|THE OFFICIAL SITE OF THE FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS & PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
||11:45:46 PM 5/30/2023
Reciprocity - Certified Building Contractor (CILB 32)
This application is for individuals who are licensed in a state which has entered into a reciprocity agreement with the Florida Construction Industry Licensing Board. A list of states which have entered into a reciprocity agreement with Florida can be found on the Board's webpage.
DEFINITIONS: Section 489.115 (3)(c), Florida Statutes, provides for certification by reciprocity for any applicant who holds a valid, current, license to practice contracting issued by another state, if the state has entered into a reciprocal agreement with the Board, and subject to the terms of that agreement. Please visit this link to view the list of states which have entered into a reciprocity agreement with Florida.
applicants for certification by reciprocity MUST pass the Florida Business and
Finance exam and must attest that they have passed an exam covering the Florida
LICENSURE VERIFICATION: All applicants are required to submit a verification of licensure from the state in which they are licensed indicating the following information:
That the license has not been revoked, suspended, or placed on probation during the previous 5 years.
That the license is not subject to any pending disciplinary action.
That the license was obtained via examination.
EXPERIENCE: Depending on the state you are coming from, you may be required to provide proof of experience. Proof of experience is demonstrated by uploading experience page(s) specific to the category of the license the applicant is applying for. Print and complete as many copies of the pages as necessary to demonstrate your experience.
FINANCIAL/CREDIT: Applicants will need to provide proof of financial stability and responsibility by submitting credit reports for themselves and the business entity (if applying to qualify a business). Credit reports for individuals must include a FICO derived credit score and all credit reports must indicate that local, state and federal records have been searched.
An applicant must have a background check as part of
the licensing process. You must submit your
fingerprints using a Livescan Service Provider registered with
FDLE immediately after submitting your
application for licensure. It may take up to five days for your fingerprint results to be
received by the Department after they are submitted to the Florida Department
of Law enforcement (FDLE). Please note
that the Florida Department of Law Enforcement requires that an application for
licensure should precede the submission of your fingerprints. To learn more
about fingerprinting, please visit our Fingerprinting webpage.
- NOTICE FOR APPLICANTS SUBMITTING FINGERPRINTS WHERE CRIMINAL RECORD RESULTS WILL BE USED FOR LICENSING PURPOSES
Applicants are required to attest that they have
obtained public liability and property damage insurance in the amounts
determined by Board rule. Applicants are also required to obtain workers
compensation insurance or obtain an exemption from workers compensation
insurance within 30 days of issuance of their license.
Pay the required fee as provided in the application. If
applying online, you can pay with a credit card or electronic check. If mailing
your application, please include a check payable to the Department of Business
and Professional Regulation. Military veterans, their spouses and Florida
National Guard members may be eligible for a fee waiver, fee reimbursement,
and/or fee discount. Please visit our DBPR Military Services page for more
An individual applying for certification must be at
least 18 years of age.
Complete the application by clicking on the
"Online Services" link or the "Printable Application" link
at the bottom of the page.
|If you have questions or need assistance in completing this application, please call the Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395 or use our convenient contact form.
:: Email: :: Customer Contact Center: 850.487.1395
The State of Florida is an AA/EEO employer.
Under Florida law, email addresses are public records. If you do not want your email address released in response to a public-records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact the office by phone or by traditional mail.
If you have any questions, please contact 850.487.1395. *Pursuant to Section 455.275(1), Florida Statutes, effective October 1, 2012, licensees licensed under Chapter 455, F.S. must provide the Department with an email address if they have one.
The emails provided may be used for official communication with the licensee. However email addresses are public record. If you do not wish to supply a personal address, please provide the Department with an email address which can be made available to the public.
Please see our page to determine if you are affected by this change.