CILB 6-AD - Certified Building Demolition Specialty Contractor Qualifying Business
After passing a state certification examination, individuals seeking licensure as a CERTIFIED contractor must complete an initial licensure application form. Before submitting this application, make sure that you have passed the state certification examination. Board rules provide that you must obtain your license within 4 years of receiving your exam score. To apply for the state certification examination, refer to the application for Initial and Retake Examination.
AGE: An individual applying for certification must be at least 18 years of age.
EXAMINATION: Individuals seeking licensure as a CERTIFIED contractor, except for Swimming Pool Specialty contractors, must first take and pass a state certification examination.
EXPERIENCE/EDUCATION: Applicants are required to have four years of experience or a combination of college and experience. This is not a complete listing of all experience/education requirements; please see the application's instruction page for complete information.
FINGERPRINTS:An applicant must have a background check as part of the licensing process.To learn more about fingerprinting, please visit our fingerprint FAQs.
INSURANCE: Applicants are required to attest that they have obtained public liability and property damage insurance in the amounts determined by Board rule. Applicants are also required to obtain workers compensation insurance or obtain an exemption from workers compensation insurance within 30 days of issuance of their license.
FINANCIAL/CREDIT: Applicants will need to provide proof of financial stability and responsibility by submitting credit reports for themselves and the business entities they wish to qualify. Credit reports must include a FICO derived credit score and indicate that local, state and federal records have been searched. You may find additional information regarding the Board's financial requirements by visiting the Department'sFinancial Responsibility and Stability website.
FEE: Pay the required fee as provided in the application. Make check payable to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation.
APPLICATION: Complete the application by clicking on the "Printable Application" link at the bottom of the page.
MORE INFORMATION:Learn more about this profession's application requirements (use the back button or arrow to return to this page).
If you have questions or need assistance in completing this application, please call the Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395 or use our convenient contact form.
Application Currently Unavailable Using Online Services
Under Florida law, email addresses are public records. If you do not want your email address released in response to a public-records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact the office by phone or by traditional mail.
If you have any questions, please contact 850.487.1395. *Pursuant to Section 455.275(1), Florida Statutes, effective October 1, 2012, licensees licensed under Chapter 455, F.S. must provide the Department with an email address if they have one.
The emails provided may be used for official communication with the licensee. However email addresses are public record. If you do not wish to supply a personal address, please provide the Department with an email address which can be made available to the public.
Please see our Chapter 455 page to determine if you are affected by this change.