Click here to access the department's home page
     Log On
   Search for a Licensee
   Apply for a License
   View Application Status
   Find Exam Information
   File a Complaint
   AB&T Delinquent
    Invoice & Activity
    List Search
Clear Dot Image
  5:29:15 PM 4/17/2014
Clear Dot Image

Apply for a New Transient Apartment License

Florida law requires owners of new public lodging establishments and new owners of existing establishments to obtain a license from the division before operating. The application process described below is for NEW TRANSIENT APARTMENT LICENSES ONLY.

Application Requirements:
 
  • ELIGIBILITY: If your operation does not meet the following definition, please return to the previous page to select the correct one.

    Transient Apartments are any apartment buildings or complexes of buildings in which more than 25 percent of the units are advertised or held out to the public as available for transient occupancy. [Section 509.242, Florida Statutes (FS)] "Transient occupancy" means occupancy when it is the intention of the parties that the occupancy will be temporary. There is a rebuttable presumption that, when the dwelling unit occupied is not the sole residence of the guest, the occupancy is transient.

    [s. 509.013, FS]

  • APPLICATION: Obtain and complete the Public Lodging License Application Packet in Microsoft Word or Fill-in PDF (also referenced at the bottom of this page). The application packet includes instructions for making application and the following forms:

    • DBPR HR-7027 Application for Public Lodging Establishment License - Word / Fill-in PDF
    • DBPR HR-7020 Certificate of Balcony Inspection - Word / Fill-in PDF


  • HUD APARTMENT EXCLUSION: Effective October 1, 2012, the division no longer inspects apartment buildings that are currently inspected by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and are designated primarily as housing for persons at least 62 years old (elderly housing). This exclusion only applies to individual apartment buildings, not entire apartment complexes. The division still licenses and inspects any apartment building that is not inspected by HUD and designated as elderly housing.

    To apply for this exclusion, complete the attestation form below and return to the address on the form. If you are applying for a new apartment license, please attach this form with your license application. If all of the buildings in the complex meet the above criteria, you may choose "Full Exclusion" and the division will not license or inspect your complex. If you do not have an existing license with the division, you do not need to complete the License Number information on the form.

    • DBPR HR-7032 Attestation for Exclusion from Public Lodging Establishment License - Word / Fill-in PDF

  • LICENSE FEES: Annual license fees are listed on our lodging fee website and are based in part on the county your establishment is located and when you wish to open. The division divides the state into 7 licensing districts according to county. Licenses expire each year at the following times:

    • District 1 - October 1
    • District 2 - December 1
    • District 3 - February 1
    • District 4 - April 1
    • District 5 - June 1
    • District 6 - June 1
    • District 7 - December 1

  • If you wish to begin operation within six months or less of your expiration date, you are required to pay only a half-year fee.

    The division mails renewal reminder notices about 60 days prior to expiration. Therefore, if you are applying within this period, we allow you to purchase a license that will authorize you to operate for up to 14 months for 1.5 times the license fee. (Unfortunately, this option is NOT currently available for online applications). If you apply online within 60 days, or do not opt for the 14-month license, you need to be mindful when your license expires so you can renew before expiration, since the division may not send a reminder.

    If you are applying more than six months prior to the expiration date, the full-year fee must be paid.

    All new and change of ownership applications must include a $50 application fee. This fee is in addition to the annual license fee.


  • To assist you in determining the correct fee, the division has provided a license fee calculator. This calculator requires Microsoft Excel®. To download software to use the calculator, please go to Excel Viewer.

    The appropriate license fee must be paid to the division before a license will be issued. Please make checks payable to the Division of Hotels and Restaurants. For assistance in determining the correct license fee, please contact the department at 850.487.1395.

  • OPENING INSPECTION: All new licensees are required to pass a sanitation and safety inspection prior to opening. After submitting your license application and fees, contact the department at 850.487.1395 to schedule an opening inspection.

  • MORE INFO: For additional information about our licensing process and other government requirements, please review our website. Use the Back button or arrow to return to this screen.

If you have questions or need assistance in completing this application, please call the Customer Contact Center at 850-487-1395.


Apply Using Online Services


Apply Using a Printable Application
1940 North Monroe Street, Tallahassee FL 32399 :: Email: Customer Contact Center :: Customer Contact Center: 850.487.1395