Apply for a New MFDV License and Plan Review at the Same Time
Florida law requires owners of new public food service and new owners of existing establishments to obtain a license from the division before operating. In addition, plan review is required when the establishment is: 1) newly built, 2) converted from another use, 3) extensively remodeled or 4) re-opened after being closed at least 1 year. Usually, we recommend you apply for plan review prior to building or remodeling your establishment, and then apply for license at least 30 days before you begin operations. If you want to apply for your plan review and food service license separately, please return to the previous screen and choose the appropriate plan review or license application. The application process described below is for a NEW MOBILE FOOD DISPENSING VEHICLE LICENSE WITH PLAN REVIEW.
before filing this application.
ELIGIBILITY: If your operation does not meet the following definition, please return to the previous page to select the correct one.
Mobile food dispensing vehicles are vehicle-mounted public food service establishments. Some MFDVs are self-propelled and built to travel on public streets. Other MFDVs are not self-propelled but can be moved from place to place. MFDVs may even be watercraft. Vehicles that are required to have vehicle identification numbers (VINs) must submit this number to the division on the application for license. [Rule 61C-1.002(5)(a)2., Florida Administrative Code (FAC)]
Hot Dog Carts are mobile food dispensing vehicles that limit the preparation of food to frankfurters. [Rule 61C-4.0161(3), FAC]
Self-sufficient vehicles are identified as those units that contain, as part of the vehicle, a three-compartment sink for washing, rinsing, and sanitizing equipment and utensils; a separate handwash sink; adequate refrigeration and storage capacity; full provision of power utilities including electrical, LP gas, or a portable power generation unit; a potable water holding tank; and a liquid waste disposal system in accordance with Subparts 5-3 and 5-4 of the Food Code. Self-Sufficient vehicles must have a location where water can be safely procured and where wastewater can be legally disposed of. This location cannot be a private residence. Mobile food dispensing vehicles are not allowed to obtain water from or dispose of wastewater at a private residence, or prepare food; store food products, equipment or utensils; or conduct warewashing or any other activities related to the public food service in a private residence.
- APPLICATION: Obtain and complete the Application Packet for Mobile Food Dispensing Vehicle License with Plan Review in Microsoft Word or Fill-in PDF (also referenced at the bottom of this page). The application packet includes instructions for making application and the following forms:
- DBPR HR-7031 Application for Mobile Food Dispensing Vehicle License with Plan Review - Word / Fill-in PDF
COMMISSARY NOTIFICATION: A commissary is a commercial establishment which provides required services to the mobile food dispensing vehicle. All vehicles that are not self-sufficient must use a commissary. At a minimum, the commissary provides for acquisition of potable water and the disposal of wastewater. Unless your vehicle is self-sufficient, the division is unable to approve your plans without this form.
WATER & WASTEWATER INFORMATION: If your vehicle is not self-sufficient, you must provide water and wastewater information and approval for the commissary where you will get potable water, dump wastewater or prepare food. If the vehicle is self-sufficient, you must provide proof of approved water and sewer service at the location where the unit will use these services. You may submit a copy of your water and/or sewer bill as proof of approval. If your commissary is on a well or septic tank, use the Evaluation of Onsite Sewage (Septic) and Water Supply Capacity form. You may also use this form if you do not have a copy of the water or sewer bill. The local authority must sign this form. The local Department of Health and Department of Environmental Protection handle well and septic tank approvals.
LICENSE FEES: Annual license fees are listed on our food service fee webpage and are based in part on the county your establishment is located and when you wish to open. The division divides the state into 7 licensing districts according to county. Licenses expire each year at the following times:
If you wish to begin operation within six months or less of your expiration date, you are required to pay only a half-year fee.
The division mails renewal reminder notices about 60 days prior to expiration. Therefore, if you are applying within this period, we allow you to purchase a license that will authorize you to operate for up to 14 months for 1.5 times the license fee. (Unfortunately, this option is NOT currently available for online applications). If you apply online within 60 days, or do not opt for the 14-month license, you need to be mindful when your license expires so you can renew before expiration, since the division may not send a reminder.
If you are applying more than six months prior to the expiration date, the full-year fee must be paid.
All new and change of ownership applications must include a $50 application fee. This fee is in addition to the annual license fee.
To assist you in determining the correct fee, the division has provided a license fee calculator.
appropriate license fee must be paid to the division before a license will be
issued. If plan review is required, the plan must be approved before a license
will be issued. Please make checks payable to the Division of Hotels and
Restaurants. For assistance in determining the correct license fee,
please contact the department at 850.487.1395.
- SCALED DRAWINGS: At least two (2) scaled drawings. The division will not accept cell phone photos of drawings. A side view of the vehicle is also required. The division will keep one set and return any additional sets to the applicant. You may submit additional sets required by local authorities. Click here for additional information.
- OPENING INSPECTION: All new licensees are required to pass a sanitation and safety inspection prior to opening. After submitting your application, fees and supporting documents, and meeting all requirements of the plan review, contact the department at 850.487.1395 to schedule an opening inspection.
MORE INFO: For more information about our licensing process and other government requirements, please see our website. Use the Back button or arrow to return to this screen.
- IMPORTANT: To avoid unnecessary delays, we strongly suggest you contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org
|If you have questions or need assistance in completing this application, please call the Customer Contact Center at 850-487-1395.