Click here to access the department's home page
     Log On
   Search for a Licensee
   Apply for a License
   View Application Status
   Find Exam Information
   File a Complaint
   AB&T Delinquent
    Invoice & Activity
    List Search
Clear Dot Image
  7:59:21 AM 4/23/2014
Clear Dot Image

Apply for a New Theme Park Food Cart License and Plan Review at the Same Time

Florida law requires owners of new public food service and new owners of existing establishments to obtain a license from the division before operating. The application process described below is for a NEW THEME PARK FOOD CART LICENSE WITH PLAN REVIEW.

Application Requirements:
 
  • ELIGIBILITY: If your operation does not meet the following definition, please return to the previous page to select the correct one.

    Theme Park Food Carts are mobile or stationary units that operate within the confines of a theme park or entertainment complex as an extension of or in association with a fixed public food service establishment. Such carts are licensed collectively by the entity that maintains and operates them. The operator is required to notify the division immediately of any changes in the number of carts. [Rule 61C-1.002(5)(a)6., Florida Administrative Code]


    "Theme park or entertainment complex"
    means a complex comprised of at least 25 contiguous acres owned and controlled by the same business entity and which contains permanent exhibitions and a variety of recreational activities and has a minimum of 1 million visitors annually. [Section 509.013 (9), Florida Statutes]

  • APPLICATION: Obtain and complete the Application Packet for Mobile Food Dispensing Vehicle License with Plan Review in Microsoft Word or Fill-in PDF (also referenced at the bottom of this page). The application packet includes instructions for making application and the following forms:
    • DBPR HR-7031 Application for Mobile Food Dispensing Vehicle License with Plan Review - Word / Fill-in PDF
    • DBPR HR-7022 Commissary Notification - Word / Fill-in PDF
      A commissary is a commercial establishment which provides required services to the mobile food dispensing vehicle. All mobile food dispensing vehicles must use a commissary. At a minimum, the commissary provides for acquisition of potable water and the disposal of wastewater. The division is unable to approve your plans without this form.
    • Onsite Sewage (Septic) and Water Supply Evaluation -Word / Fill-in PDF

  • LICENSE FEES: Annual license fees are listed on our food service fee website and are based in part on the county your establishment is located and when you wish to open. The division divides the state into 7 licensing districts according to county. Licenses expire each year at the following times:

    • District 1 - October 1
    • District 2 - December 1
    • District 3 - February 1
    • District 4 - April 1
    • District 5 - June 1
    • District 6 - June 1
    • District 7 - December 1

  • If you wish to begin operation within six months or less of your expiration date, you are required to pay only a half-year fee.

    The division mails renewal reminder notices about 60 days prior to expiration. Therefore, if you are applying within this period, we allow you to purchase a license that will authorize you to operate for up to 14 months for 1.5 times the license fee. (Unfortunately, this option is NOT currently available for online applications). If you apply online within 60 days, or do not opt for the 14-month license, you need to be mindful when your license expires so you can renew before expiration, since the division may not send a reminder.

    If you are applying more than six months prior to the expiration date, the full-year fee must be paid.

    All new and change of ownership applications must include a $50 application fee. This fee is in addition to the annual license fee.

    There is an additional $150 plan review fee to complete this transaction.


  • To assist you in determining the correct fee, the division has provided a license fee calculator. This calculator requires Microsoft Excel®. To download software to use the calculator, please go to Excel Viewer. Make sure to add the $150 plan review fee to the calculated license fee by checking question 4 on the calculator.


    The appropriate license fee must be paid to the division before a license will be issued. If plan review is required, the plan review fee must also be paid and the plan approved before a license will be issued. Please make checks payable to the Division of Hotels and Restaurants. For assistance in determining the correct license fee, please contact the department at 850.487.1395.

  • SCALED DRAWINGS: At least two (2) scaled drawings. A side view of the vehicle is also required. The division will keep one set of plans and return any additional sets to the applicant. You may also submit additional sets required by local authorities. Click here for additional information.

  • OPENING INSPECTION: All new licensees are required to pass a sanitation and safety inspection prior to opening. After submitting your application, fees and supporting documents, and meeting all requirements of the plan review, contact the department at 850.487.1395 to schedule an opening inspection.

  • MORE INFO: For more information about our licensing process and other government requirements, please see our website. Use the Back button or arrow to return to this screen.

  • IMPORTANT: To avoid unnecessary delays, we strongly suggest you contact us at dhr.planreview@dbpr.state.fl.us before filing this application.


If you have questions or need assistance in completing this application, please call the Customer Contact Center at 850-487-1395.


Apply Using Online Services


Apply Using a Printable Application
1940 North Monroe Street, Tallahassee FL 32399 :: Email: Customer Contact Center :: Customer Contact Center: 850.487.1395