Click here to access the department's home page
     Log On
   Search for a Licensee
   Apply for a License
   View Application Status
   Find Exam Information
   File a Complaint
   AB&T Delinquent
    Invoice & Activity
    List Search
Clear Dot Image
  11:02:12 AM 1/17/2020
Clear Dot Image

Apply for a New Vacation Rental - Dwelling License

Florida law requires owners of new public lodging establishments and new owners of existing establishments to obtain a license from the division before commencing operation. The application process described below is for NEW VACATION RENTAL DWELLING LICENSES ONLY.

Application Requirements:
  • ELIGIBILITY: If your operation does not meet the following definition, please return to the previous page to select the correct one.

    Vacation Rental - A vacation rental is any unit or group of units in a condominium, cooperative, or any individually or collectively owned single-family, two-family, three-family or four-family house or dwelling unit that is also a transient public lodging establishment but that is not a timeshare project. [Section 509.242, Florida Statutes]

    "Transient establishment" means any public lodging establishment that is rented or leased to guests by an operator whose intention is that such guests┐ occupancy will be temporary. [s. 509.013, FS]

    For recordkeeping purposes, the "dwelling" license includes establishments comprised all or mostly of houses or dwellings.

  • APPLICATION: Obtain and complete the Application Packet for a Vacation Rental License in Microsoft Word or Fill-in PDF (also referenced at the bottom of this page). The application packet includes instructions for making application and the following forms:

  • LIST OF RENTAL UNITS - State law requires the licensed agent or operator to notify the division of any and all condominium units or dwelling houses or units represented for inclusion in the license application. If you are just licensing one unit, entry in Section 4 of the application completes this requirement. (Note: Forms DBPR HR-7008, List for Collective License and DBPR HR-7009 List for Single or Group License are no longer required.)

  • LICENSE FEES: Annual license fees are listed on our lodging fee webpage and are based in part on the county your establishment is located and when you wish to open. The division divides the state into 7 licensing districts according to county. Licenses expire each year at the following times:

    District 1 - October 1
    District 2 - December 1
    District 3 - February 1
    District 4 - April 1
    District 5 - June 1
    District 6 - June 1
    District 7 - December 1

  • If you wish to begin operation within six months or less of your expiration date, you are required to pay only a half-year fee.

    The division mails renewal reminder notices about 60 days prior to expiration. Therefore, if you are applying within this period, we allow you to purchase a license that will authorize you to operate for up to 14 months for 1.5 times the license fee. (Unfortunately, this option is NOT currently available for online applications). If you apply online within 60 days, or do not opt for the 14-month license, you need to be mindful when your license expires so you can renew before expiration, since the division may not send a reminder.

    If you are applying more than six months prior to the expiration date, the full-year fee must be paid.

    All new and change of ownership applications must include a $50 application fee. This fee is in addition to the annual license fee.

  • To assist you in determining the correct fee, the division has provided a license fee calculator.

    The appropriate license fee must be paid to the division before a license will be issued. Please make checks payable to the Division of Hotels and Restaurants. For assistance in determining the correct license fee, please contact the department at 850.487.1395.

  • MORE INFO: For additional information about our licensing process and other government requirements, please review our website. Use the Back button or arrow to return to this screen.

If you have questions or need assistance in completing this application, please call the Customer Contact Center at 850-487-1395.

Apply Using Online Services

Apply Using a Printable Application
2601 Blair Stone Road, Tallahassee FL 32399 :: Email: Customer Contact Center :: Customer Contact Center: 850.487.1395