is not indicated to be an Employee Leasing Policy, the PEO should contact their agent or carrier and have the data enter using the correct formatting. The entity applying for licensure should ensure that the FEIN and company name which they are requesting the license for, match what is reported on the policy exactly. There is often a mismatch in this data, which can slow down the process.
The public may verify whether a policy has been reported or not at the following Division of Workers’ Compensation website; https://apps8.fldfs.com/proofofcoverage/Search.aspx .
If you have further question about how to ensure that your insurance information is reported correctly by you carrier contact Mark Mark using the contact information below.
Government Analyst I
Department of Financial Services
Division of Workers' Compensation
Bureau of Compliance
Phone (850) 413-1855
The Board of Employee Leasing Companies consists of 7 members: 5 members shall be engaged in the employee leasing industry, one of whom must be in an employee leasing company that has an annual gross Florida payroll for its leased employees which is among the smallest 20 percent of licensed employee leasing companies in the state at the time of the member’s appointment and each reappointment; and 2 consumer members.
Employee Leasing Company
Employee Leasing Company Group
De Minimus Operations (Registration Only)
Methods of Licensure:
By Endorsement - No
By Examination - No
By Reciprocity - No
Business Entity - Yes
De Minimus Operations Yes (Registration Only)
A breakdown of application and licensure fees is provided with application packets.
Information for Licensees
Biennial License Renewal Fee
Controlling Person = $600
Employee Leasing Company = $900
Employee Leasing Company Group = $1,500
De Minimus Operations (Registration Only) = none
The fees above include a $5 unlicensed activity fee.
Continuing Education Requirement
Based on gross Florida payroll.
Reporting requirement for criminal convictions
As of October 1, 2009, Section 455.227(1)(t), Florida Statutes requires all professional licensees to report to the department within 30 days of being convicted or found guilty of, or having plead nolo contendere or guilty to a crime in any jurisdiction. The statute also requires the reporting of any convictions that occurred prior to October 1, 2009. A licensee who fails to report that information may be subject to disciplinary action, including fines, suspension or license revocation. To report this information, complete the criminal self-reporting document and mail it to the department.
The Division of Regulation is responsible for enforcement of professions and related businesses licensed by DBPR under the Division of Professions to ensure that the laws, rules and standards set by the legislature are followed. To file a complaint visit MyFloridaLicense.com.
Links and Resources