|THE OFFICIAL SITE OF THE FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS & PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
||3:25:59 AM 3/25/2023
Certification of Registered Contractor (Grandfathering) Qualifying Business (CILB 30)
This application is for use by currently registered local contractors to obtain a state certified contractors license from the Construction Industry Licensing Board by grandfathering and who wish to qualify a business entity once certified.
- AGE: An individual applying for certification must be at least 18 years of age.
Applicants are required to hold a valid registered
local contractor''s license in one of the categories defined in s.
489.105(3)(a)-(p), Florida Statutes.
Individuals seeking licensure as a CERTIFIED contractor
by grandfathering must submit proof of having passed a written examination that
is substantially similar to the examination required to be licensed as a
certified contractor in the same category as the registered license. If applying online, you MUST complete and
upload the verification page.
Applicants must have at least 5 years of experience as
a contractor in the contracting category for which they have applied, or as an
inspector or building administrator with oversight over that category, at the
time of application. Note: For
contractors, only time periods in which the contractor license is active and
the contractor is not on probation shall count toward the 5 years of
- PRIOR DISCIPLINE: Applicants whose contractor''s license has been revoked at any time, suspended within the last 5 years, or has been assessed a fine of more than five hundred dollars ($500.00) within the last 5 years are not eligible.
FINANCIAL/CREDIT: Applicants will need to provide proof of financial stability and responsibility by submitting credit reports for themselves and the business entity. Credit reports for individuals must include a FICO derived credit score, all credit reports must indicate that local, state and federal records have been searched.
An applicant must have a background check as part of
the licensing process. You must submit your
fingerprints using a Livescan Service Provider registered with
FDLE immediately after submitting your
application for licensure. It may take up to five days for your fingerprint results to be
received by the Department after they are submitted to the Florida Department
of Law enforcement (FDLE). Please note
that the Florida Department of Law Enforcement requires that an application for
licensure should precede the submission of your fingerprints. To learn more
about fingerprinting, please visit our Fingerprinting webpage.
- NOTICE FOR APPLICANTS SUBMITTING FINGERPRINTS WHERE CRIMINAL RECORD RESULTS WILL BE USED FOR LICENSING PURPOSES
- INSURANCE: Applicants are required to attest that they have obtained public liability and property damage insurance in the amounts determined by Board rule. Applicants are also required to obtain workers compensation insurance or obtain an exemption from workers compensation insurance within 30 days of issuance of their license.
Pay the required fee as provided in the application. If
applying online, you can pay with a credit card or electronic check. If mailing
your application, please include a check payable to the Department of Business
and Professional Regulation. Military veterans, their spouses and Florida
National Guard members may be eligible for a fee waiver, fee reimbursement,
and/or fee discount. Please visit our DBPR Military Services page for more
Complete the application by clicking on the
"Online Services" link or the "Printable Application" link
at the bottom of the page.
Note: First time DBPR Online Services users will need
to create an account and then link existing license(s). Instructions and
additional information can be found by selecting "DBPR Online Services
Features and Steps" on the Main Menu. Returning users will need to make
sure their license is linked before proceeding.
|If you have questions or need assistance in completing this application, please call the Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395 or use our convenient contact form.
:: Email: :: Customer Contact Center: 850.487.1395
The State of Florida is an AA/EEO employer.
Under Florida law, email addresses are public records. If you do not want your email address released in response to a public-records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact the office by phone or by traditional mail.
If you have any questions, please contact 850.487.1395. *Pursuant to Section 455.275(1), Florida Statutes, effective October 1, 2012, licensees licensed under Chapter 455, F.S. must provide the Department with an email address if they have one.
The emails provided may be used for official communication with the licensee. However email addresses are public record. If you do not wish to supply a personal address, please provide the Department with an email address which can be made available to the public.
Please see our page to determine if you are affected by this change.